Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: Nairobi Bag (Nairobi Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1537 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:PegL
photo
About PegLstar
MO USA
Member since: 2/18/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:1/18/06 4:23 PM
Last Updated:1/18/06 4:34 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mjrsew said...
Beautiful job and thank you for the details.
1/18/06 4:39 PM
beangirl said...
Cool! this is a great version (I liked the pics of your first bag too). Can't wait to see the new ones you make up from HP.
1/18/06 4:39 PM
els said...
Your zebra version of the now famous Nairobi bag looks very cool,great detail on the piping. Hope your daughter enjoys the bag as much as I do mine.
1/18/06 4:49 PM
MaryBeth said...
Beautiful bags, Peg. I like both versions.
1/18/06 4:53 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very cool! I was just thinking as I sat down to the computer that I needed to work up my Nairobi bag one of these days... ;)
1/18/06 4:54 PM
Vonnevo said...
Excellent result and review. Your fabric choice and zebra patterns makes this one cool looking bag.
1/18/06 4:55 PM
Nickle said...
Your bag is beautiful. Like the fabric choices.
1/18/06 5:00 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful bag.
1/18/06 5:30 PM
BjP said...
I love this purse! Such a great look with the zebra print and the piping looks marvelous! Great job and am sure your daughter will love it...how could she not?
1/18/06 5:36 PM
Peggy L said...
It turned out really nice! I love the piping details. Thanks for all the pictures!
1/18/06 5:40 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a stunning bag, Peg!
1/18/06 5:42 PM
Patti B said...
Great bag -- your DD will love it! It is a fun pattern to play with and the results are all so different.
1/18/06 5:45 PM
cmarie12 said...
Peg, it is one of the best Hot Patterns bags that I have seen! You did an awesome job!
1/18/06 5:54 PM
pbrenneraz said...
Gorgeous bag! Thank you for the details on your design process :-) Do you mind knockoffs, haha!!
1/18/06 7:20 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful! Every detail, every modification is perfect. And the piping and zebra print definitely add the pizzaz you were seeking. Although difficult to engineer, the zipper with the ultrasuede pull is both practical and chic. How could your daughter not love this designer bag? This one will be difficult to top.
1/18/06 7:22 PM
guillorypr said...
very cute bag! Maybe one of these days I'll get around to making one.
1/18/06 7:24 PM
Meguiar said...
Nice job - your bag is beautiful!
1/18/06 8:05 PM
PhyllisC said...
Those bags are hot Peg! I also like them both.
1/18/06 8:15 PM
Levone said...
I love the zebra print...great job.
1/18/06 9:32 PM
Lori V said...
Great bag, the zebra print and piping are wonderful.
1/18/06 11:40 PM
PegL said...
Wow! Thanks everybody! I appreciate all the kind comments!
1/18/06 11:47 PM
AnneFromLambourn said...
Tres chic, Peggy!
1/19/06 1:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job. Really nice bags. Love the piping.
1/19/06 4:34 AM
licarritc said...
Great bag and fabulous review -I loved seeing your thought process
1/19/06 7:59 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Cool bag. The piping makes it look very professional. Good review, thanks for sharing.
1/19/06 8:04 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Wonderful bags. These are on my to do list, and your review was very helpful.
1/19/06 11:29 AM
_Avril_ said...
I looked EVERYWHERE for the download... i cant find it... can anyone help?!!?!
8/12/06 5:42 PM
PegL said...
Avril, I can't send you a message as you have it blocked. Use the advanced search button here on PR and put in ''Nairobi Bag'' and you will find a link to the topic where a lot of members have requested and received the pattern download. Unfortunately, I didn't save it on my computer or I would send it. The pattern is no longer available from Hot Patterns and the only way to get it is from someone who saved it to their computer. HTH!
8/13/06 3:22 AM
JDpenelope said...
Peg -- Just re-read this fantastic review. What an accomplishment! How I wish I had your talent.
10/8/09 8:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Jalie 2804
photo
Review by JudyP on 1/12/09
Read Review

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4995
photo
Review by Lady_Mame on 3/3/08
Read Review

Butterick 5628 Pattern ( Size 32W )
Butterick 5628 Pattern ( Size 32W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6594 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6594 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us