Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8263 (Asymmetric jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1179 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/06 11:13 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautifully done jacket wow so elegantly tailored looking. Great job! I have this pattern too, love the lines, assymmetry etc.
2/4/06 11:19 PM
MaryBeth said...
Love that color, Nikki. The back lines make your waist look so tiny, woohooo. Nice! Great Pattern.
2/4/06 11:21 PM
Pam Z said...
I hope you enjoy wearing this jacket, Nikki. The shape is flattering on you!
2/4/06 11:31 PM
drsue said...
This is a really great jacket on you. The lines are just stunning.
2/4/06 11:37 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Good one, Nikki. I completely overlooked the great lines in this design until I saw your version. Beautiful color, too.
2/4/06 11:45 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful jacket. Love the assymetrical lines.
2/4/06 11:56 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is beautiful and makes it quite obvious that you are an advanced sewer. The fact that you continue to take classes like the Speed Tailoring is wonderful.
2/4/06 11:58 PM
Vonnevo said...
Lovely Nikki :)
2/5/06 0:25 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
I just love the inverted triangle on the back! The teal colour is fabulous on you but understandably hard to match. Covered buttons are always an option, I guess, if you don't mind the way they handle.
2/5/06 0:38 AM
Vivienne said...
Wow, that is some beautiful workmanship. Nice colour too!
2/5/06 1:00 AM
jlg said...
Very cool jacket. It looks great on you.
2/5/06 6:43 AM
CarolynGM said...
The triangular insets and shape of this jacket are extremely flattering to your figure. Even if you don't make this one again, I think you have found a shape that works for you.
2/5/06 7:01 AM
blue mooney said...
Love the lines, especially in the back! Hope you enjoy it.
2/5/06 7:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad to read your review. Saw this made up in Stitches magazine and purchased the pattern. Looks very good on you. The pattern calls for back insert and front to be on bias, did that create any problems for you?
2/5/06 7:41 AM
Jane S said...
Nikki, lovely jacket and color. And those beautiful seaming lines are great. It's encouraging ot know, also, that the back triangle wasn't too hard. I think I'd like view B also. My biggest part is right where A cuts across so the open front just points to my large high hip. I believe view B would be a better proportion on me.
2/5/06 8:31 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great color and shape on you, Nikki. The trim fit is really flattering. Love the triangular inset in the back and your choice of buttons.
2/5/06 8:54 AM
Tiner W said...
Very smart jacket! It looks great on you!
2/5/06 9:00 AM
AnneM said...
Congrats, Nikki. Nice jacket, great color. And this does look like a flattering style; I might have to consider it. Love the design lines.
2/5/06 9:07 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Nikki, you make the best jackets & coats!
2/5/06 9:30 AM
Gillian said...
Another great jacket by Nikki! I really like the color and unique style.
2/5/06 10:55 AM
Frogstitcher said...
This jacket looks very faminine and flattering on you. I'm a sucker for taylored garments and I think this is a pattern I need to add to my collection. I'll be refering to your review when I go to make it up. Thanks for sharing.
2/5/06 11:01 AM
cindyann said...
What a great jacket! Very flattering on you.
2/5/06 12:40 PM
Sewliz said...
Nice job on the jacket! I like the shape of the closing, reminds me of Armani's suits.
2/5/06 1:21 PM
Deepika said...
wow that jacket is so sharp Nikki.. I love it!
2/5/06 6:36 PM
PVA said...
Nikki, your jacket is smashing! I love the lines & it looks just wonderful on you! I'm still plodding along at the tail-end of the class but begining to see some real progress! Your success encourages me to keep on truckin'.
2/5/06 10:58 PM
zeoplum said...
Everytime I see your name in the list of reviews, I know I'm most likely going to see a great looking (and usually unique) jacket. And that's exactly what I got this time, too. I always enjoy seeing what you're doing. Thank you for taking the time to share!
2/6/06 0:40 AM
julieb said...
Beautiful job. This pattern has been languishing in my stash for a year now. Time to make it up. Thanks for a helpful review.
2/6/06 9:57 AM
Nikki said...
Thanks everyone! Linda L, yes, the triangular insets are cut on the bias - I bet this would be neat in a stripe or something. I fused the whole jacket with So Sheer, in part because I didn't want any weirdness from the bias panels given that the wool crepe is a relatively loose weave.
2/6/06 5:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

No Pattern Used 00001 JR
photo
Review by jacqui roc... on 1/30/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by Annika on 6/6/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2246 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2246 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1445 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24-26 )
Simplicity 1445 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24-26 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us