SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3003 (Bias Cut Skirt w/ added lining)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1163 times 
Reviewed by:Kim Winson
photo

 
 
About Kim Winsonstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 2/2/02
Reviews written: 86
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/19/06 8:06 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori Sews said...
Kim, it's very pretty! I think you have the figure to raise the hem up a bit--maybe mid-knee cap. :) It's really nice, and I loved that you lined it. I like all of my skirts lined.
1/19/06 8:21 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Very nice. I think you could also trim a bit off the hem and it would look great on you.
1/19/06 8:33 PM
Lori V said...
Looks nice, pretty plaid. I agree, shorten it a bit.
1/19/06 9:44 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Great skirt, great fabric. It looks good on you. I agree that a wee bit shorter would also be cute on you.
1/19/06 9:52 PM
suncentaur said...
Looks great, what did you use for lining?
1/19/06 11:12 PM
PegL said...
Very cute skirt! I think the length is very becoming where is it but if you'd feel more comfortable with it shorter then I wouldn't take it up over your knees -- mid-knee cap would be good.
1/20/06 3:58 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute skirt. I remember that Threads article. Personally, I think the length is just fine on you, although you could certainly wear it at a variety of lengths. You might want to hem the front a touch more than the back. When looking at the side view I can see you have the same issue I do: your derriere takes up some space and raises the back hem slightly more than the front.
1/20/06 4:22 AM
Kim Winson said...
THank you all for your excellent feedback! I appreciate it. Suncentaur: I used "Hang Loose" lining, a polyester lining that I purchased on sale from a local independent. It's supposed to be static free...I haven't worn the skirt yet, so I'll have to report back on that. AnneM: I noticed that the hem hikes up in the back as well. I don't think I have enough length in the skirt to compensate for that this time around...serves me right for forgetting to adjust for it when I shortened the pattern, LOL!
1/21/06 10:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Abacadabra 131

photo
by: aaltje

Review
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1258

photo
by: sewmytime

Review