Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress) thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 1398 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo
About ryan's momstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 128
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/06 7:56 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Very helpful and enjoyable review. I also have this pattern and have been delaying making it for the same sizing issues. Your dress looks great.
1/31/06 8:03 AM
Linda E. said...
love the dress.. your review is enjoyable and well written lots of good informatin here.
1/31/06 9:00 AM
2BSewing said...
A very elegant dress you've made. Love the fabric choice. Enjoyed reading your review with the many helpful tips. You did a great job.
1/31/06 9:16 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Not only do you feel like a million bucks, you look like it too. What a classy looking dress.
1/31/06 10:00 AM
pterion said...
Lovely! It looks fabulous on you! Thanks for a very helpful review.
1/31/06 10:17 AM
BeckyC said...
The dress looks fabulous on you! Thank you for the information about the snug fit in the tummy and hip and how you resolved it. Great job!
1/31/06 10:43 AM
Elona said...
The dress looks terrific. Thanks for the many helpful tip, too.
1/31/06 11:05 AM
Georgene said...
Excellent review. Makes me want this pattern, and that's saying something! I hope you make a few more of these. EOS has a great 4 way stretch rayon double knit that would be faaabulous in this.
1/31/06 11:16 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful dress. Thanks for all the helpful fitting tips.
1/31/06 12:29 PM
sewbee73 said...
Thank you for explaining your modifications to flatter a mommy belly; I have one too...sigh. I've been wanting this pattern for a while now and went ahead and bought it after reading your review!
1/31/06 1:24 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Yes! I agree. An elegant dress and great fitting advice. Thank you!
1/31/06 1:50 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Hey bring on the cheese! :) It looks great on you!
1/31/06 1:53 PM
Lori Sews said...
Wonderful review and wonderful dress!
1/31/06 11:34 PM
KitnRose said...
Beautiful! Isn't this just the best dress pattern ever? And if I have four kids, I just hope and pray I look one-tenth as fabulous as you.
2/1/06 2:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a great review and so very helpful. You look great in the dress and the model stance just says "I look good and I know it". You should be proud as you created a lovely dress with great fit. I say make more of those for yourself.
2/1/06 5:27 AM
AnneM said...
It's a plot to get me to buy this pattern, having 2 reviews on it in short order. Lovely dress. I like your pose, being so similar to the pattern picture. Good info on swayback, tight hips, and other adjustments I also might have to make!
2/1/06 5:37 AM
LiZ said...
ryan's mom, Thanks for your very informative review, your dress is beautiful. Is this pattern sized for stretch knits only?
2/1/06 8:24 PM
ryan's mom said...
knitter, yes it is sized for stretch knits only. Thanks everyone for the kind words. It's the first dress I've *loved* in a long time.
2/2/06 2:39 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
This is beautiful and I think I may have enough nerve to try it after your excellent detailed review. You have a great figure and the dress is awesome on you!
2/3/06 0:12 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2007-03: short sleeve
photo
Review by hongkongsh... on 11/17/07
Read Review

Simplicity 1885 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1885 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3921 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 3921 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1247 Rachel co Mey
photo
Review by fabricepip... on 2/29/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us