Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3238 (RTW-Inspired Ruffled Bikini) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 3059 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:SewingSkater
photo
About SewingSkaterstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/06 12:07 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori Sews said...
What a cute swimsuit! It looks so RTW. Great color combo, and I love your ruffle! Thanks for the great instructions and review. You look fantastic Leslie with or without a tan!
2/19/06 12:13 PM
BjP said...
Boy is this ever a cute suit! You look great in it and I love love love the color! I will never again - sigh - be in the market for sewing a swimsuit, but if I was, this would be a great review to refer to!
2/19/06 12:50 PM
Nickle said...
Your suit looks fabulous on you. Love the fabric you chose.
2/19/06 12:57 PM
QuickFade said...
This reminds me so much of a bikini I had in my teen years the seventies in Florida! Very cute. I've progressed to boy bottoms and cropped cami-type swim tops, but your version could motivate me to get in shape! And, you really did a nice job on are instructions "article." Good job!
2/19/06 1:07 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
Lovely swimsuit. I am jealous of the colour, Absolutely love that colour but can't wear it. I look like a corps in it. You, however, pull it off beautifully even without the suntan
2/19/06 1:27 PM
casken said...
I love your swimsuit! It looks very good on you.
2/19/06 1:32 PM
Mariko said...
Thank you for your review and putting details! It look so cute on you, and I am very motivated to make one (not bikini, but tankini) for myself. You did a great job and very inspirational!
2/19/06 1:43 PM
Lynngray said...
Cute suit. Job well done.
2/19/06 2:06 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
WOW!
2/19/06 2:52 PM
kremmer said...
Well done. Looks very "now"!
2/19/06 3:18 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cute! And who cares if you're tan or not with that BOD!
2/19/06 3:32 PM
Mariko said...
Thank you for your review and putting details! It look sooooooooo cute on you, and I am very motivated to make one (not bikini, but tankini) for myself. You did a great job and very inspirational!
2/19/06 3:56 PM
Meguiar said...
Super cute suit! Very flattering on you - the colors are terrific - great job!
2/19/06 4:55 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So cute!! I love the polka dots and the ruffle is the perfect feminine juxtaposition to your lovely athletic figure. Very inspiring. Thanks for the detailed how tos. The swimwear fabric aging in my stash thanks you, too.
2/19/06 5:21 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great suit Leslie! I like how you altered the top; thanks for sharing it too.
2/19/06 6:03 PM
Vonnevo said...
Leslie, a fabulous cute swimsuit. Forget the natural tan and all it's risks, cheat with a bottle of self tanning lotion.
2/19/06 6:16 PM
jemgirlca said...
So cute!
2/19/06 7:41 PM
Judy Williment said...
What a fabulous suit! If you're after a tan, I'll cheerfully give you the sunburn I copped yesterday on a glorious late summer day lying on my deck ;-)
2/19/06 7:52 PM
Levone said...
Very cute suit! I love the color combinations that you used.
2/19/06 9:38 PM
Mely5862 said...

2/19/06 11:13 PM
Mely5862 said...
What a geat job and I like how you always add RTW elements you like. Might be time to upgrade you rating to advanced!
2/19/06 11:14 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice swimsuit. Very helpful information you shared. Looks great on you.
2/20/06 5:23 AM
potter said...
Well, you've done it again! Your design modifications and choice of fabrics are wonderful - and the result is a suit that is absolutely adorable! Thanks for putting together such a wonderful review. Very professional job.
2/20/06 11:55 AM
ryan's mom said...
That is such a nice bathing suit! Makes me very cold though :) . Thanks for including your measurements with the size you used. That is so helpful to me.
2/20/06 8:19 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Fantastic suit, and how nice to have printable ruffles! I'm a M too.
2/21/06 9:53 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Thanks for your review! It looks fab! I just bought this pattern. Do you have to use a coverstich machine to complete this pattern?
3/4/06 12:20 PM
mommietothree0 said...
What is milliskin and where do you find it? Adorable suit! May be the cutest I've seen, even in RTW.
8/8/06 10:52 PM
cocobean said...
You did such a great job with that suit. I am going to try it myself. So far, this is the most useful review that I've read. I sew alot of bathing suits so your tips are really going to make a BIG difference for me. Thanks!
9/8/06 10:05 PM
*Jessica* said...
it looks really nice. very cute/fun too! i was like "where is her picture? i only see the model pic" hehe it is your picture though
11/12/06 5:19 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Wow, thanks for the step by step details! Great review!
1/15/07 5:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

New Look 6557 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by svenskafli... on 6/30/08
Read Review

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6575
photo
Review by ryan's mom on 2/3/13
Read Review

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Details
Price: $89.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6024 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 6024 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us