SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4933 (Princess Seamed Jacket 6 Looks)

Viewed 1197 times 
Reviewed by:starchildmom
photo

 
 
About starchildmomstar
OR USA
Member since: 12/4/05
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/06 2:49 AM
Last Updated:1/17/06 4:35 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
I think your jacket fits well and the fabric is very interesting. It's pretty. Thanks for the thorough review. I have this pattern and decided to check PR before I made it. I'm glad I did. I think I'll find another pattern.
9/21/09 5:22 PM
Minya, Warrior Seamstress said...
Thanks for the warning. I find myself wanting to make a jacket--my first--and was considering this as a pattern. Not anymore!
1/25/06 10:48 PM
artist1lisa said...
I also agree with Marybeth on the boxy shaping,but still,it looks cute.Your hard work paid off.
1/17/06 11:12 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You know, I finally gave up on most McCall's patterns because I find them to be basically too boxy and require more fitting work than say, Simplicity. However, I'm glad you were happy with your final results.
1/17/06 11:31 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I liked your jacket and was surprised you weren't as happy with it. I'm wondering if it's possible to pick a stetch lining fabric to use with a stretch fashion fabric?
1/17/06 10:48 AM
Cambric Tea said...
I am so glad that you are happy with your final jacket, and good for you for taking on a lined jacket after a break. I still have yet to do my first ever. (:
1/17/06 8:24 AM
Linda F said...
Thank you for a great review. Seeing how this is one of the patterns I was considering for my first jacket in about 25 years, I appreciate your candor.
1/17/06 8:04 AM
MaryBeth said...
I agree that the pattern is excessively boxy. You neeeed a curvy fit to bring out your best shape. Wish there was a better picture of your final result. I think that the Big 4 pattern companies sell patterns these days by using the words "easy" (meaning they've left out the details that make the pattern work well) and 2-hour (meaning they've left out the details that make the garment look professionally done). we're not that easily fooled, eh? Maybe that's why there are so many sewing books these days. I love Cecilia Podolak's jacket book BTW for great sleeve setting techniques.
1/17/06 6:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 110861-1000

photo
by: JuliN

Review
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now