SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Trumpet Skirt (Mekong River Trumpet Skirt)

Viewed 1805 times 
Reviewed by:julieb
photo

 
 
About juliebstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/28/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/06 6:48 PM
Last Updated:2/1/06 10:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
elizajo said...
Thanks for the thorough directions on the godets. Beautiful job!
2/1/06 7:50 PM
NoraNora said...
I ,love how this looks in a striped fabric! Thanks for the great review!
2/1/06 8:35 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Beautiful! Can we see a picture on you?
2/1/06 8:55 PM
julieb said...
Lorna: I'll see if I can get a picture while wearing the skirt. In the meantime I noticed that the wrong picture was in the featured spot. I've posted one of the entire skirt now.
2/1/06 10:36 PM
carolynD43 said...
what a helpful review!
2/2/06 5:23 AM
Nickle said...
Very nice skirt, love the pattern. Thanks for all the info on the godets.
2/2/06 7:40 AM
Kerry O said...
That's a beautiful skirt! I bet it looks great on you. :)
2/2/06 8:25 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Pretty skirt and good review.
2/2/06 10:52 AM
Elsy said...
When you say that all the fullness happens at knee level and below - does this leave enough room above the knee to walk etc in comfort? Thanks.
2/2/06 12:57 PM
julieb said...
Elsy: This is no problem. The godets actually start about mid-thigh but they don't get wide enough to add visual fullness until fairly low on the skirt.
2/2/06 1:13 PM
Susan R said...
Very pretty skirt. I had never heard of this company, so thanks for bringing it to our attention.
2/2/06 3:51 PM
Diana M said...
VERY nice review -- amazing that a godet skirt is recommended for beginners, but your instructions look wonderful. And the stripes look just lovely.
2/2/06 5:02 PM
Mufffet said...
This great. I am about to make a godet skirt and I just thought I would read th edirections and do it, so your review is just the thing to make me realize it is more than I thought! I will give it a try and see what happens.
3/12/06 4:11 PM
Neefer said...
Thanks for the godet details. I'm making a skirt w/godets, and I wanted to do construction like this. All the references tell one to sew the 2 side panels together first.
8/25/06 11:03 AM
Hilary said...
Thanks for the thorough and helpful review! This is a really pretty skirt!
10/4/07 8:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Burda 7866

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-107

photo
by: lbreton

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now