SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> Woodstock Tunic (Woodstock Tunic)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1534 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 199
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 186
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/06 7:07 AM
Last Updated:1/24/06 7:07 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cre8tv said...
I found this pattern (and other hot patterns) very difficult to fit. I basically had to overlay a fitting blouse pattern with darts to modify the body. I also lengthened the sleeves 2", took out a lot of the flare at the sleeve bottom, and took about 2 " out of the center! Once I got the pattern to fit, it turned out nice. I made this pattern in a burnt orange silk with a green beaded trim embellishment around the neck. It's very handsome, but what an ordeal.
2/21/06 6:31 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Thank you everyone for your feedback. Next HP will be a Slinky. Everyones feedback here and PM is encouraging.
1/29/06 8:24 AM
diane s said...
I really enjoyed your thorough review, I'm between sizes too, but the GG seemed to work out for me if I take in the shoulders about a half inch. If you like this style, you might try Silhouettes Nancy Blouse 450, it's very similar and has different front pieces for a full bust, I had good results after a few false starts.
1/28/06 9:58 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the info on sewing the fabric, as well as your pattern information. Interesting on sizing issue for you and the others commenting.
1/25/06 5:54 AM
Ann Smith said...
Sorry you're having such trouble. When I first ordered from Hot Patterns I asked Trudy for advice on sizing. I told her I wear a 10 in the Big 4 and always do a FBA for D cup. She said to go with the Slinky Girl for the very reasons you are finding. Even with measurements in the Glamour Girl range and the D cup, if you are petite above the bosum, you need Slinky Girl.
1/24/06 1:04 PM
PhyllisC said...
I'm also coming to the conclusion that HP patterns seem a bit challenging if you wear a petite size. I've been working out my own fitting kinks on the P&S Simple Shirtdress and have the same dilemma with the darts - I look like I could go on tour with Madonna - and my instincts are telling me that petites need to stick with upper chest measurements for most HP styles. So far I've only worked up 2 of their styles though, so don't take this as gospel truth.
1/24/06 12:23 PM
jemgirlca said...
Sorry this didn't work for you. I've had the same problems with the GG, but have had success anyway. I'm looking forward to trying a SG pattern.
1/24/06 11:00 AM
beangirl said...
Well, we've discussed the smaller size before and I think this one clinches it! That fabric looks like a bear to work with, but what a clever style choice. I would never have thougth to do this style up in a fabric like that and I love the look. Maybe with some practicing it will be workable in the future. I hope you get a chance to try the Slinky Girl sizes sometime, I think you'll enjoy them much more. Thanks for the review!
1/24/06 9:50 AM
Lisette said...
Besides the sizing issues, you picked a fabric that is just awful to work with. I made a skirt with a similar fabric and do not plan to put myself through the aggravation again. I think going smaller is the right thing to do. Good luck.
1/24/06 8:44 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Linda, I found that starting with Slinky and then adjusting the bust worked for me on my HPs. In the patchouli dress, I had to use a 3/8" seam on the armscye and upper arm as well. PhyllisC ran into the same dart issue you mention, so you might want to ask her about that. -Ann
1/24/06 7:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 7854

photo
by: lamstu

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now