SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Cynthia Guffey Patterns> 5010 (Shawl Collar Jacket)

Viewed 1656 times 
Reviewed by:julieb
photo

 
 
About juliebstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/28/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/06 7:46 PM
Last Updated:2/1/06 10:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
Lovely.
2/1/06 7:55 PM
TarheelSewer said...
I love your jacket. The darts radiating from the armhole give it a vintage look. Very nice!
2/1/06 8:05 PM
PegL said...
Your jacket is fantastic!! I love it! Thanks for the good review too!
2/1/06 8:27 PM
LBJ said...
Very nice. Thanks for bringing this pattern to my attention, I love it.
2/1/06 8:56 PM
Annie- oh said...
This IS a beautifully styled jacket. Thanks for the review - and enjoy wearing it!
2/1/06 8:56 PM
sewfan said...
Very cute jacket! Love the fabric!!! Pam
2/1/06 9:06 PM
Lori Sews said...
Very pretty.
2/1/06 9:31 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Great looking jacket.
2/1/06 9:37 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket. Wow, a month with Cynthia Guffey, that must have been incredible.
2/1/06 10:22 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful little jacket in elegant fabric! The darts are lovely, and your sleeves are perfect.
2/1/06 10:23 PM
julieb said...
LoriV: You caught my typo -- a WEEK with Cynthia is what I spent. That, too, was spectacular.
2/1/06 10:32 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What an unusual pattern and I love the curved darts starting in the armsyce. It really shapes up this jacket to fit so well.
2/2/06 0:05 AM
Nickle said...
Great fitted jacket, I bet it looks nice on. Like the collar contrast.
2/2/06 6:43 AM
Jane S said...
What a wonderfully versatile jacket that you can dress up or wear casually. Thanks for such a thorough review also.
2/2/06 8:02 AM
BeckyC said...
I love the curved darts on the jacket and the fabric choice for the collar. Beautiful! Thank you for the review.
2/2/06 8:31 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. I like the darts; they look very classy. What is the yardage requirements for this pattern? I have some short yardage of a silk/wool blend that might work nicely with this pattern...
2/2/06 8:35 AM
julieb said...
Hi Anne: Am sending you a PM with these details but thought I would share with others, too: Here's the yardage for the CG jacket: Size 6,8,10 2-1/8 yard (45"); 1-1/2 yard (60") Size 12,14,16 2-3/8 yard (45"); 1-5/8 yard (60") Size 18,20,22 2-1/2 yard (45"); 1-3/4 yard (60") This assumes the collar is cut from the same fabric. I used less of the base fabric since I cut my collar from contrast.
2/2/06 9:17 AM
rosephreak said...
This is lovely. Thank you so much for providing alternate views and closeups. It really helps to see what you did. I like the contrasting collar. Nice choice of fabrics.
2/2/06 9:22 AM
kwpanthermom said...
Unique pattern with those darts, vintagey and yet somehow modern at the same time. Great fabric choices and nice work.
2/2/06 10:02 AM
Peggy said...
What a lovely jacket!
2/2/06 11:58 AM
Queendom said...
Love it! I did the muslin when I was with Cynthia last September and had very little to alter as well. It's in the line-up to be made out of red raw silk. Great job, I didn't even think of a contrast collar! I can see all kinds of fabrics used for this jacket.
2/2/06 12:56 PM
julieb said...
Queendom: We'll expect a picture and review when you get it finished! Thanks for the nice comments here and on another of my reviews (and to everyone else, too).
2/2/06 1:15 PM
Liana said...
What a pretty jacket! Looks like a great pattern. Lucky you to get to sew with Cynthia. Have you made other patterns of hers?
2/2/06 1:54 PM
LorelleD said...
Nice Jacket. I like the interesting darts. good review. thankyou.
2/2/06 4:00 PM
PixieCat said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love the collar fabric detail!
2/2/06 4:22 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice jacket. The contrast collar is very attractive.
2/3/06 1:09 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
thanks for the review and the extra pics. I love this jacket, have had the pattern but haven't made it. . . I think I was secretly intimidated that I wouldn't come up to Cynthia's standards! You have inspired me.
2/3/06 1:56 AM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket. I took some seminar with Cynthia this past weekend. Your week must have been fantastic!
2/13/06 10:43 PM
AngieC said...
I love your version of the jacket and the fabric!
9/7/06 10:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 1187 (Vintage)

photo
by: sugarduck

Review
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now