Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8020 (Plan C) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1800 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Re Becca
photo
Friend of PR
About Re Beccastarstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/12/05
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/06 11:08 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kwpanthermom said...
WOW, brilliant! YOU GO GIRL!
1/29/06 11:14 PM
Kristen said...
It is fantastic!!! Love it!! Almost forgot, giggled thru the bong comment...
1/29/06 11:23 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Take *that*, evil fabric gods. Fabulouso ReBecca!
1/29/06 11:26 PM
PegL said...
Love the dress! Love the fun review!!!
1/29/06 11:53 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Wow. You're a firecracker! I would have crawled into a ball at the break-in. Great work and great save after save. And a highly entertaining review!
1/30/06 0:11 AM
CarolynD said...
Very pretty dress, the formal look is just lovely. look. I like your choice of fabric, and it looks really nice on you. How clever you are to lengthen it that way. I'm glad your assisant is ok, and sorry he ripped the crinoline! I am sorry you had a break in too.
1/30/06 0:26 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I enjoyed reading your review. Not only was it funny but inspirational too. And the best part is that I think your outfit is fantastic.
1/30/06 0:41 AM
Nickle said...
Your gown is stunning on you, enjoyed your review.
1/30/06 4:31 AM
Chris Kelly said...
beautiful!!!! Just love it!
1/30/06 6:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
What a fascinating saga with such a happy outcome. The dress is lovely and unique.
1/30/06 6:56 AM
Susan Dryer said...
Wonderful ensemble! Tres chic! Your review was such fun to read! Thanks.
1/30/06 7:57 AM
Mollykat said...
The power of positive thinking is beautiful, isn't it? Written or thought of more negatively, you may have had a multitude of problems and a complete wadder at the the end. Instead you have a fantastically funny story, a gorgeous dress, and (I'm guessing) lots of people thinking "I wish I'd thought of that!" Great job!
1/30/06 8:31 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Way to stick with it. It looks lovely on you!
1/30/06 9:06 AM
Anne Frances said...
I am really impressed - by your resilience and your creativity. And the final result looks really very high couture! Definitely impressive dressing! So sorry about the break-in but you are real lesson in how to survive. Thanks
1/30/06 9:53 AM
casken said...
I love it! You did a great job. Thank you for your review.
1/30/06 12:15 PM
NoraNora said...
well, after all that it certainly turned out beautifully! Congratulations on foiling the angry fabric gods! and what a fun read!
1/30/06 1:09 PM
AnneM said...
Definitely design elements. Lovely; I have to say I like your final version better than the original. And what determination, despite all of your set-backs. Congratulations both on your dress (which in the original view really does look like the original pattern) and your resiliency.
1/30/06 1:17 PM
Dellen said...
I genuinely prefer Plan B (or is it C or D?) to Plan A, even though that was pretty too. Really love the dress, and you look like a million bucks in it! Congrats on swift thinking and a great save...
1/30/06 3:11 PM
jenniferpa said...
Lovely job, great story.
1/30/06 4:09 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful dress! What a sewing adventure but with lovely results.
1/30/06 4:54 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I LOVE the final result. What a great pic of you and DH!
1/31/06 0:53 AM
Kathryn said...
Wow, wow, oh wow, ReBecca! What an enjoyable review, and seeing the photo at the end was the best icing on a cake that I've had in a long while. You took that dress up a notch, IMHO! I hope you have the opportunity to wear it again--and soon!
2/1/06 10:46 AM
ClaireC said...
Breathtaking! I want that dress. You did a fantastic job making lemonade from lemons. I'll bet you were the Belle of the Ball.
2/4/06 4:36 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
Absolutely beautiful!!! You make a stunning couple!
2/5/07 9:31 PM
KathleenS said...
This is great! I missed it at the time. Well done overcoming all those obstacles.
3/28/08 5:10 PM
Princess Amy Grace said...
This dress is beautiful, and your review is so much fun to read!
3/31/08 11:51 PM
jojoeffe said...
Brilliant review - not only informative but hilarious.
6/11/08 2:45 AM
Princess Amy Grace said...
A gorgeous dress and a fun review, thanks!
8/22/08 11:38 PM
velosewer said...
Geez you're dress looks great. I love how you worked that dress to suit you, rather than the other way around. Well done.
8/27/08 4:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 2958
photo
Review by mysticotal... on 3/22/14
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3374 Shirts & Pants
photo
Review by Erin D on 6/28/10
Read Review

Butterick 5480 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5480 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1819 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1819 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us