Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4028 (Princess-line jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1333 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:julieb
photo
About juliebstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/28/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/06 7:25 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
twistedangel said...
I really love the fabric choices. Good job on construction as well. :-)
2/1/06 7:28 PM
Tarawebster said...
WOW! Your jacket is simply stunning. I love the combination of fabric colors that you used. It looks like it belongs in the pages of a fashion magazine. Thanks for the great review and the inspiratio!
2/1/06 7:29 PM
Riordan said...
This jacket is beautiful!! Wow!!! I have the pattern--unused. I'm going to cut it out this weekend. You have inspired me. Thanks for sharing your beautiful work and writing such a helpful review.
2/1/06 7:34 PM
seKimberlyso said...
Great job. Looks so expensive.
2/1/06 7:43 PM
elizajo said...
Lovely fabric choices. You have an artistic talent for combining fabrics.
2/1/06 7:52 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Wow, that's really really lovely. Your fabric combo is terrific. The red bands on the sleeves are my favorite part!
2/1/06 8:13 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely. Your fabric combination is striking.
2/1/06 8:18 PM
jlg said...
What a great jacket. I really like your color combinations.
2/1/06 8:45 PM
Lori Sews said...
Beautiful and unique.
2/1/06 9:32 PM
AndSewOn said...
How lovely! Wish I were your DMIL.
2/1/06 9:35 PM
TarheelSewer said...
It's absolutely gorgeous!!!!
2/1/06 9:40 PM
Juli_et said...
beautiful!!!
2/1/06 9:55 PM
Re Becca said...
Cool! Love the colors. You make the pattern envelope look so boring!
2/1/06 10:08 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very, very impressive! Looks so uptown...whoda thunk it was a Butterick? ;)
2/1/06 10:48 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is gorgeous and the combinations of fabric is stunning. Very nice.
2/2/06 0:01 AM
Georgene said...
Great pattern, I love the versatitlity of all the looks presented on the envelope. Your version is very nice, and shows off the silhouette well.
2/2/06 0:06 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the fabric combinations. Lovely jacket.
2/2/06 5:23 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely! I love your use of color and fabric on this jacket.
2/2/06 6:32 AM
Jane S said...
Julie, it's absolutely breathtaking, something out of a high end boutique. What a wonderful job and thoughtful gift.
2/2/06 7:57 AM
BeckyC said...
Breathtaking jacket! Love the fabric combinations. Thank you for the comments on the pattern sizing.
2/2/06 8:33 AM
AnneM said...
Sharp.
2/2/06 8:37 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I have never been good at saving the best until last so I always open the pictures for the reviews from the front page. My initial reaction when you popped up was, "That is just so good!" You did a wonderful job combining fabrics, with shape, and details.
2/2/06 8:39 AM
pterion said...
Really special and beautifully done. What a good daughter-in-law you are!
2/2/06 9:55 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Love how this looks. It appears to have no closure though so I wondered if you just left off the buttons or is that the pattern?
2/2/06 11:00 AM
MarilynB said...
You changed the look of this jacket so much with your fabric choices. It's lovely. This pattern sounds like a keeper.
2/2/06 11:11 AM
Jan B. said...
Love your rendition of this pattern. It now goes on my "wish list." Thank you for your comments on fit.
2/2/06 11:23 AM
julieb said...
Glenda wrote: It appears to have no closure though so I wondered if you just left off the buttons or is that the pattern? Hi Glenda. This jacket is supposed to meet at CF with no overlap and close with hidden hooks/eyes or frogs. One view has a tie closure. All of the views seem to close at the waist with the jacket spreading open below that point at CF.
2/2/06 11:27 AM
Queendom said...
Great review, I'm buying the pattern and adding you to my favorite reviewers. We obviously have the same taste in clothes.
2/2/06 1:02 PM
Cambric Tea said...
What a great interpretation of a pattern! Awesome!
2/2/06 8:24 PM
hongkongshopper said...
The jacket is just gorgeous! I love your combination of fabric. The water lily one is just divine!
2/3/06 1:20 AM
Ann Smith said...
I love your interpretation of this jacket. The red trim and slanted pockets really create a flattering look.
2/4/06 6:43 PM
layla said...
Interesting use of your fabric.. it's beautiful ... thank you for this review (and all those small pieces of fabric I have ...hmm)
2/10/06 6:54 PM
redsquid said...
What a beautiful gift - great use of fabric, with the large print and placement of the red flowers. ~Linda (redsquid)
6/12/06 10:05 AM
Stitchology said...
I have the same fabric from Mekong and was considering this jacket for it. I have a different red from there and a different black multi, so we would still have unique garments. Thanks for the encouraging review.
10/11/06 4:02 PM
Restart06 said...
Very beautiful!!!! Great job!!!
11/30/08 9:03 PM
Elle D said...
Still stunning! I'm looking for this pattern and your review came up in a google search, I'll bet the envelope picture is nowhere near as beautiful.
1/28/10 10:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Butterick 5173
photo
Review by didda on 5/30/08
Read Review

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Keyka Lou Curvy Clutch
photo
Review by FJT on 5/2/12
Read Review

Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9447 Pattern
Burda 9447 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us