SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> Floribunda Tops (V-neck Wrap Front Camisole)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2875 times 
Reviewed by:Kira R
photo

 
 
About Kira Rstar
Member since: 11/9/02
Reviews written: 38
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 34
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/06 0:00 AM
Last Updated:2/1/06 1:29 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 47 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jemgirlca said...
I love this top, too! I'm glad, since I have the pattern. Thanks for all the pictures and fitting ideas. I'm sure that will be really helpful. I'm now excited to try it.
1/17/06 0:12 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Your top is lovely! Wrinkles, fit issues and all. :) I have eyed this pattern for a long time and you have convinced me to buy it. Especially after seeing the front armhole which looks normal to me (with my PMB background). Strange, what looks odd to one person looks perfectly normal to someone else. :)
1/17/06 0:14 AM
sylvia988 said...
I love it , It looks great on you! I want one
1/17/06 0:24 AM
Tailypo said...
Looks great!
1/17/06 0:36 AM
Josephine said...
This looks great- I think you've just sold me on another HotPattern.
1/17/06 0:39 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the detailed review - I've been interested in this one too. It's great to see a real picture.
1/17/06 1:16 AM
Ingiepops said...
I've been thinking about getting this pattern for ages, so I'm very glad you reviewed it! Thanks for a thorough review. Sounds like you have a lot of the same fit issues I have. I have also used that same dart adjustment on a NL dress once to avoid gaposis and it worked fine.
1/17/06 2:00 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
This looks like a very promising pattern! Good luck with your next version.
1/17/06 3:17 AM
Anne-Rose said...
It looks lovely!! I'm gonna have to buy this one. Thanks for reviewing this pattern!
1/17/06 4:42 AM
PegL said...
Excellent review and you made some very good points to think about regarding HP! I can't wait to see your finished top after your final tweaking since your muslin is really great!
1/17/06 5:44 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I bought this pattern, thinking the DD would like it. Now I know she'll LOVE it. You've written a very VERY helpful review, too. Thank you.
1/17/06 6:00 AM
MaryBeth said...
Kira: this is a wonderful review of this pattern. Thanks for your sewing, shooting and writing...you look wonderful in your final version and I hope you post updating pictures.
1/17/06 6:06 AM
Lori V said...
Love the top, thanks for the thorough review.
1/17/06 6:07 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great job. I love this top but I'm not sure it would look good on me. Your final version is perfection! -Ann
1/17/06 6:46 AM
CarolynGM said...
Exceptionally cute top and a great review. I think you just sold many copies of this pattern for HP
1/17/06 6:58 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Thanks for such a thorough and helpful review. Very cute top!
1/17/06 7:09 AM
priscilla said...
What a terrific review. You walked us through the pattern and made it easy to understand the adjustments. The top looks great, I'll have to put that one on my list.
1/17/06 7:18 AM
beangirl said...
OMG! This is a GREAT top and you did a fantastic job in the alterations so far. What a great review. Trudy recommended this one to me and of course I didn't believe her. When oh when will we learn to listen to Trudy, the Grand Poobah of Design? Fabulous review! Can't wait to see your final result.
1/17/06 7:36 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Great review! I have this pattern and can't wait to sew it up. You've got the fit just right and it looks fantastic on you! Thansk for the great review.
1/17/06 7:41 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Great review. I can't wait to see the final version of your top. Unfortunately this page wouldn't let me rate yours.
1/17/06 7:50 AM
Sew Little Thyme said...
I have this pattern and I want to thank you for your complete & entertaining review! I agree with you that this style looked to me to be a classic & that once the fitting issues are worked out will be great fashion staple for years to come. Thank you again for the great review & great top!
1/17/06 7:58 AM
Linda F said...
What a great and thorough review. You did a beautiful job getting the perfect fit. I can't wait to see the final product.
1/17/06 7:59 AM
Gigi Louis said...
I absolutely love it! I'll have to add this one to my list.
1/17/06 8:07 AM
sewlily said...
Well, I love this. It has great styling. I was completely on the fence about ordering but no longer. Thanks for the review.
1/17/06 8:13 AM
Cambric Tea said...
Thank you for the excellent review and pictures. So helpful. :)
1/17/06 8:17 AM
kethry said...
Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I have been wanting this pattern, but I waited for a review. Thanks for showing a pic of this top on you. I want to buy it now for sure!
1/17/06 8:32 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
May I add another "nice job" to the list? I love the look of this cami on you! ISn't it great how these are really challenging our way of thinking?
1/17/06 8:34 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great job and excellent review... now adding this to my list.
1/17/06 8:41 AM
jacqui rocks said...
Lovely cute top.
1/17/06 9:00 AM
Tarawebster said...
