Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 675 (Mani's Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1860 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 11 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:jewelea
photo
Friend of PR
About jeweleastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/06 2:06 PM
Last Updated:1/28/06 2:17 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
touran said...
Very good looking top. I hadn't seen this pattern before and I really like the asymmetric closing.
1/28/06 2:51 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review -- it must be a new top, I've never seen it before. I really like it & will put it on my "wish list".
1/28/06 3:41 PM
BeckyC said...
Very lovely blouse and very helpful review.
1/28/06 3:55 PM
PegL said...
Pretty blouse! Thanks for the review as I had wondered about this pattern!
1/28/06 4:32 PM
Elona said...
Very handsome. Your photo shows detail that the pattern illustration doesn't.
1/28/06 5:31 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great style - I'll have to look for that pattern.
1/28/06 7:03 PM
BjP said...
This is a very nice looking blouse in a style I really like. Nice job, thanks for the details.
1/28/06 9:44 PM
Pam Z said...
Very attractive blouse. The pattern suggests that you can make it out of most any fabric...Do you agree? Thanks for the helpful review!
1/29/06 1:13 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful top! Thank you for the information on the sleeves. Good review.
1/29/06 5:55 AM
Jane S said...
Thanks for posting this lovely top. I agree that your photo shows some details, like those shoulder seams, that are't always clear on the pattern pictures. I like Peggy's patterns but I too recommend making a muslin, especially for the shoulder area. I've found them wide for my narrow shoulders
1/29/06 9:12 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice looking jacket. I'm surprised this is the 1st review on this pattern. Great information - thanks.
1/29/06 9:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty top. Love the fabric and rich color.
1/29/06 10:36 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Jewelea, question for you - the pattern photo shows the neckline as an asymetical V shape cornered at the top button, but the pattern line drawing and your photo show a more circular shape. I am considering buying this one, would like to know which it really is. Thanks!
1/29/06 11:33 AM
jewelea said...
To Luckylibbet, the right (overlapping) pattern piece is fairly straight across the top. I redrew it into a more scooped shape. And to Pam Z, yes, you can probably use a variety of fabrics, but as I said, on a thickish fabric, use a thinner fabric for the facing. Also, on a fabric with less body than the one I used, you might want to use light stay tape on the right, overlapping edge as it is partially on the bias, but I'm not sure if that would be necessary or not. I didn't have a problem with it. There is no interfacing called for in the pattern directions, nor did I use any.
1/29/06 12:03 PM
SewLimited said...
Nice top, good to see it made up. I got the pattern to use antique buttons down the front.
1/29/06 8:29 PM
Luckylibbet said...
jewelea, thanks for the info - I loved the v effect of the neckline, so will purchase today. I have a lovely light rayon in my stash, so will also use the advise on the stay tape. Thanks!
1/30/06 8:04 AM
Mobycat said...
Your blouse is beautiful. I finished my 2nd muslin today. Lines are very faint on the pattern and I think this is main reason 1st muslin didn't fit. Made 7w second time. Fits perfectly in shoulders. I ending up putting in bust darts which seemed kind of weird since it has princess seams; but it did look better. (6w with C cup was too tight.) Also added curve to the side seams for a less boxy look. Also understiched the front & back facings rather than topstiching. Still haven't decided if I'm going to wear it....I'll go back and look at it in a few days.
8/25/07 7:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-28
photo
Review by MelissaB i... on 2/11/08
Read Review

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5298
photo
Review by nommh on 2/3/09
Read Review

McCalls 6814 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6814 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us