Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Folkwear: 102 (French Cheesemaker's Smock) - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 1876 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Tina Rathbone
photo
Friend of PR
About Tina Rathbonestar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/02
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/02 2:12 AM
Last Updated:9/21/02 8:23 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
pretty cool Tina! I like this pattern.
9/21/02 3:10 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This is an interesting pattern to make. I made it a couple of times for my son when he was in college.
9/21/02 4:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'll post a picture tomorrow when the 'model' is ready. :) It's amazing how well the heavy twill adapted to a shirting-weight pattern.
9/21/02 4:13 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That twill really did work well. I like it unironed too. I think it looks better than the picture they have on the pattern site!
9/21/02 8:40 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Tina, the shirt looks REALLY GOOD!
9/21/02 10:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Tina, Not only does the garment itself look great, it is a totally becoming style on the gentleman in the pix. And my DH is slim... wonder if I can persuade him (midwestern conservative) to wear such? REALLY LOOKS GREAT!
9/22/02 2:37 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great looking shirt, on a great-looking guy! Nice work on both, Tina.
9/22/02 2:40 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That looks wonderful. I have made a similar Folkwear style, the Missouri Boatman's Shirt. The underarm gusset makes it super comfortable. Men look so good in this old fashioned type of shirt-I wonder why it ever went out of style?
9/22/02 11:46 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Tina - great job! I can tell from your husband's smile that he loves his shirt. I agree with Mini's comments - this style looks totally modern again.
9/22/02 1:08 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a beautifully made shirt and what a handsome model. (from his mother)
9/22/02 2:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Tina, well done!! That came out beautifully. I have made lots of Folkwear patterns, and my husband loves band-collar shirts. Time to get this one. He's not quite as ideally shaped as your husband, but I suppose will still look good... :-)
9/22/02 7:09 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
good photos showing details and good review-glad you deservidly feel good about project
9/22/02 7:53 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Just goes to show that this pattern works for a variety of sizes and body types. Made two for my sons' performance of Fiddler on the Roof 3 years ago. I also used a heavier fabric and it worked well - a bit tricky on the narrow binding, but not impossible. For men with any sort of a paunch, or for women with medium to large bust measurement, be sure to allow extra length for evening up the hem in front - "it rides up with wear".
9/22/02 11:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for all the great comments, everyone. The next version may be a silk tweed or ?? :)
9/23/02 3:55 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Just beautiful! BTW, how about a sewing retreat at your house? :-)
9/23/02 7:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
now where do we get a pattern for the husband inside the shirt?...what a hunk!!
9/26/02 1:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The picture of her husband makes the shirt look nicer than the folkwear web site.
9/30/02 1:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Folkwear ought to pay you for this photo for advertising - would sell the pattern to me (if I didn't already own it!) Everything topnotch. Incidentally, I made this shirt (in the early 1980s) for a friend who wanted it to look "Russian" - so I put some "Russian" looking braid on the neckband and the opening placket. The braid was a bit narrow - so I sewed 2 strips side by side for the placket, single width for the neckband - it gave the shirt a very ethnic look - my friend wore it in a Bartok recital (he was choir master) and it looked great. Just an idea = Fokwear can be very versatile with simple additions or subtractions
10/28/02 4:45 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, Terry, what a great idea. I have lots of French ribbon: it look's like I'll have to make one for me! Oooh, silk charmuese is calling to me! :)
10/28/02 4:58 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
kathi s said...
Absolutely love that shirt! I might be able to get my DH into it after a good dinner, a lot of wine and a backrub~ hmmm.
3/13/04 10:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8380 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by DeniseAnge... on 9/28/12
Read Review

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2805
photo
Review by Mahler on 5/17/09
Read Review

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6879 Pattern
New Look 6879 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3889 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3889 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us