Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6149 (raglan-sleeve V-neck top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1472 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Julia Graham
photo
About Julia Grahamstar
CO
Member since: 4/12/02
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/02 12:45 PM
Last Updated:9/21/02 12:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Awesome review! Thank you, it is very helpful. Your shirt turned out great. :)
9/21/02 1:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
(although I wish I knew what to do about that problem -- how does one stabilize a knit hem in an area that needs to retain full stretch??). Julia, Ann Person's Stretch and Sew Guide to Sewing Knits suggest using a tear-away or dissolvable stabilizer while sewing the hem. When the hem is completed, the stabilizer is removed, and the fabric retains its original stretch. Of course, it is advisable to test this first on a scrap of your fashion fabric.
9/21/02 1:53 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the clear explanation. I love your neckline treatment!
9/21/02 4:09 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Love your neck treatment!! I am a beginner and don't really under- stand each step, though. This is the most attractive and professional neck treatment that I have seen. Good Job.
9/21/02 4:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Obviously, you give great directions. I just have beginneritis.
9/21/02 4:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great top Julia! I just made this one with the round neck and liked it a lot.
9/21/02 4:36 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Julia, I love your top and I appreciate your detailed explanation on how to get the v-neckline bound. That looks great!
9/22/02 7:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, Julia. I picked this pattern up a month or two ago in anticipation of winter sewing. Thanks for the great review. I like the look of the shirt!
9/22/02 11:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
candyo said...
I also made -and like- this pattern. I used foldover elastic on the neckline, which I stretched while applying to prevent a wavy, stretched out neckline. For the hems, I just used a knit stitch and avoided stretching the fabric. That always works for me. Also, I never use rolled hems on knits anymore, because they are too bulky and flip up when you wash the garment.
3/6/03 11:56 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Thanks for the review! I am planning to sew the top. Was worried about the decollete dip too--phew! You could try hemming with narrow clear elastic fed through your serger, using a taping foot or regular one and watching it doesn't move over to the knives. They'll just nick it but won't damage it, worst case. I've used narrow clear elastic (Nancy's Notions sells 1/4") for stabilizing stretchy seams.
9/3/03 5:02 PM
kathi s said...
Great review- there will be no surprizes for anyone who uses this pattern. Thank you!
3/13/04 10:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-123 Parka
photo
Review by jkaori on 12/18/09
Read Review

Butterick 6030 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 6030 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7115 Pattern
Burda 7115 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2886
photo
Review by oohisay on 5/19/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us