SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1398 times 
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo

 
 
About ryan's momstarstarstar
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/06 7:56 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Very helpful and enjoyable review. I also have this pattern and have been delaying making it for the same sizing issues. Your dress looks great.
1/31/06 8:03 AM
Linda E. said...
love the dress.. your review is enjoyable and well written lots of good informatin here.
1/31/06 9:00 AM
2BSewing said...
A very elegant dress you've made. Love the fabric choice. Enjoyed reading your review with the many helpful tips. You did a great job.
1/31/06 9:16 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Not only do you feel like a million bucks, you look like it too. What a classy looking dress.
1/31/06 10:00 AM
pterion said...
Lovely! It looks fabulous on you! Thanks for a very helpful review.
1/31/06 10:17 AM
BeckyC said...
The dress looks fabulous on you! Thank you for the information about the snug fit in the tummy and hip and how you resolved it. Great job!
1/31/06 10:43 AM
Elona said...
The dress looks terrific. Thanks for the many helpful tip, too.
1/31/06 11:05 AM
Georgene said...
Excellent review. Makes me want this pattern, and that's saying something! I hope you make a few more of these. EOS has a great 4 way stretch rayon double knit that would be faaabulous in this.
1/31/06 11:16 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful dress. Thanks for all the helpful fitting tips.
1/31/06 12:29 PM
sewbee73 said...
Thank you for explaining your modifications to flatter a mommy belly; I have one too...sigh. I've been wanting this pattern for a while now and went ahead and bought it after reading your review!
1/31/06 1:24 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Yes! I agree. An elegant dress and great fitting advice. Thank you!
1/31/06 1:50 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Hey bring on the cheese! :) It looks great on you!
1/31/06 1:53 PM
Lori Sews said...
Wonderful review and wonderful dress!
1/31/06 11:34 PM
KitnRose said...
Beautiful! Isn't this just the best dress pattern ever? And if I have four kids, I just hope and pray I look one-tenth as fabulous as you.
2/1/06 2:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a great review and so very helpful. You look great in the dress and the model stance just says "I look good and I know it". You should be proud as you created a lovely dress with great fit. I say make more of those for yourself.
2/1/06 5:27 AM
AnneM said...
It's a plot to get me to buy this pattern, having 2 reviews on it in short order. Lovely dress. I like your pose, being so similar to the pattern picture. Good info on swayback, tight hips, and other adjustments I also might have to make!
2/1/06 5:37 AM
LiZ said...
ryan's mom, Thanks for your very informative review, your dress is beautiful. Is this pattern sized for stretch knits only?
2/1/06 8:24 PM
ryan's mom said...
knitter, yes it is sized for stretch knits only. Thanks everyone for the kind words. It's the first dress I've *loved* in a long time.
2/2/06 2:39 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
This is beautiful and I think I may have enough nerve to try it after your excellent detailed review. You have a great figure and the dress is awesome on you!
2/3/06 0:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 8663

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now