Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cynthia Guffey Patterns: 5010 (Shawl Collar Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1651 times
Review rated Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:julieb
photo
About juliebstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/28/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/06 7:46 PM
Last Updated:2/1/06 10:32 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
Lovely.
2/1/06 7:55 PM
TarheelSewer said...
I love your jacket. The darts radiating from the armhole give it a vintage look. Very nice!
2/1/06 8:05 PM
PegL said...
Your jacket is fantastic!! I love it! Thanks for the good review too!
2/1/06 8:27 PM
LBJ said...
Very nice. Thanks for bringing this pattern to my attention, I love it.
2/1/06 8:56 PM
Annie- oh said...
This IS a beautifully styled jacket. Thanks for the review - and enjoy wearing it!
2/1/06 8:56 PM
sewfan said...
Very cute jacket! Love the fabric!!! Pam
2/1/06 9:06 PM
Lori Sews said...
Very pretty.
2/1/06 9:31 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Great looking jacket.
2/1/06 9:37 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket. Wow, a month with Cynthia Guffey, that must have been incredible.
2/1/06 10:22 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful little jacket in elegant fabric! The darts are lovely, and your sleeves are perfect.
2/1/06 10:23 PM
julieb said...
LoriV: You caught my typo -- a WEEK with Cynthia is what I spent. That, too, was spectacular.
2/1/06 10:32 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What an unusual pattern and I love the curved darts starting in the armsyce. It really shapes up this jacket to fit so well.
2/2/06 0:05 AM
Nickle said...
Great fitted jacket, I bet it looks nice on. Like the collar contrast.
2/2/06 6:43 AM
Jane S said...
What a wonderfully versatile jacket that you can dress up or wear casually. Thanks for such a thorough review also.
2/2/06 8:02 AM
BeckyC said...
I love the curved darts on the jacket and the fabric choice for the collar. Beautiful! Thank you for the review.
2/2/06 8:31 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. I like the darts; they look very classy. What is the yardage requirements for this pattern? I have some short yardage of a silk/wool blend that might work nicely with this pattern...
2/2/06 8:35 AM
julieb said...
Hi Anne: Am sending you a PM with these details but thought I would share with others, too: Here's the yardage for the CG jacket: Size 6,8,10 2-1/8 yard (45"); 1-1/2 yard (60") Size 12,14,16 2-3/8 yard (45"); 1-5/8 yard (60") Size 18,20,22 2-1/2 yard (45"); 1-3/4 yard (60") This assumes the collar is cut from the same fabric. I used less of the base fabric since I cut my collar from contrast.
2/2/06 9:17 AM
rosephreak said...
This is lovely. Thank you so much for providing alternate views and closeups. It really helps to see what you did. I like the contrasting collar. Nice choice of fabrics.
2/2/06 9:22 AM
kwpanthermom said...
Unique pattern with those darts, vintagey and yet somehow modern at the same time. Great fabric choices and nice work.
2/2/06 10:02 AM
Peggy said...
What a lovely jacket!
2/2/06 11:58 AM
Queendom said...
Love it! I did the muslin when I was with Cynthia last September and had very little to alter as well. It's in the line-up to be made out of red raw silk. Great job, I didn't even think of a contrast collar! I can see all kinds of fabrics used for this jacket.
2/2/06 12:56 PM
julieb said...
Queendom: We'll expect a picture and review when you get it finished! Thanks for the nice comments here and on another of my reviews (and to everyone else, too).
2/2/06 1:15 PM
Liana said...
What a pretty jacket! Looks like a great pattern. Lucky you to get to sew with Cynthia. Have you made other patterns of hers?
2/2/06 1:54 PM
LorelleD said...
Nice Jacket. I like the interesting darts. good review. thankyou.
2/2/06 4:00 PM
PixieCat said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love the collar fabric detail!
2/2/06 4:22 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice jacket. The contrast collar is very attractive.
2/3/06 1:09 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
thanks for the review and the extra pics. I love this jacket, have had the pattern but haven't made it. . . I think I was secretly intimidated that I wouldn't come up to Cynthia's standards! You have inspired me.
2/3/06 1:56 AM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket. I took some seminar with Cynthia this past weekend. Your week must have been fantastic!
2/13/06 10:43 PM
AngieC said...
I love your version of the jacket and the fabric!
9/7/06 10:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 5838
photo
Review by rubbecca on 7/29/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )
Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-102
photo
Review by elily00 on 11/30/09
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6187 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6187 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2902 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2902 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us