SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6114 (Suit)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1467 times 
Reviewed by:Alana Robson
photo

 
 
About Alana Robsonstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/1/02
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/02 0:35 AM
Last Updated:9/23/02 0:39 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Dresses    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
That is a very goood looking suit. The double breasted buttons were a surprise.
9/23/02 3:30 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That fabric really plays up the suit's simple, beautiful lines. Great job, and I can see why you'll make it again and again.
9/23/02 4:22 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Alana! The suit is so professional. I can't believe it was sewn at home. A very helpful review also. So far I havent tackled jackets but reading your review and looking at your photos, I am really inspired. Thanks!
9/23/02 10:27 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I agree w/Deepika, this suit looks very professionally done and it's quite inspiring!
9/23/02 10:38 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Beautiful Job! The tweed really shows well and gives it some depth. Like Deepika, I am also soon to tackle jackets. Thanks for your thorough review.
9/23/02 11:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Alana, your suit is just beautiful and I'm really impressed with the fit you got! You just did a fabulous job! I had to smile at the part where you say you stared at the tissue for a week before you got up the nerve to cut it out.
9/23/02 2:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks everyone. A collarless jacket is a good choice if you are a little nervous about tackling jackets, and a good fabric, something wool or silk with some texture, will go a long way toward getting a good result.
9/23/02 7:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
A lovely suit.
9/23/02 7:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
KathleenS said...
Alana, that is a *very* nice suit :) I've been looking at the pattern details on the Simplicity website and it appears from the finished garment measurements that it's reasonably true to size and that selecting your size based on body measurements would work. Is this the case? (I've had a lot of bad experiences with patterns that run big).
1/27/03 4:54 PM
Alana Robson said...
Yes, I found this suit and New Look in general to be more true to size, ie. the upper body is smaller than with the other major pattern companies.
1/28/03 2:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Other 000

photo
by: QuiltSewSe...

Review
Tessuti Lily Linen Dress

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now