SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1103 (Skirt Wardrobe)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1181 times 
Reviewed by:Melanie Dahms
photo

 
 
About Melanie Dahmsstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/02 10:59 PM
Last Updated:9/26/02 11:01 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Sounds great, Melanie. You've replaced the long-loved friend, and can now wear it for the rest of your life if you want. Thanks for the review, it's good to know about the measurements.
9/27/02 1:44 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you for your review, Melanie, it will be very helpful when I get around to making this pattern. The skirt sounds great, we'd all love to see a pic sometime.
9/27/02 9:14 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
So glad you have a replacement for your lost skirt "friend". That the pattern measurement is the garment measurement surprises me, given that is not stated on the pattern envelope. VERY helpful to know that before using the pattern.
9/27/02 5:49 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've made all three of the skirts in this trio, and the fit of the four-gore one tripped me up completely the first time I made it (in non-stretch denim). I had to give the skirt away. The second time I made the four-gore skirt in cotton/lycra, and it looks great. The two-gore and six-gore skirts don't have the same problem with fit, and it's so wonderful to be able to produce a really wearable skirt with a couple of hours. The only thing they lack is pocket!
9/27/02 10:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have made up the two and four gore skirts more times than I can count..easy together and great fit..the six gore I made in a very soft rayon challis..a lot of skirt for me.I am in danger of wearing the 2 and 4 gore pattern out.
9/28/02 2:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Everyday Sewist said...
Thanks for your thorough review. I am making this skirt for someone with a full high hip. Thank goodness I measured the pattern before cutting! I was wondering about that elastic topstitching too. It's good to know I don't necessarily have to do that.
2/26/03 5:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 5351

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Simplicity 9966

photo
by: queenlathe...

Review
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now