Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Quilt in a Day (Log Cabin) - Type:Quilts    printable version
Viewed 1537 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/02 8:10 PM
Last Updated:9/22/02 8:48 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Diane, that's a beautiful quilt!!! Made in a day, that's very inspiring. I'm going to look for this book; thanks for the review (even if it's for quilts) ;-)
9/22/02 9:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Do you need to know how to quilt before getting this book, or is it good for a "raw" beginner? I just picked up the Simplicity Quilt Block Club patterns to teach me quilting basics.
9/22/02 10:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, you picked beautiful colors for your quilt. The Quilt In A Day Log Cabin book is one of my favorites, as is the Quilt In A Day Flying Geese. I recently made a quilt for a baby boy using baby blue 1930's repro fabric - too cute! Anne M, the book is great for beginners but only if you are familiar with basic machine sewing and possibly rotary cutting.
9/22/02 10:48 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This is the very book that I started with when I began quilting 15 years ago. I was a complete quilting beginner but knew how to use a sewing machine, and learned rotary cutting at the time.
9/23/02 0:50 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you for your comments! I had such a good time making this quilt. Anne, As Jen and Autumn said, the book is great for beginners. The Log Cabin pattern is terrifically versatile, and its look can be completely different just based on block placement. I think I'll make another one soon!
9/23/02 12:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, great quilt! I started sewing again as an adult via Quilt in a Day about 8 years ago. I too have made this one for a baby gift. I haven't quilted in a while secondary to all the garment sewing madness I currently have.
9/24/02 1:16 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Trying to sew said...
I love anything Eleanor Burns writes up. Her patterns are very very easy for beginners to learn the hang of quilting. She also has some advanced pattern books... her instructions as so explicit ... a beginner will be able to "catch on" in no time.
9/30/08 6:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8379
photo
Review by Dei on 10/5/08
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8380 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Wendy VanC on 7/15/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us