SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3900 (18" Doll Clothes)

3 more reviews
Viewed 756 times 
Reviewed by:joyoussprite
photo

 
 
About joyousspritestar
WA USA
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/06 3:43 PM
Last Updated:1/7/06 3:43 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $14.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingSkater said...
These are cute! How cool to have matching doll pants!
1/7/06 3:46 PM
Peggy L said...
Those are really cute - as is your DD. You are not insane, just a good mom. I used to do this for my DDs. Doll clothes also make good birthday gifts for girls at this age. We made a doll "closet" with a small diameter tension rod and put it in a cabinet - also would work in a book case. Have fun with this!
1/7/06 3:58 PM
joyoussprite said...
That's a great idea! Thanks Peggy.
1/7/06 4:16 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a lucky girl to have a Mom like you.
1/7/06 4:50 PM
Georgene said...
Great idea. Good intro to teaching her how to design and sew for her dolls herself. That's where it all began for me, once I knew how fun and fast it was to sew for dolls.
1/7/06 7:01 PM
joyoussprite said...
Funny you mention that Georgene - she spent most of today hand sewing dresses for her Groovy Girl dolls :)
1/7/06 8:12 PM
Penny Carlson said...
Don't complain - I learned to sew making clothes for my Barbie! And that was in the early sixties, when pants and skirts always had waistbands and there was no Velcro! Seriously, thought, I made tons of clothes for my daughters' American Girl dolls and am now making them for my neice's. I find it to be a ton of fun.
1/7/06 11:13 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Sweet! I would have been such a happy kid to have matching doll clothes!
1/8/06 2:43 PM
Elphaba said...
What a lucky, lovely girl ! Fantastic job, you're making me want an AG doll to sew for now, you naughty mommy ! And I agree with the 'not insane' verdict - altho the girls at Hancock's call me 'our favorite masochist' from all my doll sewing tales !
3/1/06 5:32 PM
Stargirl7 said...
Here's a hint: Use your dd's outgrown clothes to make new outfits for the doll. When cutting, place pants hemline on the hem of the existing garment. That will elinimate the need to sew the hem on the doll outfit. One less step! Also, make a note of things like how much elastic you used - this comes in handy next time!
7/18/06 4:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now