SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> KnipMode Magazine> 8/2005 (Gathered V-neck #9a)

100 more reviews
Viewed 1062 times 
Reviewed by:Katharine in BXL
photo

 
 
About Katharine in BXLstar
Member since: 8/1/03
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/06 9:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Katharine in BXL said...
Ardis, I can find dental floss here easily, so I'll try that gathering method! :)
2/26/06 8:17 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Very cute top, Katharine...I love red! Thanks for the "credit", but I think you're the one who really figured this out. I actually imagined that the band on the V-neck ran further down the front, so you could run those gathers down lower [like right between the twins]. It's fun to see this top we were talking about.

I like to gather by zigzagging over a 'string' too...for future reference, it doesn't have to be gimp. It can be thin crochet yarn/thread, or thin string, or even dental floss. A few strands of regular sewing thread twisted together would work too. I use the widest and longest zigzag stitch on my machine [4mm by 4mm].
2/6/06 9:40 AM

Katharine in BXL said...
Kira, what a good idea. I added that info in. Thanks everyone else! Lorna, I should make this into a staple. It's a fun staple at that.
2/5/06 1:33 AM
kv said...
Gevaldige, Katharine!
2/4/06 8:15 PM
Kira R said...
Absolutely lovely ... I have a RTW just like this in rayon jersey, very comfortable. Wore it into fadedom. Wish we could get KnipMode as easily as Burda WOF :)
2/4/06 6:47 PM
KathleenS said...
As soon as I saw your project photo, I thought what a current style this is. Thanks for the tips on DIY.
2/4/06 5:43 PM
Sewliz said...
That looks very nice! I like the gathers coming from the binding. Your top is better than the magazine's.
2/4/06 4:11 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Very cute and classic top ... I see this as a wardrobe staple with lots of pssibilities!
2/4/06 1:06 PM
bunz said...
Looks great! Thanks for the tip on altering another pattern.
2/4/06 12:44 PM
seKimberlyso said...
WOW! Great Job.
2/4/06 12:10 PM
touran said...
Very pretty. It's such a cool detail.
2/4/06 11:53 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks Katharine -- I can see them now.
2/4/06 11:06 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks beautiful with the gathering. Karla and Ardis are always very helpful. I especially like the color with your hair color.
2/4/06 10:58 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oh no, Debbie! I'll go back and fix it (and the 2 other reviews I posted today)
2/4/06 10:53 AM
Frogstitcher said...
This is a great looking top. Thanks for the tips and ideas in your review.
2/4/06 10:30 AM
Debbie Cook said...
P.S. I can't see the two pattern photos, getting a "Page Not Found."
2/4/06 10:28 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I love this top Katharine, and I was *just* contemplating this very thing last night. How timely!! Thank you, thank you!
2/4/06 10:24 AM
mamakooz said...
Cute top! Looks great on you!
2/4/06 10:22 AM
BeckyC said...
Very cute top, it looks great on you! I'm happy you pressed on, especially with the help of Karla and Ardis.
2/4/06 9:43 AM
elizajo said...
Cute top! The gathering and v-neck band are very flattering. I wish there was a comparable pattern from a U.S. company.
2/4/06 9:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity Vintage 7482 into Skant

photo
by: lbreton

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-126

photo
by: Kbenco

Review
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now