Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 7221 (skirt & blouse) - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 1374 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:zeoplum
photo
About zeoplumstar
AL USA
Member since: 7/1/05
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/06 1:34 AM
Last Updated:8/15/13 9:15 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Thank you for this review. I have this pattern and was eyeing it for summer stuff. I will probably wrap the garbage with it now. I'm sorry it turned out so badly for you, but you will prevent other folks from having disasters. Good on ya!
2/7/06 2:38 AM
mamakooz said...
The fabric is cute though!!! Thank you for the review. Sorry that it didn't work.
2/7/06 7:40 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I like your fabric choice, and making all 3 pieces to match. Maybe you can take it in and still have an outfit you love.
2/7/06 8:19 AM
Sewliz said...
Hey, I sort of miss the 80's thing, many of the clothes were so comfortable and not all unattractive. Actually I think your outfit looks pretty good for the pattern used. Consider it a useful learning tool for fitting. Bias skirts are great to wear but they do have that initial growing period that foils hemming. Maybe you could trim and re-hem the skirt and wear it with a solid color top? And turn the top into a tank or such to wear with a solid bottom. Yeah, this from a gal who can't dress herself! Love your cute shoes!
2/7/06 8:26 AM
AnneM said...
I love your fabric. The skirt doesn't look too bad. The top looks nice, just huge. And it looks comfy. I got myself one of those chalk-sprayers to mark an even line from the ground (or I get my DH to measure). Of course, you would do this after letting hang overnight or more.
2/7/06 8:31 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
As AnneM said, it's not awful, just ginormous. You have a great attitude though.
2/7/06 9:21 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
We all have done something like this. But - the fabric is cute, why don't you just cut out the fabric you can use and keep that.
2/7/06 10:49 AM
slanden99 said...
I'd probably either use this outfit as scrap fabric or take all the seams in by at least 2 inches. My first patterns had no alterations either, and fit my horribly, but I wore them anyway because I spent so much time on them. Thanks for the reminder to fit first and fit as you go.
2/7/06 1:02 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I really like the fabric, and that sassy look on your face. Let me translate. 2-hour = Very bad fit. I see you learned that lesson. Time to move on to a great fitting, figure flaunting outfit. I can't wait to see what you do next. Thanks for saving the rest of us from this terrible pattern.
2/7/06 4:46 PM
kv said...
Zeo, I have found that the more info the pattern gives you in terms of body measurements, the easier it is to fit. That means that using Burda patterns and checking your measurements against their chart will cut out about 99% of the goof factor. How on earth can we be expected to fit anything without a reference point??? That's why I like Burda. They give it. Try one for yourself and see. Also, they are more close-fitting and that is usually more flattering than the tents or giant gunny sack.
2/7/06 7:24 PM
PJS said...
I love the fabric. I always check the finished garment measurements. I don't know how tall you are, but look for patterns that have petite lines.
2/8/06 0:37 AM
KatyaInMA said...
Looking at the pattern information, I get the impression that it will result in a loose fit. Personally, I like these kinds of clothes for lounging around the house because they are comfortable, while not necessarily the most flattering. You might want to look for patterns that have darts in the top and skirt for a more fitted look. In general, the quick 2 hour patterns don't really have such a precise fit and tend to have lots of ease in them. In any case, I think that if you shorten the sleeves, you have a great outfit to lounge in - so it's really not a wadder.
2/8/06 9:39 AM
LCT56 said...
Your fabric is great, and this outfit is so fixable. If you cut off a few inches at the top of the skirt, make deeper side seams, and then make a new casing for the elastic, it will be really flattering. Then pin the side seams from the hem almost to the sleeve hems so that the top fits much closer. Then mark where you've pinned (with chalk or a light-color pencil), and then sew it on the new lines you've marked. You will only need to remove the hem for a few inches on each side. One idea you may want to try sounds strange, but it really helps to change that "straight across the hips" look of a top. If your top has a little extra fullness at the hip, you can take a credit card or a small Formica countertop sample piece (these are free at Lowe's or Home Depot, hanging on a board in the cabinet department) and put this under your fabric about 2 inches from the bottom and about 5-6 inches from your side seam. Then take an elastic hair band (or even a rubber band) and wrap this around the little rectangular piece until it's tight. This will make the hemline curve upward, and there will be drapey folds of fabric radiating from that point. This sounds complicated, but it looks really neat. I do this a lot with plain cotton T-shirts that are a little too large, and it turns a plain shirt into something that fits and looks better! All of this will probably take you under an hour, and you will have saved your cute fabric and have a really attractive outfit.
2/8/06 10:00 AM
Lori Sews said...
Stephanie, I can't believe I missed this review. The fabric is pretty, and I loved your funny and helpful review. :)
2/8/06 3:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

No Pattern Used Panties copied from RTW
photo
Review by Renren on 2/1/14
Read Review

Blank Slate Hipster Henley Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Hipster Henley Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Ruffled Halter Ruffled Halter
photo
Review by TanitIsis on 7/14/10
Read Review

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7254 Pattern
Burda 7254 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2229 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2229 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us