Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: Woodstock Tunic (Woodstock Tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1528 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 195
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 182
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/06 7:07 AM
Last Updated:1/24/06 7:07 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Linda, I found that starting with Slinky and then adjusting the bust worked for me on my HPs. In the patchouli dress, I had to use a 3/8" seam on the armscye and upper arm as well. PhyllisC ran into the same dart issue you mention, so you might want to ask her about that. -Ann
1/24/06 7:34 AM
Lisette said...
Besides the sizing issues, you picked a fabric that is just awful to work with. I made a skirt with a similar fabric and do not plan to put myself through the aggravation again. I think going smaller is the right thing to do. Good luck.
1/24/06 8:44 AM
beangirl said...
Well, we've discussed the smaller size before and I think this one clinches it! That fabric looks like a bear to work with, but what a clever style choice. I would never have thougth to do this style up in a fabric like that and I love the look. Maybe with some practicing it will be workable in the future. I hope you get a chance to try the Slinky Girl sizes sometime, I think you'll enjoy them much more. Thanks for the review!
1/24/06 9:50 AM
jemgirlca said...
Sorry this didn't work for you. I've had the same problems with the GG, but have had success anyway. I'm looking forward to trying a SG pattern.
1/24/06 11:00 AM
PhyllisC said...
I'm also coming to the conclusion that HP patterns seem a bit challenging if you wear a petite size. I've been working out my own fitting kinks on the P&S Simple Shirtdress and have the same dilemma with the darts - I look like I could go on tour with Madonna - and my instincts are telling me that petites need to stick with upper chest measurements for most HP styles. So far I've only worked up 2 of their styles though, so don't take this as gospel truth.
1/24/06 12:23 PM
Ann Smith said...
Sorry you're having such trouble. When I first ordered from Hot Patterns I asked Trudy for advice on sizing. I told her I wear a 10 in the Big 4 and always do a FBA for D cup. She said to go with the Slinky Girl for the very reasons you are finding. Even with measurements in the Glamour Girl range and the D cup, if you are petite above the bosum, you need Slinky Girl.
1/24/06 1:04 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the info on sewing the fabric, as well as your pattern information. Interesting on sizing issue for you and the others commenting.
1/25/06 5:54 AM
diane s said...
I really enjoyed your thorough review, I'm between sizes too, but the GG seemed to work out for me if I take in the shoulders about a half inch. If you like this style, you might try Silhouettes Nancy Blouse 450, it's very similar and has different front pieces for a full bust, I had good results after a few false starts.
1/28/06 9:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Thank you everyone for your feedback. Next HP will be a Slinky. Everyones feedback here and PM is encouraging.
1/29/06 8:24 AM
Cre8tv said...
I found this pattern (and other hot patterns) very difficult to fit. I basically had to overlay a fitting blouse pattern with darts to modify the body. I also lengthened the sleeves 2", took out a lot of the flare at the sleeve bottom, and took about 2 " out of the center! Once I got the pattern to fit, it turned out nice. I made this pattern in a burnt orange silk with a green beaded trim embellishment around the neck. It's very handsome, but what an ordeal.
2/21/06 6:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's 5634
photo
Review by fabeins on 4/26/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Winter PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Winter PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2700
photo
Review by Diana M on 2/17/09
Read Review

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1373 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1373 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1474 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5-6-6X )
Simplicity 1474 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5-6-6X )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us