Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6838 (nightgown) thumbsup - Type:Sleepwear    printable version
Viewed 1569 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Cathy Loves Fabric
photo
Friend of PR
About Cathy Loves Fabricstar
USA
Member since: 4/16/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/06 2:40 PM
Last Updated:6/28/06 1:33 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Runrover said...
Cathy; what a beautiful gown. The color and fit look very nice. I think I'll have to pick up this pattern.
2/2/06 3:12 PM
Mamashea said...
that is just lovely I really like the neckline the fabric is gorgeous.
2/2/06 4:02 PM
mastdenman said...
I like the gown. I agree, the fabric is just wonderful.
2/2/06 4:14 PM
bunz said...
Kudos to you for sticking with it and ending up w a such apretty gown. Good review.
2/2/06 6:16 PM
luvzdogz said...
Flannel-backed satin! Wow! never seen it but it sounds wonderful and so cozy! What a beautiful nightie!
2/2/06 6:34 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful gown - I always liked red for a gown.
2/2/06 10:39 PM
NoraNora said...
Wow, it looks warm and sexy! Now that's a hard combo to achieve...but you've done it! Great gown for Valentine's Day!
2/3/06 2:38 AM
melgosews said...
What a great pattern! Looks nice in red on you. I love the tucks and neckline.
2/3/06 7:14 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very pretty. Love the color on you! Looks like you did a great job of grading the pattern for a perfect fit.
2/3/06 7:23 AM
AnneM said...
Go figure; you just never know what you will find at JoAnns. I have a very similar (older) Butterick nightgown pattern that is in UFO status for me. Yours came out very nicely. Good job on your grading.
2/3/06 9:19 AM
Jane S said...
You definitely made what you were looking for, that cool weather nightgown that's not frumpy looking. Love the neckline and color and bravo to you for not losng faith that you could do it!
2/3/06 10:25 AM
sherri2sew said...
Pretty gown. I love sweetheart necklines. Your gown looks like it came from one of those pricely lingerie specialty shops! edited to add: you can RECOVER from perfectionism??????
2/3/06 11:10 AM
touran said...
What a stunning color. The neckline is beautiful and it looks so good on you.
2/3/06 1:49 PM
coquerel said...
verry lovely dress romantic satin , the best
2/21/06 5:37 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I agree plus sized night gowns especially for us shorties are impossible to find. Your solution in this pattern worked out beautifully. I love it.
3/5/06 2:02 AM
StitchQueen101 said...
It does look sexy! The fabric and that beautiful neckline are fabulous!
5/7/06 10:13 AM
Princess Jenny said...
What beautiful nightgowns. The summer material is gorgeous! It shimmers and the ribbon used for the bow just makes it look even more romantic. The matching panties are a great idea, too!
6/28/06 11:11 AM
ReneeSews said...
I love the fabric for version 2 is it the green flannel back satin? Green is my favorite color. Love the nighty, I agree granny gowns are out! Would love to see version 2 on you. Thank you for the reply on the fabric, I thought it looked sheer, lol. Lovely, just lovely!
6/28/06 11:12 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I hope you and DH have a good time on your trip. That nightie turned out very pretty. That pattern is really working for you, maybe I need it too. What pattern did you use for the panties?
6/28/06 11:29 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Pretty, Pretty, Pretty, Cathy!
6/28/06 11:41 AM
mastdenman said...
Love the flannelback satin. The green ones look nice too. I made some pull-on pj pants out of that red flannelback.
6/28/06 1:06 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I edited my review to add that the fabric is a somewhat sheer rayon which is why there is no picture of me wearing this nightgown. Sherril, I started with Kwik Sew 2930 for the style of the panties but had to go all the way down to a size 8 to get the right fit. I used KS 2100 for the sizing. Maybe I should review them too.
6/28/06 1:41 PM
Rhoda K said...
Both gowns are just gorgeous! Great review.
6/28/06 1:45 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Another winner Cathy! Thanks for showing us version 2.
6/28/06 1:59 PM
wvsher said...
Your summer gown is gorgeous. Love the fabric!
6/28/06 2:48 PM
Elemenopeo said...
The green gown is beautiful too.
6/28/06 5:27 PM
hejest said...
Where I am in Canada the satin is called "cuddle soft satin" sold through Fabricland. It's very often sold in many RTW stores around Christmas and is very popular. It's fantastic for jammies too!
7/1/06 8:58 PM
ereader said...
Is there a picture of the gown somewhere? I'd love to see it, but cannot find it.
1/3/13 6:23 PM
ereader said...
Is there a picture of the gown somewhere? I'd love to see it, but cannot find it.
1/3/13 6:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1004
photo
Review by pegsewer on 11/11/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1568 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1568 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8646 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8646 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 2 piece tunic
photo
Review by montanachi... on 3/31/11
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Perfect Pouches
Perfect Pouches

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us