Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
KnipMode Magazine: 8/2005 (Gathered V-neck #9a) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1062 times 100 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Katharine in BXL
photo
About Katharine in BXLstar
Member since: 8/1/03
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/06 9:23 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
elizajo said...
Cute top! The gathering and v-neck band are very flattering. I wish there was a comparable pattern from a U.S. company.
2/4/06 9:41 AM
BeckyC said...
Very cute top, it looks great on you! I'm happy you pressed on, especially with the help of Karla and Ardis.
2/4/06 9:43 AM
mamakooz said...
Cute top! Looks great on you!
2/4/06 10:22 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I love this top Katharine, and I was *just* contemplating this very thing last night. How timely!! Thank you, thank you!
2/4/06 10:24 AM
Debbie Cook said...
P.S. I can't see the two pattern photos, getting a "Page Not Found."
2/4/06 10:28 AM
Frogstitcher said...
This is a great looking top. Thanks for the tips and ideas in your review.
2/4/06 10:30 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oh no, Debbie! I'll go back and fix it (and the 2 other reviews I posted today)
2/4/06 10:53 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks beautiful with the gathering. Karla and Ardis are always very helpful. I especially like the color with your hair color.
2/4/06 10:58 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks Katharine -- I can see them now.
2/4/06 11:06 AM
touran said...
Very pretty. It's such a cool detail.
2/4/06 11:53 AM
seKimberlyso said...
WOW! Great Job.
2/4/06 12:10 PM
bunz said...
Looks great! Thanks for the tip on altering another pattern.
2/4/06 12:44 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Very cute and classic top ... I see this as a wardrobe staple with lots of pssibilities!
2/4/06 1:06 PM
Sewliz said...
That looks very nice! I like the gathers coming from the binding. Your top is better than the magazine's.
2/4/06 4:11 PM
KathleenS said...
As soon as I saw your project photo, I thought what a current style this is. Thanks for the tips on DIY.
2/4/06 5:43 PM
Kira R said...
Absolutely lovely ... I have a RTW just like this in rayon jersey, very comfortable. Wore it into fadedom. Wish we could get KnipMode as easily as Burda WOF :)
2/4/06 6:47 PM
kv said...
Gevaldige, Katharine!
2/4/06 8:15 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Kira, what a good idea. I added that info in. Thanks everyone else! Lorna, I should make this into a staple. It's a fun staple at that.
2/5/06 1:33 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Very cute top, Katharine...I love red! Thanks for the "credit", but I think you're the one who really figured this out. I actually imagined that the band on the V-neck ran further down the front, so you could run those gathers down lower [like right between the twins]. It's fun to see this top we were talking about.

I like to gather by zigzagging over a 'string' too...for future reference, it doesn't have to be gimp. It can be thin crochet yarn/thread, or thin string, or even dental floss. A few strands of regular sewing thread twisted together would work too. I use the widest and longest zigzag stitch on my machine [4mm by 4mm].
2/6/06 9:40 AM

Katharine in BXL said...
Ardis, I can find dental floss here easily, so I'll try that gathering method! :)
2/26/06 8:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8776 Misses Cape
photo
Review by valkyrie01 on 11/23/13
Read Review

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Professional Shears
10 inch Professional Shears

Details
Price: $69.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7834 Blouse
photo
Review by yoshimi on 4/15/09
Read Review

Vogue 8950 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8950 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1614 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1614 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us