SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> MM Prim & Proper Jacket (Miss Moneypenny Prim & Proper)

2 more reviews
Viewed 2120 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 352
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 191 people
patterns reviewed: 351
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/06 4:01 PM
Last Updated:1/15/06 7:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Thank you so much for this review. I love this pattern, but I thought I would start with simpler HP designs before I tackle a jacket. It certainly sounds like the sleeves are drafted too small, but the other issues sound like just normal fitting issues. Congratulations on your perseverance in completing this muslin. It seems to me you just need bigger sleeves before making another version. Good luck!
1/14/06 4:10 PM
Ann Smith said...
Too bad about the fit problems because it looks so adorable in your cordoroy. Otherwise it looks like you are up to this project, especially now that you have figured out some of the things that were new to you. I say go for it!
1/14/06 4:15 PM
kismet007 said...
I think you did a great job considering these patterns are a bit strange. I haven't quite figured out the mechanics of their sloper. My biceps are 9 inches and I have been cutting a size 10 in this brand and find it snug. Your muslin looks great. I have this pattern and I have already cut out the peices and tried to line up the seams and what not and I found some discrepencies. I know this is not a popular opinion but I think the drafting leaves a lot to be desired. Seam lines and notches not matching is bad drafting and it's time consuming to have to sort out and correct the mistakes myself. I have decided not to buy any more of these patterns unless it's something I'm absolutely in love with. But really, if you made it this far with a Hott Pattern, you should pat yourself on the back.
1/14/06 4:27 PM
Georgene said...
Don't throw the baby out with the bath water! This is a great jacket! Cut bigger sleeves and put them into your armhole. I'm not sure why or where you trimmed off 1/4" from the armscye. Maybe you need that, and removing it contributed to limiting your range of movement. Try making a muslin from muslin fabric, mark it up, rip it out, keep working at it til its right, til you get the fit. You seem to be so close; all you need to do is work that sleeve a bit. Go up 2 sizes in the sleeve and re-pin into the original armhole. Adjust from there. Sorry to be long winded, but to be fair, making it in corduroy is not what I would call a muslin. I want to see your next version.
1/14/06 4:32 PM
Nickle said...
I can't help since I haven't done a HP pattern but I just want to say I admire your efforts and I'm sure with some more tweaking you'll get the fit you want. Its a cute style.
1/14/06 4:35 PM
MaryBeth said...
Thanks for your muslin review. Hope you keep at this one.
1/14/06 4:54 PM
nheh said...
I'm with Georgene; it sounds like it fits fine in the body and it's just the sleeves that are a problem. Don't give up! Drag out a book on alterations and add to that sleeve. Slash and spread (this would probably work, but I defer to the more experienced), or whatever is the recommended alteration for where it's tight. Just think how proud you'll be when you get it to fit...
1/14/06 4:57 PM
MareCW said...
I have just the last year been finding out that the pattern makers make more for their height and build, so we shorter gals need to be aware of this when buying an "indie" (?) pattern and allow for this. I savor every comment; love reading many newsletters; never know when some little tidbit can be important; have found this all my life. Thanks Mary
1/14/06 5:52 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks to be a very nice jacket. Don't give up on it.
1/14/06 6:19 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
I'm with the other Ladies, this looks cute and it sounds like you're sooo close! Look forward to seeing your next one!
1/14/06 10:09 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Lori, if it is not too much trouble and you are able to get your links working, can you take a closer picture of the notched collar. I really like this pattern esp since I've seen yours made up. And for some odd reason I am the only person that the Hot patterns sleeves fit, lol. Which just puzzles the life out of me because I'm plus sized.
1/15/06 5:43 AM
LauraM62 said...
Great Review Lori. I'm with you, when you sew for family plus yourself, I'm not going to spend days redoing a pattern & muslins for that perfect fit, there are too many other patterns out there. Like you I do a muslin out of wearable fabric, from there tweak. If it needs to much tweaking the pattern is out of here, I have too many other things in life. It is a wonderful looking jacket though from the picture! And I've seen many other things you've made, I think your sewing skills are very much up to the Hot Pattern level!
1/15/06 7:41 AM
Sew Little Thyme said...
Lori~ Kudos for you for finishing this jacket! I have been following the thread on the board. I was waiting to see how it turned out for you. I have to with Georgene I think that it is a great style & worth the effort. Easy for me to say as I own the pattern but have yet to attempt it. LOL! I do however think that they design is very cute, trendy yet once you get it fitted right would be a lasting style. Just remember you have won half the battle & it will be worth it when you have it perfectly fit!
1/15/06 7:41 AM
QuickFade said...
Thanks for your review. I agree with some who have said to cut out bigger sleeves to salvage your effort and have a cute jacket to wear out! If you don't have enough fabric to cut completely new sleeves, how about making an inset of the same or coordinating fabric, interfaced ribbon, or something that would look good? There is an article in January 2006 Threads about what to do when you don't have enough fabric to complete a project. That may be helpful in this case. By taking this project through to completion, you will develop your sewing skills and have a great jacket. I say go for it!
1/15/06 8:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the look of this pattern. I just got a Nordstrom's catalog and this looks close to some of the jackets they were promoting. I am having issues with sizing with these patterns. I may have to try a Slinky and do adjustments. I am doing them with Glamour Girl as well.
1/15/06 9:47 AM
AnneM said...
Thank you very much for the review. This is one of the patterns I am considering. Certain aspects of this pattern line are great, certain aspects are poor. I supose that's just like every other pattern line! Good information, thanks again for the review. And your jacket is very cute.
1/15/06 10:05 AM
koo104 said...
As a rule, corduroy needs to be cut larger than the same garment in a wool /denim for twill fabric. At work we have to use different basic block patterns for corduroy styles. The fabric/ jacket has a great look so don't give up.
1/15/06 11:20 AM
licarritc said...
I agree with everyone else! Don't give up! Your skills are to up to the challenge! If it fits in the body you're almost there -recut the arms if you need to but think how great it will feel to complete this "huge" hurdle
1/15/06 12:06 PM
frame said...
Very informative review. Based on what I see, your level of sewing is more than ready for this pattern.
1/15/06 3:07 PM
Lori V said...
Thank you for all the kind comments and words of encouragement. I appreciate it. I will try this jacket again at some point but I will probably use sleeves from another pattern.
1/16/06 7:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 11282-1000

photo
by: sewmodest

Review
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 3696

photo
by: Immelu

Review