Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: MM Prim & Proper Jacket (Miss Moneypenny Prim & Proper) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2119 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 337
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/06 4:01 PM
Last Updated:1/15/06 7:38 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Thank you so much for this review. I love this pattern, but I thought I would start with simpler HP designs before I tackle a jacket. It certainly sounds like the sleeves are drafted too small, but the other issues sound like just normal fitting issues. Congratulations on your perseverance in completing this muslin. It seems to me you just need bigger sleeves before making another version. Good luck!
1/14/06 4:10 PM
Ann Smith said...
Too bad about the fit problems because it looks so adorable in your cordoroy. Otherwise it looks like you are up to this project, especially now that you have figured out some of the things that were new to you. I say go for it!
1/14/06 4:15 PM
kismet007 said...
I think you did a great job considering these patterns are a bit strange. I haven't quite figured out the mechanics of their sloper. My biceps are 9 inches and I have been cutting a size 10 in this brand and find it snug. Your muslin looks great. I have this pattern and I have already cut out the peices and tried to line up the seams and what not and I found some discrepencies. I know this is not a popular opinion but I think the drafting leaves a lot to be desired. Seam lines and notches not matching is bad drafting and it's time consuming to have to sort out and correct the mistakes myself. I have decided not to buy any more of these patterns unless it's something I'm absolutely in love with. But really, if you made it this far with a Hott Pattern, you should pat yourself on the back.
1/14/06 4:27 PM
Georgene said...
Don't throw the baby out with the bath water! This is a great jacket! Cut bigger sleeves and put them into your armhole. I'm not sure why or where you trimmed off 1/4" from the armscye. Maybe you need that, and removing it contributed to limiting your range of movement. Try making a muslin from muslin fabric, mark it up, rip it out, keep working at it til its right, til you get the fit. You seem to be so close; all you need to do is work that sleeve a bit. Go up 2 sizes in the sleeve and re-pin into the original armhole. Adjust from there. Sorry to be long winded, but to be fair, making it in corduroy is not what I would call a muslin. I want to see your next version.
1/14/06 4:32 PM
Nickle said...
I can't help since I haven't done a HP pattern but I just want to say I admire your efforts and I'm sure with some more tweaking you'll get the fit you want. Its a cute style.
1/14/06 4:35 PM
MaryBeth said...
Thanks for your muslin review. Hope you keep at this one.
1/14/06 4:54 PM
nheh said...
I'm with Georgene; it sounds like it fits fine in the body and it's just the sleeves that are a problem. Don't give up! Drag out a book on alterations and add to that sleeve. Slash and spread (this would probably work, but I defer to the more experienced), or whatever is the recommended alteration for where it's tight. Just think how proud you'll be when you get it to fit...
1/14/06 4:57 PM
MareCW said...
I have just the last year been finding out that the pattern makers make more for their height and build, so we shorter gals need to be aware of this when buying an "indie" (?) pattern and allow for this. I savor every comment; love reading many newsletters; never know when some little tidbit can be important; have found this all my life. Thanks Mary
1/14/06 5:52 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks to be a very nice jacket. Don't give up on it.
1/14/06 6:19 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
I'm with the other Ladies, this looks cute and it sounds like you're sooo close! Look forward to seeing your next one!
1/14/06 10:09 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Lori, if it is not too much trouble and you are able to get your links working, can you take a closer picture of the notched collar. I really like this pattern esp since I've seen yours made up. And for some odd reason I am the only person that the Hot patterns sleeves fit, lol. Which just puzzles the life out of me because I'm plus sized.
1/15/06 5:43 AM
LauraM62 said...
Great Review Lori. I'm with you, when you sew for family plus yourself, I'm not going to spend days redoing a pattern & muslins for that perfect fit, there are too many other patterns out there. Like you I do a muslin out of wearable fabric, from there tweak. If it needs to much tweaking the pattern is out of here, I have too many other things in life. It is a wonderful looking jacket though from the picture! And I've seen many other things you've made, I think your sewing skills are very much up to the Hot Pattern level!
1/15/06 7:41 AM
Sew Little Thyme said...
Lori~ Kudos for you for finishing this jacket! I have been following the thread on the board. I was waiting to see how it turned out for you. I have to with Georgene I think that it is a great style & worth the effort. Easy for me to say as I own the pattern but have yet to attempt it. LOL! I do however think that they design is very cute, trendy yet once you get it fitted right would be a lasting style. Just remember you have won half the battle & it will be worth it when you have it perfectly fit!
1/15/06 7:41 AM
QuickFade said...
Thanks for your review. I agree with some who have said to cut out bigger sleeves to salvage your effort and have a cute jacket to wear out! If you don't have enough fabric to cut completely new sleeves, how about making an inset of the same or coordinating fabric, interfaced ribbon, or something that would look good? There is an article in January 2006 Threads about what to do when you don't have enough fabric to complete a project. That may be helpful in this case. By taking this project through to completion, you will develop your sewing skills and have a great jacket. I say go for it!
1/15/06 8:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the look of this pattern. I just got a Nordstrom's catalog and this looks close to some of the jackets they were promoting. I am having issues with sizing with these patterns. I may have to try a Slinky and do adjustments. I am doing them with Glamour Girl as well.
1/15/06 9:47 AM
AnneM said...
Thank you very much for the review. This is one of the patterns I am considering. Certain aspects of this pattern line are great, certain aspects are poor. I supose that's just like every other pattern line! Good information, thanks again for the review. And your jacket is very cute.
1/15/06 10:05 AM
koo104 said...
As a rule, corduroy needs to be cut larger than the same garment in a wool /denim for twill fabric. At work we have to use different basic block patterns for corduroy styles. The fabric/ jacket has a great look so don't give up.
1/15/06 11:20 AM
licarritc said...
I agree with everyone else! Don't give up! Your skills are to up to the challenge! If it fits in the body you're almost there -recut the arms if you need to but think how great it will feel to complete this "huge" hurdle
1/15/06 12:06 PM
frame said...
Very informative review. Based on what I see, your level of sewing is more than ready for this pattern.
1/15/06 3:07 PM
Lori V said...
Thank you for all the kind comments and words of encouragement. I appreciate it. I will try this jacket again at some point but I will probably use sleeves from another pattern.
1/16/06 7:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 5196
photo
Review by marvelous on 5/20/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2594
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 3/3/13
Read Review

Burda 6904 Pattern
Burda 6904 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8930 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8930 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us