SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8263 (Asymmetric jacket)

Viewed 1180 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 93 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/06 11:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautifully done jacket wow so elegantly tailored looking. Great job! I have this pattern too, love the lines, assymmetry etc.
2/4/06 11:19 PM
MaryBeth said...
Love that color, Nikki. The back lines make your waist look so tiny, woohooo. Nice! Great Pattern.
2/4/06 11:21 PM
Pam Z said...
I hope you enjoy wearing this jacket, Nikki. The shape is flattering on you!
2/4/06 11:31 PM
drsue said...
This is a really great jacket on you. The lines are just stunning.
2/4/06 11:37 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Good one, Nikki. I completely overlooked the great lines in this design until I saw your version. Beautiful color, too.
2/4/06 11:45 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful jacket. Love the assymetrical lines.
2/4/06 11:56 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is beautiful and makes it quite obvious that you are an advanced sewer. The fact that you continue to take classes like the Speed Tailoring is wonderful.
2/4/06 11:58 PM
Vonnevo said...
Lovely Nikki :)
2/5/06 0:25 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
I just love the inverted triangle on the back! The teal colour is fabulous on you but understandably hard to match. Covered buttons are always an option, I guess, if you don't mind the way they handle.
2/5/06 0:38 AM
Vivienne said...
Wow, that is some beautiful workmanship. Nice colour too!
2/5/06 1:00 AM
jlg said...
Very cool jacket. It looks great on you.
2/5/06 6:43 AM
CarolynGM said...
The triangular insets and shape of this jacket are extremely flattering to your figure. Even if you don't make this one again, I think you have found a shape that works for you.
2/5/06 7:01 AM
blue mooney said...
Love the lines, especially in the back! Hope you enjoy it.
2/5/06 7:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad to read your review. Saw this made up in Stitches magazine and purchased the pattern. Looks very good on you. The pattern calls for back insert and front to be on bias, did that create any problems for you?
2/5/06 7:41 AM
Jane S said...
Nikki, lovely jacket and color. And those beautiful seaming lines are great. It's encouraging ot know, also, that the back triangle wasn't too hard. I think I'd like view B also. My biggest part is right where A cuts across so the open front just points to my large high hip. I believe view B would be a better proportion on me.
2/5/06 8:31 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great color and shape on you, Nikki. The trim fit is really flattering. Love the triangular inset in the back and your choice of buttons.
2/5/06 8:54 AM
Tiner W said...
Very smart jacket! It looks great on you!
2/5/06 9:00 AM
AnneM said...
Congrats, Nikki. Nice jacket, great color. And this does look like a flattering style; I might have to consider it. Love the design lines.
2/5/06 9:07 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Nikki, you make the best jackets & coats!
2/5/06 9:30 AM
Gillian said...
Another great jacket by Nikki! I really like the color and unique style.
2/5/06 10:55 AM
Frogstitcher said...
This jacket looks very faminine and flattering on you. I'm a sucker for taylored garments and I think this is a pattern I need to add to my collection. I'll be refering to your review when I go to make it up. Thanks for sharing.
2/5/06 11:01 AM
cindyann said...
What a great jacket! Very flattering on you.
2/5/06 12:40 PM
Sewliz said...
Nice job on the jacket! I like the shape of the closing, reminds me of Armani's suits.
2/5/06 1:21 PM
Deepika said...
wow that jacket is so sharp Nikki.. I love it!
2/5/06 6:36 PM
PVA said...
Nikki, your jacket is smashing! I love the lines & it looks just wonderful on you! I'm still plodding along at the tail-end of the class but begining to see some real progress! Your success encourages me to keep on truckin'.
2/5/06 10:58 PM
zeoplum said...
Everytime I see your name in the list of reviews, I know I'm most likely going to see a great looking (and usually unique) jacket. And that's exactly what I got this time, too. I always enjoy seeing what you're doing. Thank you for taking the time to share!
2/6/06 0:40 AM
julieb said...
Beautiful job. This pattern has been languishing in my stash for a year now. Time to make it up. Thanks for a helpful review.
2/6/06 9:57 AM
Nikki said...
Thanks everyone! Linda L, yes, the triangular insets are cut on the bias - I bet this would be neat in a stripe or something. I fused the whole jacket with So Sheer, in part because I didn't want any weirdness from the bias panels given that the wool crepe is a relatively loose weave.
2/6/06 5:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Tessuti Lily Linen Dress

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
McCall's 6512

photo
by: KatiMade

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now