Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4933 (Princess Seamed Jacket 6 Looks) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1194 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:starchildmom
photo
About starchildmomstar
OR USA
Member since: 12/4/05
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/06 2:49 AM
Last Updated:1/17/06 4:35 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryBeth said...
I agree that the pattern is excessively boxy. You neeeed a curvy fit to bring out your best shape. Wish there was a better picture of your final result. I think that the Big 4 pattern companies sell patterns these days by using the words "easy" (meaning they've left out the details that make the pattern work well) and 2-hour (meaning they've left out the details that make the garment look professionally done). we're not that easily fooled, eh? Maybe that's why there are so many sewing books these days. I love Cecilia Podolak's jacket book BTW for great sleeve setting techniques.
1/17/06 6:44 AM
Linda F said...
Thank you for a great review. Seeing how this is one of the patterns I was considering for my first jacket in about 25 years, I appreciate your candor.
1/17/06 8:04 AM
Cambric Tea said...
I am so glad that you are happy with your final jacket, and good for you for taking on a lined jacket after a break. I still have yet to do my first ever. (:
1/17/06 8:24 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I liked your jacket and was surprised you weren't as happy with it. I'm wondering if it's possible to pick a stetch lining fabric to use with a stretch fashion fabric?
1/17/06 10:48 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You know, I finally gave up on most McCall's patterns because I find them to be basically too boxy and require more fitting work than say, Simplicity. However, I'm glad you were happy with your final results.
1/17/06 11:31 AM
artist1lisa said...
I also agree with Marybeth on the boxy shaping,but still,it looks cute.Your hard work paid off.
1/17/06 11:12 PM
Minya, Warrior Seamstress said...
Thanks for the warning. I find myself wanting to make a jacket--my first--and was considering this as a pattern. Not anymore!
1/25/06 10:48 PM
OP Gal said...
I think your jacket fits well and the fabric is very interesting. It's pretty. Thanks for the thorough review. I have this pattern and decided to check PR before I made it. I'm glad I did. I think I'll find another pattern.
9/21/09 5:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Sense & Sensibility Girls\' Regency Dress
photo
Review by Klinkerpop... on 10/27/09
Read Review

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688
photo
Review by Futuralon on 1/19/14
Read Review

New Look 6295 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6295 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8936 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8936 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us