SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1398 times 
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ryan's momstarstarstar
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/06 7:56 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
This is beautiful and I think I may have enough nerve to try it after your excellent detailed review. You have a great figure and the dress is awesome on you!
2/3/06 0:12 AM
ryan's mom said...
knitter, yes it is sized for stretch knits only. Thanks everyone for the kind words. It's the first dress I've *loved* in a long time.
2/2/06 2:39 PM
LiZ said...
ryan's mom, Thanks for your very informative review, your dress is beautiful. Is this pattern sized for stretch knits only?
2/1/06 8:24 PM
AnneM said...
It's a plot to get me to buy this pattern, having 2 reviews on it in short order. Lovely dress. I like your pose, being so similar to the pattern picture. Good info on swayback, tight hips, and other adjustments I also might have to make!
2/1/06 5:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a great review and so very helpful. You look great in the dress and the model stance just says "I look good and I know it". You should be proud as you created a lovely dress with great fit. I say make more of those for yourself.
2/1/06 5:27 AM
KitnRose said...
Beautiful! Isn't this just the best dress pattern ever? And if I have four kids, I just hope and pray I look one-tenth as fabulous as you.
2/1/06 2:34 AM
Lori Sews said...
Wonderful review and wonderful dress!
1/31/06 11:34 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Hey bring on the cheese! :) It looks great on you!
1/31/06 1:53 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Yes! I agree. An elegant dress and great fitting advice. Thank you!
1/31/06 1:50 PM
sewbee73 said...
Thank you for explaining your modifications to flatter a mommy belly; I have one too...sigh. I've been wanting this pattern for a while now and went ahead and bought it after reading your review!
1/31/06 1:24 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful dress. Thanks for all the helpful fitting tips.
1/31/06 12:29 PM
Georgene said...
Excellent review. Makes me want this pattern, and that's saying something! I hope you make a few more of these. EOS has a great 4 way stretch rayon double knit that would be faaabulous in this.
1/31/06 11:16 AM
Elona said...
The dress looks terrific. Thanks for the many helpful tip, too.
1/31/06 11:05 AM
BeckyC said...
The dress looks fabulous on you! Thank you for the information about the snug fit in the tummy and hip and how you resolved it. Great job!
1/31/06 10:43 AM
pterion said...
Lovely! It looks fabulous on you! Thanks for a very helpful review.
1/31/06 10:17 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Not only do you feel like a million bucks, you look like it too. What a classy looking dress.
1/31/06 10:00 AM
2BSewing said...
A very elegant dress you've made. Love the fabric choice. Enjoyed reading your review with the many helpful tips. You did a great job.
1/31/06 9:16 AM
Linda E. said...
love the dress.. your review is enjoyable and well written lots of good informatin here.
1/31/06 9:00 AM
Lisette said...
Very helpful and enjoyable review. I also have this pattern and have been delaying making it for the same sizing issues. Your dress looks great.
1/31/06 8:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 05-2006-24

photo
by: miho555

Review
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

More Info
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

More Info