SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Quilt in a Day (Log Cabin)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1537 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/02 8:10 PM
Last Updated:9/22/02 8:48 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trying to sew said...
I love anything Eleanor Burns writes up. Her patterns are very very easy for beginners to learn the hang of quilting. She also has some advanced pattern books... her instructions as so explicit ... a beginner will be able to "catch on" in no time.
9/30/08 6:14 PM
said...
Diane, great quilt! I started sewing again as an adult via Quilt in a Day about 8 years ago. I too have made this one for a baby gift. I haven't quilted in a while secondary to all the garment sewing madness I currently have.
9/24/02 1:16 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you for your comments! I had such a good time making this quilt. Anne, As Jen and Autumn said, the book is great for beginners. The Log Cabin pattern is terrifically versatile, and its look can be completely different just based on block placement. I think I'll make another one soon!
9/23/02 12:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This is the very book that I started with when I began quilting 15 years ago. I was a complete quilting beginner but knew how to use a sewing machine, and learned rotary cutting at the time.
9/23/02 0:50 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, you picked beautiful colors for your quilt. The Quilt In A Day Log Cabin book is one of my favorites, as is the Quilt In A Day Flying Geese. I recently made a quilt for a baby boy using baby blue 1930's repro fabric - too cute! Anne M, the book is great for beginners but only if you are familiar with basic machine sewing and possibly rotary cutting.
9/22/02 10:48 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Do you need to know how to quilt before getting this book, or is it good for a "raw" beginner? I just picked up the Simplicity Quilt Block Club patterns to teach me quilting basics.
9/22/02 10:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, that's a beautiful quilt!!! Made in a day, that's very inspiring. I'm going to look for this book; thanks for the review (even if it's for quilts) ;-)
9/22/02 9:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-125

photo
by: Red Dragon

Review
McCall's 6066

photo
by: anniemolli...

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now