Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 34854-1001 - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1183 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:zeoplum
photo
About zeoplumstar
AL USA
Member since: 7/1/05
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/06 9:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BjP said...
I think they look great through the waist and hips, but I think a slimmer leg would be more flattering for you. It's just my preference because I am, like you, not comfortable with full legs, either. I'm not sure if one can ever really get past that! I also think they should be longer, and perhaps a pair of shoes with a higher heel would help you decide just where it should break and give you a longer line. Overall, I do like how your black outfit looks on you, tho..it's my favorite color and you look very nice in it.
2/5/06 9:47 PM
Lori Sews said...
Stephanie, the pants look great, but I know what you mean about the area that is off grain. If I remember correctly I think a lot of one seam pants have this problem with or without your alteration. A more knowledgeable person may know better. I could be wrong. If anything it was a learning experience, and I am sure these will be very comfy, nice lounge pants.
2/5/06 10:28 PM
ClaireC said...
My personal preference is pants as long as I can get away with. I also don't think the legs are too wide as they balance the hips...they are just a bit short (for me)
2/6/06 4:22 AM
librarylady said...
If you like the idea of one-seam pants, I suggest the wonderful Cutting Line Design One Seam Pants. It's a PR favorite. There's a tapered style and pockets!! I'm short so the wider pant legs look a bit iffy, but the tapered style works well and lordy, are they comfortable. See the reviews. HTH. Connie
2/6/06 8:07 AM
mastdenman said...
I really like the pants on you. I've owned one seam pants before and really liked them. If you typically wear a shoe with more heel I would lengthen the pants a little. I believe one seam pants have the grain on the side seam don't they? That would mean that the front and the back are more on a bias. It would seem that the pants would fit a little easier that way.
2/6/06 8:47 AM
linda 75142 said...
Your description sounds like the Lutterloh system--connecting the dots for the pattern.
2/6/06 9:18 AM
Nickle said...
Your pants look nice on you, they look comfy.
2/6/06 9:23 AM
beangirl said...
Yay! Your pants are done! Now let's see... I think they need about 1/2" longer with these shoes. I also think you would get a more flattering fit with the wider leg, but I know it's hard to switch to wide legs when you're used to wearing tapered. I'd make up a pair with the original width out of inexpensive but comfy fabric and wear them for a while to see how it feels. The fit at the back looks really good! It looks like you might need to add slightly to the inseam length too, just a little bit. If you look at the front photo you'll see that they're pulling up a little at the ankle at the inside. All in all, these look pretty darn good!
2/6/06 10:17 AM
seKimberlyso said...
Yeah, FM bundle work! Good job. I would go so far to say nearly another 3/4 to 1 longer. WNTW says, 1/2 from the ground. A slightly wider leg would be more flattering. It slims, elongates and keeps the eye moving up and down, avoid the inverted traingle look taper gives.
2/6/06 10:46 AM
Jane S said...
Zeoplum, I know how hard it is to make that style change from tapered leg to full leg...I want to show off my narrow ankle at least:-) But I think that the full leg is actually flattering in a drapey fabric and at the right length. Yes, I think these sould be a little longer. I heard Louise Cutting, who has her own wonderful one seam pattern, say that one seams are a certain look. For me, they're another wardrobe alternative. I also tend to wear more monochromatic tops and bottoms when I wear my one seams to give me a taller look...and I'm already pretty tall.
2/6/06 11:30 AM
chick3y said...
Tapered legs make a person seem like they are going to topple over with such thin ankles. The wide leg is much more flattering. Go to a store and try on a bunch of wide leg pants to find what width you are comfortable with, then go home and make your pants accordingly. I didn't like wide legs at first, but have found my comfort zone and decided they really are more flatering.
2/6/06 1:31 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I vote for wide leged pants too - you'll never go back! Congratulations on you one seams & the FM bundle use!
2/6/06 8:12 PM
Liane M said...
Thanks for your review. I like to see how things fit people and how different styles work on body types almost as much as how well a specific pattern works. I think your inseam twist problem may be due to directional sewing not the grainline being off. I had this problem on some pants and not others. After hearing Cynthia Guffey's lecture on directional sewing, the lightbulb came on and I have not had this problem again. She teaches that you must sew "with" the grain of the fabric to prevent the grain from being distorted. This sometimes means sewing from the top to the middle and then turning the fabric over and sewing from the other direction to meet in the middle. I also think you need more length. Wider pant legs will be able to take more length. I also recommend that you go shopping and try on several styles to see which one you like. You may be surprised that the fuller leg makes you look longer too.
2/9/06 7:16 AM
Liane M said...
Thanks for your review. I like to see how things fit people and how different styles work on body types almost as much as how well a specific pattern works. I think your inseam twist problem may be due to directional sewing not the grainline being off. I had this problem on some pants and not others. After hearing Cynthia Guffey's lecture on directional sewing, the lightbulb came on and I have not had this problem again. She teaches that you must sew "with" the grain of the fabric to prevent the grain from being distorted. This sometimes means sewing from the top to the middle and then turning the fabric over and sewing from the other direction to meet in the middle. I also think you need more length. Wider legs will be able to take more length. I also recommend that you go shopping and try on several styles to see which one you like. You may be surprised that the fuller leg makes you look longer too.
2/9/06 7:33 AM
Pecan said...
Hey Steph, Love the pantsss you go girl!
2/10/06 9:58 AM
zeoplum said...
Liane, thanks for the feedback but I'm not sure how I could've changed my directional sewing unless you're talking about the inseam. That was all I had sewn before the problem arose. At that point, when I pinned them up for hemming, then they were longer on the outside part of the leg and shorter at the inseam. So, to get them even all the way around, I had to lengthen the inseam area which threw it off grain just in that area. But, to be honest, it really wasn't that much and it certainly wasn't noticeable. My biggest concern was how to alter my pattern so that future cuttings would not have the same problem. I started a thread called "One Seam Pants" under Pattern Modifications to get help with that and I'm still working on it. Thanks!
2/10/06 10:32 AM
Mufffet said...
I think these pants are a bit wide in the leg, but they look very professional because the length is excellent for a very trim professional look. I like dressy pants that lenth on people, and on myself. This seems to be the length career business people are wearing for office these days. I think the black is so chic on you also.
2/18/06 9:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

EvaDress E40-6111
photo
Review by lauramae on 3/17/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5714
photo
Review by Pinkhibisc... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5160 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 5160 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1612 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1612 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us