SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> Woodstock Tunic (Woodstock Tunic)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1534 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 198
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 185
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/06 7:07 AM
Last Updated:1/24/06 7:07 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Linda, I found that starting with Slinky and then adjusting the bust worked for me on my HPs. In the patchouli dress, I had to use a 3/8" seam on the armscye and upper arm as well. PhyllisC ran into the same dart issue you mention, so you might want to ask her about that. -Ann
1/24/06 7:34 AM
Lisette said...
Besides the sizing issues, you picked a fabric that is just awful to work with. I made a skirt with a similar fabric and do not plan to put myself through the aggravation again. I think going smaller is the right thing to do. Good luck.
1/24/06 8:44 AM
beangirl said...
Well, we've discussed the smaller size before and I think this one clinches it! That fabric looks like a bear to work with, but what a clever style choice. I would never have thougth to do this style up in a fabric like that and I love the look. Maybe with some practicing it will be workable in the future. I hope you get a chance to try the Slinky Girl sizes sometime, I think you'll enjoy them much more. Thanks for the review!
1/24/06 9:50 AM
jemgirlca said...
Sorry this didn't work for you. I've had the same problems with the GG, but have had success anyway. I'm looking forward to trying a SG pattern.
1/24/06 11:00 AM
PhyllisC said...
I'm also coming to the conclusion that HP patterns seem a bit challenging if you wear a petite size. I've been working out my own fitting kinks on the P&S Simple Shirtdress and have the same dilemma with the darts - I look like I could go on tour with Madonna - and my instincts are telling me that petites need to stick with upper chest measurements for most HP styles. So far I've only worked up 2 of their styles though, so don't take this as gospel truth.
1/24/06 12:23 PM
Ann Smith said...
Sorry you're having such trouble. When I first ordered from Hot Patterns I asked Trudy for advice on sizing. I told her I wear a 10 in the Big 4 and always do a FBA for D cup. She said to go with the Slinky Girl for the very reasons you are finding. Even with measurements in the Glamour Girl range and the D cup, if you are petite above the bosum, you need Slinky Girl.
1/24/06 1:04 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the info on sewing the fabric, as well as your pattern information. Interesting on sizing issue for you and the others commenting.
1/25/06 5:54 AM
diane s said...
I really enjoyed your thorough review, I'm between sizes too, but the GG seemed to work out for me if I take in the shoulders about a half inch. If you like this style, you might try Silhouettes Nancy Blouse 450, it's very similar and has different front pieces for a full bust, I had good results after a few false starts.
1/28/06 9:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Thank you everyone for your feedback. Next HP will be a Slinky. Everyones feedback here and PM is encouraging.
1/29/06 8:24 AM
Cre8tv said...
I found this pattern (and other hot patterns) very difficult to fit. I basically had to overlay a fitting blouse pattern with darts to modify the body. I also lengthened the sleeves 2", took out a lot of the flare at the sleeve bottom, and took about 2 " out of the center! Once I got the pattern to fit, it turned out nice. I made this pattern in a burnt orange silk with a green beaded trim embellishment around the neck. It's very handsome, but what an ordeal.
2/21/06 6:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 1915

photo
by: halleyscom...

Review
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now