SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5801 (blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1049 times 
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Learn To Sewstar
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/06 2:57 PM
Last Updated:1/13/06 3:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your top looks very nice! Very wearable. The only improvement I can see is that a small FBA would eliminate the front from rising up, which it does only slightly. You did a nice job. Have fun sewing and congratulations on the lifestyle changes that contributed to your weight loss.
1/13/06 3:14 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Carol, I don't really see a problem with the way the back fits except that it looks like you have sloping shoulders. If you do the alteration on page 160 of FFRP, I think you'll get a better back fit. Also, I think you're expecting too much from a garment in the way of arm reach. Either you get a good back fit, OR you get reach room. You can't get both in a non-stretch woven fabric.
1/13/06 3:27 PM
Nickle said...
l I think it looks nice on you, like the color. Congrats on your weight loss.
1/13/06 3:35 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Carol, I think the blouse is very nice! Good color on you. I'm not so sure you have dramatically sloping shoulders, and like Sherril, I don't think you have a broad back. But I do think you have a slightly rounded back and possibly slightly forward shoulders. If you look at the wrinkles in the back view, they are pointing to your upper center back. I think you need more room there. I don't have my FFRP handy to tell you what page, but rounded back & forward shoulder alterations are in there somewhere.
1/13/06 3:40 PM
Liana said...
I don't think you have particularly sloping shoulders, but the pattern looks squarer than you, so you could adjust a little, or use a small shoulder pad, as you suggested. Very nice, really, and a great color!
1/13/06 4:20 PM
Linda F said...
What a fantastic job you did! I saw a drawing that showed the diagonal lines you have on the back as needing a shoulder slope fix, but I can't remember where I saw it. Try some shoulder pads and see if it goes away. It fits you well and you did a fantastic job. It must be very comfortable to wear. Great work, you did a great job! So what's next!
1/13/06 4:29 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think you did a great job on this shirt and I want to congratulate you on your weight loss
1/13/06 4:53 PM
Lori V said...
You have made a very nice looking blouse.
1/13/06 5:04 PM
jr said...
Carol, this blouse looks nice- good color too. I like your haircut!
1/13/06 5:49 PM
ryan's mom said...
Looking really good, Carol! Very impressive work, and that color looks great on you.
1/13/06 5:59 PM
AnneM said...
I really like this style. Congrats on your top, & your healthier diet!
1/14/06 9:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
Silhouette Patterns 310

photo
by: ggf2005

Review