Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Decades of Style: 1933 Evening Gown - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1817 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/06 12:41 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
I'd love to see it on you, nevertheless. Even so I'm intrigued by the lace jabot in the background of your pic. Is it vintage? Was it for the dress?
1/9/06 1:02 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Ann, thanks so much for sharing your experience. Being the persistent type, I know very well what it's like to get on a path and follow it doggedly. I thank you for the reminder that that sometimes is not the best choice (I'm referring to your seam matching goal after moving the front bust seam). I like your 'back strap' idea. Too bad it didn't work in this case. The fabric you used looks lovely...too bad it didn't work out in this case. But it was a learning experience -for you, and thanks to your posting on PR, for me! Thanks.
1/9/06 1:14 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Sorry the pattern didn't work for you - but really apprecitate the review!
1/9/06 1:50 PM
redhead said...
So sorry it didn't work out. What did you end up wearing that night?
1/9/06 2:18 PM
Ann Smith said...
Babepaley, the lace jabot is vintage and on display as part of my sewing room decor. However that gives me an idea.... maybe I could drape a dramatic collar over the front of this dress. Hmmm. Redhead, I wore a black silk chiffon dress with handkerchief hem. New but appropriate. I also wore a vintage fur jacket I have had for years that has feet and tails hanging down and a tiara. It was fun.
1/9/06 2:34 PM
Agnes said...
Thanks for your review. I love this pattern it's on my wishlist, but may have to rethink that now....I'm sorry it didn't work for you, I can imagine the expectations when you start a dress like this and then the disappointment when it doesn't work out.
1/9/06 2:45 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the review, Ann. It sounds like it might work on my figure, which is promising for me - I'm sorry it's not so good for you.
1/9/06 5:39 PM
MaryBeth said...
Uh-oh, I clicked on the photo first to see if I wanted to read this review and saw that Ann wasn't modeling it...a sure sign of trouble. I'm so sorry this didn't work for you, Ann!! But thanks for the saliant point of matching body to style. Somehow I think you'll go back to this one some day with great results.
1/9/06 6:00 PM
minieme said...
Oh I fell in love with this pattern when I opened the link up. Too bad it's difficult on a full figure, as small busted I am not. :( Thanks for your reivew.
1/9/06 7:29 PM
drsue said...
Thank you for reviewing this even though it didn't work well for you. I have a small chest and a straight back I think the top would work for me. Do you see any problems with the skirt for someone with hips?
1/9/06 7:52 PM
Ann Smith said...
Drsue, I think this dress would work well for a person with hips. The side panels are bias and the skirt has a little more fullness to it than the drawing indicates. I think if you keep the waist line on the high side so that the fabric drops freely it will work quite well.
1/10/06 1:31 AM
Mel.J said...
Thanks for the review, sorry this wasn't a winner for you. It's such a pretty design. Is it possible to turn it into a skirt instead?
1/10/06 3:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Good review of your trials and tribulations. Sorry that it did not work out for you. Hopefully you can salvage the fabric for something workable.
1/10/06 4:28 AM
AnneM said...
I have to agree, from the line drawing, that it is a style more designed for "whispy" figures, or at least small-topped figures. Great review anyway, and it does sound like it would work for me! Now I just need a reason to make such a dramatic gown.
1/10/06 4:41 AM
Stitchology said...
It's a beautiful style and a shame it didn't work out. Those old patterns were cut for a different body type. Can you use this as a muslin and replace the parts that don't fit with other fabric to revise the fit?
1/10/06 10:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Burda 7798
photo
Review by Graca on 4/19/12
Read Review

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5794
photo
Review by Sandi S on 10/15/11
Read Review

Burda 7972 Pattern
Burda 7972 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8321 Pattern
Burda 8321 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us