Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: ps_cbp (P.S. Classic Bootcut Pant) - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 1610 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Tarawebster
photo
About Tarawebsterstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/31/03
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/06 1:30 AM
Last Updated:1/13/06 11:53 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fiberfanatic said...
Don't be a bit embarrassed to post this review...lots of us need to know what you've learned along the way. Thanks for taking the time to write the review. I look forward to seeing the finished product too.
1/13/06 4:26 AM
MaryBeth said...
I agree, this is a helpful review with the caveat that you update it as you come up with the wonderful final version we know you will execute. I am glad to hear you love the cut so far. They are very slim through the thighs and I'll be curious to see a side shot to see where the boot flare begins on the pant leg.
1/13/06 6:49 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I think it's great that you reviewed this, even if it's not your best work. Pants are THE hardest fitting challenge, bar none. Thanks for a very informative review! -Ann
1/13/06 7:00 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Don't be embarrassed - it was a great review! Glad to hear that it worked overall for you - I can't wait to see how your finished pants turn out!
1/13/06 7:31 AM
Sewliz said...
I think your muslin looks really good in this picture. Side seam pockets never work well in a form fitting pant IMHO especially when the wearer has real curves. A pocket stay helps, if there is not one now. The bottom piece of the pocket that sews to the side seam extends all the way to, and is sewn into, the zipper seam. For heavy fabrics you can use a lighter weight fabric for the pocketing and have fashion fabric only where it might show. Good luck on your next pair, I suspect they will be fabulous!
1/13/06 8:00 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Thanks for showing your muslin on these. I actually like to see the progress of a project. Glad they're comfy and can't wait to see your next pair!
1/13/06 8:02 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Good job on your muslin. Sounds like you've almost got them mastered. Looking forward to the update of this review with your final pair.
1/13/06 8:13 AM
licarritc said...
This is really helpful! I have these and haven't started them yet because I need to alter so much. it is great to hear that they are worth the work even in the mulin stage.
1/13/06 8:55 AM
kwpanthermom said...
This is a wonderful review because you've made it very encouraging for me, who is a bit reluctant to try a HotPattern, to really consider ordering one! And your muslin looks very well done, surely it's a wearable muslin! As far as the pockets, I looked at the pattern picture and that style of slanted pocket can be difficult to fit without gapping. When I've made pants with that style but with more of a vertical line to the slant, I usually have to let the front side seam out from the waist and the hip to allow more fabric there, but that's really only helpful if you're making slacks which don't fit as snugly as we usually want our jeans to fit. And it's not just us with curves there that create the issue; my teenage daughter is flat as a pancake in her tummy and is very slender in the hips but her slanted pockets gape on a pair of perfectly-snug fitting jeans she has. When I look at her it seems to be how her hipbones jutt just a tad that cause them to gape. Maybe it has more to do with the amount of ease needed in the style and not the amount of curves we have. It COULD be that the slant of the pocket itself (the slant line on the front of the pants pattern) needs to be widened a bit using a slash-and-spread method to allow more fabric there so it can curve over our curves more easily. It would look baggy on the hanger but smoother without gaping on us.
1/13/06 10:34 AM
Tarawebster said...
I would really love to add the pictures of the back and of the side seam, so folks can see where the flare starts as well as how the fit is. I tried to link it but don't know what I did wrong. I think I followed the directions on how to add a picture link, and have the pics in my album. I'll keep trying! edited to add: Thanks to Debbie Cook I figured out how to add pics to my review, so now the back and the side view are in the review. I wish the side view pic was longer so you could see where it flares from the knee, as that is one of my favorite parts of the this style. Tara
1/13/06 11:20 AM
PhyllisC said...
Tara - If you have a pair of RTW pants that fit the way you like, you could do a rub off of those and compare it to the HP pattern. That might save some tweaking time. Georgene posted a tip on doing a rub off.
1/13/06 12:03 PM
Georgene said...
Meanwhile, if you fabric is the least bit heavy, you should be using pocketing fabric (lightweight cotton, thin but sturdy in beige usually) for all the parts of your pocket that don't show to the outside. Look at a pair of real jeans - notice how the denim is just a facing on the back of the pocket, and everything else is made from a light weight cotton? That will reduce bulk if you use that method. Many ladies jeans have the pocket extension that is set in to the CF zipper to keeep a flat tummy. I don't think it will help with gaposis. You have to be very very careful not to stretch out that seam of pant body to pocket. A stay tape would be good, or easing it slightly. Sometimes that stretching is all you need to create the gap. Basically I just sew'em shut and say 'heck with pockets'.
1/13/06 12:37 PM
MaryBeth said...
Pocketing fabric: Baer Fabric in Louisville, KY has my favorite kind, made to be 7" wide and prefolded. They will no longer be able to get this when the stock they have runs out. I ordered 10 yds of black/10 of white and love it! You are a sweetie for getting those extra pixys up so even tho they don't demo the flare, they are appreciated!
1/13/06 12:55 PM
Lori V said...
Thank you for posting this review. I think it is helpful for others of us to see and understand these patterns.
1/13/06 3:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 10/22/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by Melwyk on 9/29/13
Read Review

Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8241 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8241 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us