SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> DD Wrapture Jacket (Wrapture Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2032 times 
Reviewed by:Stacy Sews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Stacy Sewsstarstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/06 11:19 PM
Last Updated:1/11/06 11:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 36 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewlily said...
The work you put into this jacket is marvelous.
1/11/06 11:25 PM
Georgene said...
I love your treatment of the lining, and your stand-alone photo! It does look great on you. I want to see the next version too, please post.
1/11/06 11:33 PM
touran said...
Great work and it's really lovely on you.
1/11/06 11:40 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
What a great looking jacket!
1/11/06 11:47 PM
Seaspur said...
Nice job. It looks wonderful on you.
1/12/06 0:09 AM
zeoplum said...
Stacy, that is gorgeous! The shine in your lining/bias binding actually looks shimmery on my screen. It adds SUCH a nice touch. Great job and terrific jacket!
1/12/06 0:12 AM
Ruth C said...
Beautiful jacket!
1/12/06 0:36 AM
Ann Smith said...
What a great jacket, even if it does stand alone.
1/12/06 1:30 AM
Mlle Laura said...
Lovely jacket! I love the collar.
1/12/06 2:51 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Absolutely gorgeous, Stacy! It looks lovely on you. All the work you put in, really shines through. You have inspired me to sew my jacket. Thanks for the great review. Belinda
1/12/06 2:56 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful, inside and out!
1/12/06 5:45 AM
MaryBeth said...
Yup, this jacket is outstanding in its field. Beautiful lining! And I fully agree (hrrrumph) about seemingly sweet denim that stretches....should be reserved for pillows or dog beds...(sorry, doggie, no disrespect intended) But your jacket turned out marvelously! :)
1/12/06 5:57 AM
Linda E. said...
WOW I love your Jacket the inside is beautiful the outside just is gorgeous. Thank You Thank You for being the guinea pig on this jacket. I have this pattern it will be sometime this spring before I get a chance to do it.
1/12/06 6:13 AM
Mary Gillette said...
Great job on the jacket, it looks fabulous on you!
1/12/06 6:15 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful jacket and great review, thanks! -Ann
1/12/06 6:20 AM
Ghillie said...
This is tremendously helpful to me as I am just about to start sewing my Wrapture after making a muslin - and sorting out those sleeves! Can you tell us how wide you cut your bias binding? It appears that you did not bind the front seam and hem edge. How did you get around that?
1/12/06 6:38 AM
Shellia said...
Beautiful and very flattering. Love your color combo.
1/12/06 6:52 AM
Linda F said...
What a beautiful jacket. You did a fantastic job and I loved your review. This is very helpful
1/12/06 6:53 AM
Nickle said...
Beautiful work of art and I enjoyed your review. Looks fabulous on you.
1/12/06 7:01 AM
Stacy Sews said...
I made the bias binding 1/2" wide (I went back and measured, I probably used about 2 1/2 yards to enclose the pockets, collar, and cuff edges). The way the instructions are written the jacket lining & facings are attached to the jacket so that all the raw edges are enclosed. It's not necessary to bind the front seam and edges - which is good in this case because I wouldn't have made enough bias bindings!
1/12/06 7:08 AM
Sew Little Thyme said...
Great jacket! I loved your review also, informative & entertaining! I am now thinking that I have yet another pattern to add to my Hot Patterns wish list.
1/12/06 7:16 AM
Peggy L said...
Stacy - this really looks wonderful! Thanks for a great review.
1/12/06 7:18 AM
beangirl said...
beautiful jacket and very good review. Can't wait to see the corduroy, since this one is already so stunning. Cute cute cute! (And love the photos, esp. Stand Alone).
1/12/06 7:41 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Very nice! I love that quilted lining!
1/12/06 7:54 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Fantastic! I love everything about your jacket. Very professional looking.
1/12/06 8:18 AM
priscilla said...
You did a great job on this jacket!
1/12/06 8:20 AM
Lynngray said...
Great jacket. and wonderful workmanship.
1/12/06 8:31 AM
Cambric Tea said...
This review is very helpful, and your jacket is impressive! Thank you. (:
1/12/06 8:32 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Outstanding!
1/12/06 8:45 AM
jemgirlca said...
