Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2005-102 (Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1180 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Meguiar
photo
About Meguiarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/23/04
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/06 9:04 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
What a stunningly successful skirt.
1/24/06 9:11 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful
1/24/06 9:44 AM
zeoplum said...
I usually try to come up with something original in my comments, but I just HAVE to repeat Cathy's word: Stunning! It really is!
1/24/06 9:52 AM
Nickle said...
Your skirt looks fabulous on you!
1/24/06 9:54 AM
Cambric Tea said...
Yes, it's lovely and the serged hem is great. I totally support you, if you decide not to finish the hem. :)
1/24/06 9:57 AM
jacalhoun said...
I wasn't too wild about this pattern in the magazine, because their seams looked ugly and wavy to me (I'm one to talk! lol) but yours is gorgeous and VERY well-done. I might have to reconsider it.
1/24/06 10:01 AM
jemgirlca said...
Gorgeous!
1/24/06 10:04 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very elegant, LOVE the lines on this one. The serged hem came out beautifully.
1/24/06 10:30 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Perfection! Very flattering on you, Mary.
1/24/06 10:44 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
What a nice way to feminize a masculine fabric: perfect for ladies work wear. It fits you well, too. Great work.
1/24/06 11:13 AM
sew2little said...
This is a spectacular skirt--great fit, great look!
1/24/06 11:19 AM
Levone said...
Your skirt looks great. Funny, I didn't notice the serged hem until you mentioned it. I think it looks fine as is.
1/24/06 11:26 AM
Amelie said...
Gorgeous!! The skirt looks really good on you. I've seen the serged hem treatment (in green thread) on a brown-plaid Etro suit and liked it so much that I tore the photo out of my magazine to save. Your skirt hangs so nicely -- you might want to consider leaving it as is.
1/24/06 11:32 AM
SweetT said...
Wow! What an absolutely wonderful skirt. Great job!
1/24/06 12:14 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Fabulous skirt. This is a pattern I've had my eye on for some time some. Your's turned out beautifully.
1/24/06 12:16 PM
PegL said...
Great skirt!! Leave the hem as is! Looks fantastic on you!
1/24/06 12:24 PM
sylvia988 said...
I love your skirt, It's gorgeous!
1/24/06 12:41 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great skirt. Love the serged hem with the tweed fabric.
1/24/06 12:57 PM
Mlle Laura said...
I really like you skirt!
1/24/06 1:23 PM
els said...
Great skirt .
1/24/06 2:06 PM
casken said...
Very nice.
1/24/06 2:43 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
That skirt has great lines, and you wear it well Mary.
1/24/06 2:56 PM
Princess Jenny said...
Adorable skirt, and it fits you so nicely. :) Beautiful!
1/24/06 3:13 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I love that skirt.
1/24/06 5:05 PM
BeckyC said...
Your skirt is a classic -- beautiful!
1/24/06 6:20 PM
2ndHnd Rose said...
I love your skirt and you look terrific in it
1/24/06 7:00 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like the skirt. Very flattering
1/25/06 5:19 AM
MarilynB said...
What a lovely skirt. It looks great on you.
1/25/06 6:55 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love it Mary, your skirt is so beautiful! -Ann
1/25/06 8:43 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I have just reviewed this skirt as well. Mine is completely different. Love yours!! I think I will need to make it up now in something more like yours.
5/26/06 8:34 AM
yummymummy38 said...
I'm making this in red/black/white geometric patterned ?herringbone polyviscose and girls in my sewing class admired the style. How exciting to come home and see it on PR. I adjusted it for a CB seam and invisible zip and used a facing, not a waistband. I almost left the hem serged too, maybe next time...
6/5/06 10:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

EvaDress E40-6111
photo
Review by lauramae on 3/17/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5714
photo
Review by Pinkhibisc... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5160 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 5160 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1612 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1612 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us