SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> DD Wrapture Jacket (Wrapture Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2032 times 
Reviewed by:Stacy Sews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Stacy Sewsstarstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/06 11:19 PM
Last Updated:1/11/06 11:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 36 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
J.Moules said...
The colours and textures in your jacket are beautiful. Worthy of FTV! You look so pretty! Being so slender you can carry off the extra padding of a quilted lining and the shine of the jacquard.
1/29/06 7:18 AM
J.Moules said...
Your colours and textures in this jacket are beautiful. Worthy of FTV! You look so pretty!
1/29/06 7:11 AM
Melody said...
When I saw this pattern on the HP website, I didn't think I liked it but your version is just beautiful and I'm even tempted to get some of that denim from JoAnn's despite your warning. Thanks for the great review.
1/15/06 4:42 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wow! Love your version of this jacket: the colors, workmanship, the quilting of lining, the binding: all perfect!!
1/15/06 10:33 AM
diane s said...
Your jacket is great, I bet you are thrilled. I have some of the same denim and it's the first time I had a stretch woven that stretched lengthwise instead of crosswise. I had to turn my pieces in the opposite direction!
1/13/06 9:05 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Julia - I cut each strip 2" wide on the bias (thank goodness for cutting mats and rotary cutters!). I made the bias tape the hard way too (I didn't have a tape maker in the size), so I sewed the strips together, then folded raw edges together to make a crease then folded the raw edges toward the crease and pressed again. It took awhile to do it like this, but definatley worth it so I didn't have to make a trip to the store!
1/13/06 3:37 PM
Julia Graham said...
Oh, huzzah! Now both the HotPatterns I own have been reviewed and get high marks! Your jacket really is lovely, I'm so glad to see it. Your _finished_ binding is 1/2" wide, right? How wide did you cut it to start with? Thanks!
1/13/06 11:42 AM
ktsews2 said...
This is really a knockout! Great job!
1/13/06 11:22 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Very nice. I love that fabric and just bought 3 yards. Thanks for the warning about the stretch. I did notice that it stretched the length instead of crosswise.
1/13/06 10:31 AM
AnneM said...
That looks great! Nice fabric, nice trim, nice fit, nice style. I'd say it's nice. Even though the fabric is stiff, it certainly looks find in the picture on you.
1/13/06 8:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great jacket. Really nice job.
1/13/06 4:21 AM
mudcat said...
Wow, this is lovely on you. It's not even one I considered buying but it's definitely better in person.
1/12/06 9:23 PM
Nata said...
Nice jacket and fit you well! You should definitely wear it open, it does not make you look boxy, and lining adds nice touch.
1/12/06 8:22 PM
MsConnie said...
Beautiful jacket and I love your trim & lining! I'm starting my muslin this weekend, will be using your review for reference. Thanks for all the details!
1/12/06 4:37 PM
julieb said...
Fabulous jacket Stacy. Nice review, too. Julie B
1/12/06 12:47 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Just when I htough I did not need another jacket pattern ... dare I say it? This is an outstanding job ... LOL!
1/12/06 12:46 PM
Lori V said...
Very beautiful, inside and out. Thanks for the informative and thorough review.
1/12/06 12:42 PM
Leora said...
Great fit on you and nicely finished. Love your new jacket.
1/12/06 11:25 AM
SewTabby said...
Wowza! Fantastic jacket, and I love the "stand alone" picture--too cute. Looks great; nice job on the sewing and the review!
1/12/06 11:17 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great jacket, very nice quilted lining. And cool binding trim. Love your stand alone shot...its saying "G'day! Come on and take me out!" Thank God for FM bundles , you can make so many different jackets with this fabulous versitile pattern.
1/12/06 10:04 AM
drsue said...
You jacket came out great and I really love this review. Very helpful.
1/12/06 9:39 AM
fiberfanatic said...
Great jacket! I loved this pattern, but have been unsure of the shoulder. It looks great though, so I'll have to try it. Thanks for the informative review.
1/12/06 9:27 AM
PhyllisC said...
The lining awesome - just perfect.
1/12/06 9:23 AM
Kathy_AZ said...
