SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Cynthia Guffey Patterns> 5010 (Shawl Collar Jacket)

Viewed 1657 times 
Reviewed by:julieb
photo

 
 
About juliebstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/28/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/06 7:46 PM
Last Updated:2/1/06 10:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
Lovely.
2/1/06 7:55 PM
TarheelSewer said...
I love your jacket. The darts radiating from the armhole give it a vintage look. Very nice!
2/1/06 8:05 PM
PegL said...
Your jacket is fantastic!! I love it! Thanks for the good review too!
2/1/06 8:27 PM
LBJ said...
Very nice. Thanks for bringing this pattern to my attention, I love it.
2/1/06 8:56 PM
Annie- oh said...
This IS a beautifully styled jacket. Thanks for the review - and enjoy wearing it!
2/1/06 8:56 PM
sewfan said...
Very cute jacket! Love the fabric!!! Pam
2/1/06 9:06 PM
Lori Sews said...
Very pretty.
2/1/06 9:31 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Great looking jacket.
2/1/06 9:37 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket. Wow, a month with Cynthia Guffey, that must have been incredible.
2/1/06 10:22 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful little jacket in elegant fabric! The darts are lovely, and your sleeves are perfect.
2/1/06 10:23 PM
julieb said...
LoriV: You caught my typo -- a WEEK with Cynthia is what I spent. That, too, was spectacular.
2/1/06 10:32 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What an unusual pattern and I love the curved darts starting in the armsyce. It really shapes up this jacket to fit so well.
2/2/06 0:05 AM
Nickle said...
Great fitted jacket, I bet it looks nice on. Like the collar contrast.
2/2/06 6:43 AM
Jane S said...
What a wonderfully versatile jacket that you can dress up or wear casually. Thanks for such a thorough review also.
2/2/06 8:02 AM
BeckyC said...
I love the curved darts on the jacket and the fabric choice for the collar. Beautiful! Thank you for the review.
2/2/06 8:31 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. I like the darts; they look very classy. What is the yardage requirements for this pattern? I have some short yardage of a silk/wool blend that might work nicely with this pattern...
2/2/06 8:35 AM
julieb said...
Hi Anne: Am sending you a PM with these details but thought I would share with others, too: Here's the yardage for the CG jacket: Size 6,8,10 2-1/8 yard (45"); 1-1/2 yard (60") Size 12,14,16 2-3/8 yard (45"); 1-5/8 yard (60") Size 18,20,22 2-1/2 yard (45"); 1-3/4 yard (60") This assumes the collar is cut from the same fabric. I used less of the base fabric since I cut my collar from contrast.
2/2/06 9:17 AM
rosephreak said...
This is lovely. Thank you so much for providing alternate views and closeups. It really helps to see what you did. I like the contrasting collar. Nice choice of fabrics.
2/2/06 9:22 AM
kwpanthermom said...
Unique pattern with those darts, vintagey and yet somehow modern at the same time. Great fabric choices and nice work.
2/2/06 10:02 AM
Peggy said...
What a lovely jacket!
2/2/06 11:58 AM
Queendom said...
Love it! I did the muslin when I was with Cynthia last September and had very little to alter as well. It's in the line-up to be made out of red raw silk. Great job, I didn't even think of a contrast collar! I can see all kinds of fabrics used for this jacket.
2/2/06 12:56 PM
julieb said...
Queendom: We'll expect a picture and review when you get it finished! Thanks for the nice comments here and on another of my reviews (and to everyone else, too).
2/2/06 1:15 PM
Liana said...
What a pretty jacket! Looks like a great pattern. Lucky you to get to sew with Cynthia. Have you made other patterns of hers?
2/2/06 1:54 PM
LorelleD said...
Nice Jacket. I like the interesting darts. good review. thankyou.
2/2/06 4:00 PM
PixieCat said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love the collar fabric detail!
2/2/06 4:22 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice jacket. The contrast collar is very attractive.
2/3/06 1:09 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
thanks for the review and the extra pics. I love this jacket, have had the pattern but haven't made it. . . I think I was secretly intimidated that I wouldn't come up to Cynthia's standards! You have inspired me.
2/3/06 1:56 AM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket. I took some seminar with Cynthia this past weekend. Your week must have been fantastic!
2/13/06 10:43 PM
AngieC said...
I love your version of the jacket and the fabric!
9/7/06 10:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now