SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6149 (raglan-sleeve V-neck top)

20 more reviews
Viewed 1473 times 
Reviewed by:Julia Graham
photo

 
 
About Julia Grahamstar
CO
Member since: 4/12/02
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/02 12:45 PM
Last Updated:9/21/02 12:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kathi s said...
Great review- there will be no surprizes for anyone who uses this pattern. Thank you!
3/13/04 10:02 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Thanks for the review! I am planning to sew the top. Was worried about the decollete dip too--phew! You could try hemming with narrow clear elastic fed through your serger, using a taping foot or regular one and watching it doesn't move over to the knives. They'll just nick it but won't damage it, worst case. I've used narrow clear elastic (Nancy's Notions sells 1/4") for stabilizing stretchy seams.
9/3/03 5:02 PM
candyo said...
I also made -and like- this pattern. I used foldover elastic on the neckline, which I stretched while applying to prevent a wavy, stretched out neckline. For the hems, I just used a knit stitch and avoided stretching the fabric. That always works for me. Also, I never use rolled hems on knits anymore, because they are too bulky and flip up when you wash the garment.
3/6/03 11:56 PM
said...
Thanks, Julia. I picked this pattern up a month or two ago in anticipation of winter sewing. Thanks for the great review. I like the look of the shirt!
9/22/02 11:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Julia, I love your top and I appreciate your detailed explanation on how to get the v-neckline bound. That looks great!
9/22/02 7:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great top Julia! I just made this one with the round neck and liked it a lot.
9/21/02 4:36 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Obviously, you give great directions. I just have beginneritis.
9/21/02 4:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Love your neck treatment!! I am a beginner and don't really under- stand each step, though. This is the most attractive and professional neck treatment that I have seen. Good Job.
9/21/02 4:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the clear explanation. I love your neckline treatment!
9/21/02 4:09 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
(although I wish I knew what to do about that problem -- how does one stabilize a knit hem in an area that needs to retain full stretch??). Julia, Ann Person's Stretch and Sew Guide to Sewing Knits suggest using a tear-away or dissolvable stabilizer while sewing the hem. When the hem is completed, the stabilizer is removed, and the fabric retains its original stretch. Of course, it is advisable to test this first on a scrap of your fashion fabric.
9/21/02 1:53 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Awesome review! Thank you, it is very helpful. Your shirt turned out great. :)
9/21/02 1:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Butterick 5890

photo
by: Seamstars

Review
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now