What a fabulous jacket! I wish I was skilled enough to try it.
1/12/06 9:17 AM
PegL said...
Very pretty jacket and great review!
1/12/06 9:06 AM
jemgirlca said...
Thanks for being our "guinea pig"... lol It looks great!! Nice job on the lining, too.
1/12/06 8:53 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Outstanding!
1/12/06 8:45 AM
Cambric Tea said...
This review is very helpful, and your jacket is impressive! Thank you. (:
1/12/06 8:32 AM
Lynngray said...
Great jacket. and wonderful workmanship.
1/12/06 8:31 AM
priscilla said...
You did a great job on this jacket!
1/12/06 8:20 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Fantastic! I love everything about your jacket. Very professional looking.
1/12/06 8:18 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Very nice! I love that quilted lining!
1/12/06 7:54 AM
beangirl said...
beautiful jacket and very good review. Can't wait to see the corduroy, since this one is already so stunning. Cute cute cute! (And love the photos, esp. Stand Alone).
1/12/06 7:41 AM
Peggy L said...
Stacy - this really looks wonderful! Thanks for a great review.
1/12/06 7:18 AM
Sew Little Thyme said...
Great jacket! I loved your review also, informative & entertaining! I am now thinking that I have yet another pattern to add to my Hot Patterns wish list.
1/12/06 7:16 AM
Stacy Sews said...
I made the bias binding 1/2" wide (I went back and measured, I probably used about 2 1/2 yards to enclose the pockets, collar, and cuff edges). The way the instructions are written the jacket lining & facings are attached to the jacket so that all the raw edges are enclosed. It's not necessary to bind the front seam and edges - which is good in this case because I wouldn't have made enough bias bindings!
1/12/06 7:08 AM
Nickle said...
Beautiful work of art and I enjoyed your review. Looks fabulous on you.
1/12/06 7:01 AM
Linda F said...
What a beautiful jacket. You did a fantastic job and I loved your review. This is very helpful
1/12/06 6:53 AM
Shellia said...
Beautiful and very flattering. Love your color combo.
1/12/06 6:52 AM
Ghillie said...
This is tremendously helpful to me as I am just about to start sewing my Wrapture after making a muslin - and sorting out those sleeves! Can you tell us how wide you cut your bias binding? It appears that you did not bind the front seam and hem edge. How did you get around that?
1/12/06 6:38 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful jacket and great review, thanks! -Ann
1/12/06 6:20 AM
Mary Gillette said...
Great job on the jacket, it looks fabulous on you!
1/12/06 6:15 AM
Linda E. said...
WOW I love your Jacket the inside is beautiful the outside just is gorgeous. Thank You Thank You for being the guinea pig on this jacket. I have this pattern it will be sometime this spring before I get a chance to do it.
1/12/06 6:13 AM
MaryBeth said...
Yup, this jacket is outstanding in its field. Beautiful lining! And I fully agree (hrrrumph) about seemingly sweet denim that stretches....should be reserved for pillows or dog beds...(sorry, doggie, no disrespect intended) But your jacket turned out marvelously! :)
1/12/06 5:57 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful, inside and out!
1/12/06 5:45 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Absolutely gorgeous, Stacy! It looks lovely on you. All the work you put in, really shines through. You have inspired me to sew my jacket. Thanks for the great review. Belinda
1/12/06 2:56 AM
Mlle Laura said...
Lovely jacket! I love the collar.
1/12/06 2:51 AM
Ann Smith said...
What a great jacket, even if it does stand alone.
1/12/06 1:30 AM
Ruth C said...
Beautiful jacket!
1/12/06 0:36 AM
zeoplum said...
Stacy, that is gorgeous! The shine in your lining/bias binding actually looks shimmery on my screen. It adds SUCH a nice touch. Great job and terrific jacket!
1/12/06 0:12 AM
Seaspur said...
Nice job. It looks wonderful on you.
1/12/06 0:09 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
What a great looking jacket!
1/11/06 11:47 PM
touran said...
Great work and it's really lovely on you.
1/11/06 11:40 PM
Georgene said...
I love your treatment of the lining, and your stand-alone photo! It does look great on you. I want to see the next version too, please post.
1/11/06 11:33 PM
sewlily said...
The work you put into this jacket is marvelous.
1/11/06 11:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

McCall's 6649

photo
by: feltont

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

More Info
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

More Info