SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6838 (nightgown)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1572 times 
Reviewed by:Cathy Loves Fabric
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Cathy Loves Fabricstar
USA
Member since: 4/16/04
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/06 2:40 PM
Last Updated:6/28/06 1:33 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Runrover said...
Cathy; what a beautiful gown. The color and fit look very nice. I think I'll have to pick up this pattern.
2/2/06 3:12 PM
Mamashea said...
that is just lovely I really like the neckline the fabric is gorgeous.
2/2/06 4:02 PM
mastdenman said...
I like the gown. I agree, the fabric is just wonderful.
2/2/06 4:14 PM
bunz said...
Kudos to you for sticking with it and ending up w a such apretty gown. Good review.
2/2/06 6:16 PM
luvzdogz said...
Flannel-backed satin! Wow! never seen it but it sounds wonderful and so cozy! What a beautiful nightie!
2/2/06 6:34 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful gown - I always liked red for a gown.
2/2/06 10:39 PM
NoraNora said...
Wow, it looks warm and sexy! Now that's a hard combo to achieve...but you've done it! Great gown for Valentine's Day!
2/3/06 2:38 AM
melgosews said...
What a great pattern! Looks nice in red on you. I love the tucks and neckline.
2/3/06 7:14 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very pretty. Love the color on you! Looks like you did a great job of grading the pattern for a perfect fit.
2/3/06 7:23 AM
AnneM said...
Go figure; you just never know what you will find at JoAnns. I have a very similar (older) Butterick nightgown pattern that is in UFO status for me. Yours came out very nicely. Good job on your grading.
2/3/06 9:19 AM
Jane S said...
You definitely made what you were looking for, that cool weather nightgown that's not frumpy looking. Love the neckline and color and bravo to you for not losng faith that you could do it!
2/3/06 10:25 AM
sherri2sew said...
Pretty gown. I love sweetheart necklines. Your gown looks like it came from one of those pricely lingerie specialty shops! edited to add: you can RECOVER from perfectionism??????
2/3/06 11:10 AM
touran said...
What a stunning color. The neckline is beautiful and it looks so good on you.
2/3/06 1:49 PM
coquerel said...
verry lovely dress romantic satin , the best
2/21/06 5:37 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I agree plus sized night gowns especially for us shorties are impossible to find. Your solution in this pattern worked out beautifully. I love it.
3/5/06 2:02 AM
StitchQueen101 said...
It does look sexy! The fabric and that beautiful neckline are fabulous!
5/7/06 10:13 AM
Princess Jenny said...
What beautiful nightgowns. The summer material is gorgeous! It shimmers and the ribbon used for the bow just makes it look even more romantic. The matching panties are a great idea, too!
6/28/06 11:11 AM
ReneeSews said...
I love the fabric for version 2 is it the green flannel back satin? Green is my favorite color. Love the nighty, I agree granny gowns are out! Would love to see version 2 on you. Thank you for the reply on the fabric, I thought it looked sheer, lol. Lovely, just lovely!
6/28/06 11:12 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I hope you and DH have a good time on your trip. That nightie turned out very pretty. That pattern is really working for you, maybe I need it too. What pattern did you use for the panties?
6/28/06 11:29 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Pretty, Pretty, Pretty, Cathy!
6/28/06 11:41 AM
mastdenman said...
Love the flannelback satin. The green ones look nice too. I made some pull-on pj pants out of that red flannelback.
6/28/06 1:06 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I edited my review to add that the fabric is a somewhat sheer rayon which is why there is no picture of me wearing this nightgown. Sherril, I started with Kwik Sew 2930 for the style of the panties but had to go all the way down to a size 8 to get the right fit. I used KS 2100 for the sizing. Maybe I should review them too.
6/28/06 1:41 PM
Rhoda K said...
Both gowns are just gorgeous! Great review.
6/28/06 1:45 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Another winner Cathy! Thanks for showing us version 2.
6/28/06 1:59 PM
wvsher said...
Your summer gown is gorgeous. Love the fabric!
6/28/06 2:48 PM
Elemenopeo said...
The green gown is beautiful too.
6/28/06 5:27 PM
hejest said...
Where I am in Canada the satin is called "cuddle soft satin" sold through Fabricland. It's very often sold in many RTW stores around Christmas and is very popular. It's fantastic for jammies too!
7/1/06 8:58 PM
ereader said...
Is there a picture of the gown somewhere? I'd love to see it, but cannot find it.
1/3/13 6:23 PM
ereader said...
Is there a picture of the gown somewhere? I'd love to see it, but cannot find it.
1/3/13 6:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6608

photo
by: ladyithis

Review