SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4028 (Princess-line jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1333 times 
Reviewed by:julieb
photo

 
 
About juliebstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/28/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/06 7:25 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
twistedangel said...
I really love the fabric choices. Good job on construction as well. :-)
2/1/06 7:28 PM
Tarawebster said...
WOW! Your jacket is simply stunning. I love the combination of fabric colors that you used. It looks like it belongs in the pages of a fashion magazine. Thanks for the great review and the inspiratio!
2/1/06 7:29 PM
Riordan said...
This jacket is beautiful!! Wow!!! I have the pattern--unused. I'm going to cut it out this weekend. You have inspired me. Thanks for sharing your beautiful work and writing such a helpful review.
2/1/06 7:34 PM
seKimberlyso said...
Great job. Looks so expensive.
2/1/06 7:43 PM
elizajo said...
Lovely fabric choices. You have an artistic talent for combining fabrics.
2/1/06 7:52 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Wow, that's really really lovely. Your fabric combo is terrific. The red bands on the sleeves are my favorite part!
2/1/06 8:13 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely. Your fabric combination is striking.
2/1/06 8:18 PM
jlg said...
What a great jacket. I really like your color combinations.
2/1/06 8:45 PM
Lori Sews said...
Beautiful and unique.
2/1/06 9:32 PM
AndSewOn said...
How lovely! Wish I were your DMIL.
2/1/06 9:35 PM
TarheelSewer said...
It's absolutely gorgeous!!!!
2/1/06 9:40 PM
Juli_et said...
beautiful!!!
2/1/06 9:55 PM
Re Becca said...
Cool! Love the colors. You make the pattern envelope look so boring!
2/1/06 10:08 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very, very impressive! Looks so uptown...whoda thunk it was a Butterick? ;)
2/1/06 10:48 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is gorgeous and the combinations of fabric is stunning. Very nice.
2/2/06 0:01 AM
Georgene said...
Great pattern, I love the versatitlity of all the looks presented on the envelope. Your version is very nice, and shows off the silhouette well.
2/2/06 0:06 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the fabric combinations. Lovely jacket.
2/2/06 5:23 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely! I love your use of color and fabric on this jacket.
2/2/06 6:32 AM
Jane S said...
Julie, it's absolutely breathtaking, something out of a high end boutique. What a wonderful job and thoughtful gift.
2/2/06 7:57 AM
BeckyC said...
Breathtaking jacket! Love the fabric combinations. Thank you for the comments on the pattern sizing.
2/2/06 8:33 AM
AnneM said...
Sharp.
2/2/06 8:37 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I have never been good at saving the best until last so I always open the pictures for the reviews from the front page. My initial reaction when you popped up was, "That is just so good!" You did a wonderful job combining fabrics, with shape, and details.
2/2/06 8:39 AM
pterion said...
Really special and beautifully done. What a good daughter-in-law you are!
2/2/06 9:55 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Love how this looks. It appears to have no closure though so I wondered if you just left off the buttons or is that the pattern?
2/2/06 11:00 AM
MarilynB said...
You changed the look of this jacket so much with your fabric choices. It's lovely. This pattern sounds like a keeper.
2/2/06 11:11 AM
Jan B. said...
Love your rendition of this pattern. It now goes on my "wish list." Thank you for your comments on fit.
2/2/06 11:23 AM
julieb said...
Glenda wrote: It appears to have no closure though so I wondered if you just left off the buttons or is that the pattern? Hi Glenda. This jacket is supposed to meet at CF with no overlap and close with hidden hooks/eyes or frogs. One view has a tie closure. All of the views seem to close at the waist with the jacket spreading open below that point at CF.
2/2/06 11:27 AM
Queendom said...
Great review, I'm buying the pattern and adding you to my favorite reviewers. We obviously have the same taste in clothes.
2/2/06 1:02 PM
Cambric Tea said...
What a great interpretation of a pattern! Awesome!
2/2/06 8:24 PM
hongkongshopper said...
The jacket is just gorgeous! I love your combination of fabric. The water lily one is just divine!
2/3/06 1:20 AM
Ann Smith said...
I love your interpretation of this jacket. The red trim and slanted pockets really create a flattering look.
2/4/06 6:43 PM
layla said...
Interesting use of your fabric.. it's beautiful ... thank you for this review (and all those small pieces of fabric I have ...hmm)
2/10/06 6:54 PM
redsquid said...
What a beautiful gift - great use of fabric, with the large print and placement of the red flowers. ~Linda (redsquid)
6/12/06 10:05 AM
Stitchology said...
I have the same fabric from Mekong and was considering this jacket for it. I have a different red from there and a different black multi, so we would still have unique garments. Thanks for the encouraging review.
10/11/06 4:02 PM
Restart06 said...
Very beautiful!!!! Great job!!!
11/30/08 9:03 PM
Elle D said...
Still stunning! I'm looking for this pattern and your review came up in a google search, I'll bet the envelope picture is nowhere near as beautiful.
1/28/10 10:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Contest 509-1020

photo
by: twotoast

Review
McCall's 4548

photo
by: Mint Choco...

Review
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now