SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8263 (Asymmetric jacket)

Viewed 1180 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/06 11:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nikki said...
Thanks everyone! Linda L, yes, the triangular insets are cut on the bias - I bet this would be neat in a stripe or something. I fused the whole jacket with So Sheer, in part because I didn't want any weirdness from the bias panels given that the wool crepe is a relatively loose weave.
2/6/06 5:00 PM
julieb said...
Beautiful job. This pattern has been languishing in my stash for a year now. Time to make it up. Thanks for a helpful review.
2/6/06 9:57 AM
zeoplum said...
Everytime I see your name in the list of reviews, I know I'm most likely going to see a great looking (and usually unique) jacket. And that's exactly what I got this time, too. I always enjoy seeing what you're doing. Thank you for taking the time to share!
2/6/06 0:40 AM
PVA said...
Nikki, your jacket is smashing! I love the lines & it looks just wonderful on you! I'm still plodding along at the tail-end of the class but begining to see some real progress! Your success encourages me to keep on truckin'.
2/5/06 10:58 PM
Deepika said...
wow that jacket is so sharp Nikki.. I love it!
2/5/06 6:36 PM
Sewliz said...
Nice job on the jacket! I like the shape of the closing, reminds me of Armani's suits.
2/5/06 1:21 PM
cindyann said...
What a great jacket! Very flattering on you.
2/5/06 12:40 PM
Frogstitcher said...
This jacket looks very faminine and flattering on you. I'm a sucker for taylored garments and I think this is a pattern I need to add to my collection. I'll be refering to your review when I go to make it up. Thanks for sharing.
2/5/06 11:01 AM
Gillian said...
Another great jacket by Nikki! I really like the color and unique style.
2/5/06 10:55 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Nikki, you make the best jackets & coats!
2/5/06 9:30 AM
AnneM said...
Congrats, Nikki. Nice jacket, great color. And this does look like a flattering style; I might have to consider it. Love the design lines.
2/5/06 9:07 AM
Tiner W said...
Very smart jacket! It looks great on you!
2/5/06 9:00 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great color and shape on you, Nikki. The trim fit is really flattering. Love the triangular inset in the back and your choice of buttons.
2/5/06 8:54 AM
Jane S said...
Nikki, lovely jacket and color. And those beautiful seaming lines are great. It's encouraging ot know, also, that the back triangle wasn't too hard. I think I'd like view B also. My biggest part is right where A cuts across so the open front just points to my large high hip. I believe view B would be a better proportion on me.
2/5/06 8:31 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad to read your review. Saw this made up in Stitches magazine and purchased the pattern. Looks very good on you. The pattern calls for back insert and front to be on bias, did that create any problems for you?
2/5/06 7:41 AM
blue mooney said...
Love the lines, especially in the back! Hope you enjoy it.
2/5/06 7:27 AM
CarolynGM said...
The triangular insets and shape of this jacket are extremely flattering to your figure. Even if you don't make this one again, I think you have found a shape that works for you.
2/5/06 7:01 AM
jlg said...
Very cool jacket. It looks great on you.
2/5/06 6:43 AM
Vivienne said...
Wow, that is some beautiful workmanship. Nice colour too!
2/5/06 1:00 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
I just love the inverted triangle on the back! The teal colour is fabulous on you but understandably hard to match. Covered buttons are always an option, I guess, if you don't mind the way they handle.
2/5/06 0:38 AM
Vonnevo said...
Lovely Nikki :)
2/5/06 0:25 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is beautiful and makes it quite obvious that you are an advanced sewer. The fact that you continue to take classes like the Speed Tailoring is wonderful.
2/4/06 11:58 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful jacket. Love the assymetrical lines.
2/4/06 11:56 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Good one, Nikki. I completely overlooked the great lines in this design until I saw your version. Beautiful color, too.
2/4/06 11:45 PM
drsue said...
This is a really great jacket on you. The lines are just stunning.
2/4/06 11:37 PM
Pam Z said...
I hope you enjoy wearing this jacket, Nikki. The shape is flattering on you!
2/4/06 11:31 PM
MaryBeth said...
Love that color, Nikki. The back lines make your waist look so tiny, woohooo. Nice! Great Pattern.
2/4/06 11:21 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautifully done jacket wow so elegantly tailored looking. Great job! I have this pattern too, love the lines, assymmetry etc.
2/4/06 11:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-130

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

More Info
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

More Info