Thanks for being our "guinea pig"... lol It looks great!! Nice job on the lining, too.
1/12/06 8:53 AM
PegL said...
Very pretty jacket and great review!
1/12/06 9:06 AM
Kathy_AZ said...
What a fabulous jacket! I wish I was skilled enough to try it.
1/12/06 9:17 AM
PhyllisC said...
The lining awesome - just perfect.
1/12/06 9:23 AM
fiberfanatic said...
Great jacket! I loved this pattern, but have been unsure of the shoulder. It looks great though, so I'll have to try it. Thanks for the informative review.
1/12/06 9:27 AM
drsue said...
You jacket came out great and I really love this review. Very helpful.
1/12/06 9:39 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great jacket, very nice quilted lining. And cool binding trim. Love your stand alone shot...its saying "G'day! Come on and take me out!" Thank God for FM bundles , you can make so many different jackets with this fabulous versitile pattern.
1/12/06 10:04 AM
SewTabby said...
Wowza! Fantastic jacket, and I love the "stand alone" picture--too cute. Looks great; nice job on the sewing and the review!
1/12/06 11:17 AM
Leora said...
Great fit on you and nicely finished. Love your new jacket.
1/12/06 11:25 AM
Lori V said...
Very beautiful, inside and out. Thanks for the informative and thorough review.
1/12/06 12:42 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Just when I htough I did not need another jacket pattern ... dare I say it? This is an outstanding job ... LOL!
1/12/06 12:46 PM
julieb said...
Fabulous jacket Stacy. Nice review, too. Julie B
1/12/06 12:47 PM
MsConnie said...
Beautiful jacket and I love your trim & lining! I'm starting my muslin this weekend, will be using your review for reference. Thanks for all the details!
1/12/06 4:37 PM
Nata said...
Nice jacket and fit you well! You should definitely wear it open, it does not make you look boxy, and lining adds nice touch.
1/12/06 8:22 PM
mudcat said...
Wow, this is lovely on you. It's not even one I considered buying but it's definitely better in person.
1/12/06 9:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great jacket. Really nice job.
1/13/06 4:21 AM
AnneM said...
That looks great! Nice fabric, nice trim, nice fit, nice style. I'd say it's nice. Even though the fabric is stiff, it certainly looks find in the picture on you.
1/13/06 8:22 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Very nice. I love that fabric and just bought 3 yards. Thanks for the warning about the stretch. I did notice that it stretched the length instead of crosswise.
1/13/06 10:31 AM
ktsews2 said...
This is really a knockout! Great job!
1/13/06 11:22 AM
Julia Graham said...
Oh, huzzah! Now both the HotPatterns I own have been reviewed and get high marks! Your jacket really is lovely, I'm so glad to see it. Your _finished_ binding is 1/2" wide, right? How wide did you cut it to start with? Thanks!
1/13/06 11:42 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Julia - I cut each strip 2" wide on the bias (thank goodness for cutting mats and rotary cutters!). I made the bias tape the hard way too (I didn't have a tape maker in the size), so I sewed the strips together, then folded raw edges together to make a crease then folded the raw edges toward the crease and pressed again. It took awhile to do it like this, but definatley worth it so I didn't have to make a trip to the store!
1/13/06 3:37 PM
diane s said...
Your jacket is great, I bet you are thrilled. I have some of the same denim and it's the first time I had a stretch woven that stretched lengthwise instead of crosswise. I had to turn my pieces in the opposite direction!
1/13/06 9:05 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wow! Love your version of this jacket: the colors, workmanship, the quilting of lining, the binding: all perfect!!
1/15/06 10:33 AM
Melody said...
When I saw this pattern on the HP website, I didn't think I liked it but your version is just beautiful and I'm even tempted to get some of that denim from JoAnn's despite your warning. Thanks for the great review.
1/15/06 4:42 PM
J.Moules said...
Your colours and textures in this jacket are beautiful. Worthy of FTV! You look so pretty!
1/29/06 7:11 AM
J.Moules said...
The colours and textures in your jacket are beautiful. Worthy of FTV! You look so pretty! Being so slender you can carry off the extra padding of a quilted lining and the shine of the jacquard.
1/29/06 7:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 125587-1008

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now