Great review of a beautiful top, and kudos to you for reminding us that hotpatterns is not your run of the mill big 4 pattern that aims to fit the majority instead of encouraging us to learn to fit it to ourselves. Your review was a great mini lesson in fitting! Thank you. I'm too small busted to wear tops of this type, but it looks great on you!
1/17/06 9:25 AM
licarritc said...
Fantastic review! I will add this to the list of patterns I want. I'm big busted hope it doesn't "give away" the show!
1/17/06 10:00 AM
Frogstitcher said...
This is a great review. I'm still on the fence about HotPatterns and haven't ordered any. I think I'll continue to sit on the fence for while. Your muslin looks great after all your hard work.
1/17/06 10:00 AM
CarrieA said...
Oh, yay! I've been waiting for a Floribunda review and you did such an awesome and thorough one. Thanks! I have this pattern but haven't even opened the envelop yet. I know I'll have some work to do, but your process will make it easier for the rest of us!
1/17/06 10:03 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Outstanding review, love your top, it is so much better fitting than those that make you feel like an elephant at the zoo. LOL!! LOVE your philosphy re HP, right on. Have fun making your final. PS like the braless look, hate wearing those restrainers!
1/17/06 10:29 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
This is an INCREDIBLY GOOD review.
1/17/06 10:53 AM
DD'Onfro said...
Great top. I am happy to hear about the ease (or rather, about the lack thereof). Thanks for the review.
1/17/06 10:56 AM
drsue said...
Terrific Review! Looks like you've mastered the fit on this one.
1/17/06 11:23 AM
Nancy K said...
I am so glad you made this top. I have it too and I have adjusted the pattern but I need to make the muslin. You are very exacting on the fit and that is very helpful.
1/17/06 12:07 PM
KarenP said...
Thanks for the thorough review. Even thought it's just a muslin, I really like the look of your top - I can't wait to see the final version!
1/17/06 12:23 PM
AnneM said...
I was going to suggest putting a lining on the front and skipping the bra; the design itself gives a little support. You made good progress on your top. Very informative review.
1/17/06 3:28 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Hmm, I thought too many ruffles and stuff, but your muslin looks great without the adornments! I'll have to take a second look at this pattern. Thanks for a great review!
1/17/06 7:02 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job in getting a perfect fit. Glad you like the pattern.
1/18/06 5:51 AM
Nancy K said...
I made my muslin of this pattern yesterday and I like how it looks. I did a full bust adjustment even though the pattern says for c-d cup, I felt I needed more room. I also needed to add width to side front as the pleat didn't hang right on mine either. I wasn't sure if I like all the gathering in the back, but I didnt' wash my muslin and I am making this in a stretch silk charmeuse. whick will hang better. Also, I don't think that I am going to add the zipper as I have enough stretch in the fabric. I needed to lower the front bust about 3/4" to fall in the right place for my bust and I also decided to raise the neck about 1/2" as I felt it was a bit too low on my D cup bust. I probably will scoop out the front armskye for my foward shoulder, but I am going to wait and see how it feels in the stretch fabric. Your review was very helpful. Thanks
1/30/06 12:18 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice Kira. I like your final version. The fit is lovely with all your alterations.
2/1/06 4:08 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very pretty. Great fit, and my favorite color! Nicely detailed review too.
2/1/06 7:00 AM
Mamashea said...
What a great detailed review! I love that shirt you did a great job When I have the courage to sew up clothes for me I'm coming straight to this review for inspiration :)
2/1/06 7:22 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty new top.
2/1/06 10:26 AM
beangirl said...
Kira, this is a great result! Having seen your first attempt, I did buy this one and I just can't wait to do it up. Beautiful work!
2/1/06 11:15 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Love it Kira! I like that you posted your process. Nice to see the muslin vs. the final.
2/1/06 11:45 AM
PegL said...
Your top turned out so great! Thanks for updating your excellent review and congratulations on a well fitting and very pretty top!!
2/1/06 12:04 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Love the final top! I was unsure when I saw the muslin if I liked the pattern, but the final garment has changed my mind! Beautiful! Wonderful review ... lots of detail!
2/1/06 12:39 PM
BjP said...
Your top ended up absolutely great! Love it. Thanks for the update and the "whole process" review.
2/1/06 1:00 PM
Re Becca said...
I just ordered this top today and I have to wait 28 days! I am one of those smaller cups thank you! I have at least 2 pieces of fabric waiting in the wings. thanks for putting in the time to write a thorough review.
2/1/06 10:21 PM
Nancy K said...
This looks much better on you than on my D cup figure. After 2 muslins, I gave up. Yours is very flattering
4/9/06 5:26 PM
Nancy K said...
It looks amazing on you. This pattern did not work for me and I gave up after 2 muslins. I don't think that this is a good pattern for a D cup even though it is offered as such.
6/14/06 5:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Other Dressmaking with Liberty

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
McCall's m5205

photo
by: ladycop

Review