Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2006-111 (blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1976 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Rowley
photo
About Ann Rowleystarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 9/22/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/06 11:26 AM
Last Updated:2/8/06 2:20 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Ann you probably have to make your album public so that we can all see it. Welcome to PR!
2/8/06 11:31 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Welcome to PR and congrats on your frist review! The shirts sound lovely and I can't wait to see the embellishments you've done. Make sure you update this when you have the photos done as I want to see them ...
2/8/06 11:54 AM
Cambric Tea said...
I can see your pictures and they are beautiful! Your workmanship is awesome and I love your color combinations. Aqua + Butter Yellow = Gorgeous.
2/8/06 11:56 AM
pbrenneraz said...
Ann - a truly lovely blouse, as usual with your work! The addition of the embroidery was perfect! Nice to see you here on PR (I lurk often on SW :-) Patty
2/8/06 11:57 AM
Chris Kelly said...
Congrats on first review! Thank you for reviewing this blouse...I've been thinking of making this one. Can't wait to see pics...sounds beautiful!
2/8/06 12:00 PM
redhead said...
Ann, I have been following your projects over on Sewing World, and I want you to know that you are my newest sewing hero. I also wanted to say that I too was unsure about the high collar stand. After seeing yours, I think that I will like it.
2/8/06 12:01 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Those blouses are perfection. When I grow up, I want to be able to sew like that. Gorgeous embroidery detail, perfect cuffs. Can't believe that you're only just now reviewing a pattern. Shame on you for hiding your skills from us for so long.
2/8/06 12:02 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Hey all, if you click on Burda Magazine info link, that will take you to the Yahoo photo album where you can click through and see the photos
2/8/06 12:21 PM
PegL said...
Beautiful blouse! The embroidery is wonderful! I have the same sewing/embroidery machine as you and now I feel challenged to use the embroidery function more often!
2/8/06 12:28 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Your shirts are very nice. The embroidery is a beautiful touch. Welcome to PR!
2/8/06 12:29 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful :)
2/8/06 12:38 PM
Ann Rowley said...
Thank you all for your welcome and kind comments and especially milwaukee_kelly for letting you know how to view my photos. I've edited and re-edited the ClickHere link with no success - my sewing machine may be an extension of my right arm; my computer is not! Edited to add....I think I've got there finally. Click Here should now work!
2/8/06 2:08 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
for folks who can't see the clickable photo: try the following click on Pattern Information Provided by Ann Rowley. Follow the link to the slide show. Enjoy!
2/8/06 2:14 PM
Elona said...
Beautiful, elegant shirt, Ann! It's such a pleasure to see your work.
2/8/06 2:24 PM
blue mooney said...
Ann, I lurk over on Sewing World and have admired your work. I'm very hopeful to see more of your reviews here on PR!
2/8/06 2:33 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Lovely, feminine, classic shirt and certainly skills for me to aspire. I will check out the placket for an upcoming project. Thank you Ann.
2/8/06 2:45 PM
Nickle said...
I couldn't see the first pic but I seen the 2nd with the emb and it looked so pretty. Well I just scaned through your phots and your blouse looks gorgeous on you. What beautiful work you do.
2/8/06 2:56 PM
Lori Sews said...
Ann, absolutely exquisite. I can only hope to sew so well.
2/8/06 3:06 PM
regine said...
What lovely work. I love all the things you have shown us on your photos.
2/8/06 3:06 PM
Kira R said...
I knew I recognized that beautiful, classy lady ... its Ann from SW! I got nudged back into Burda WOF by looking through your albums several months back. I love your pattern choices, especially Burda 8407. It is lovely to see you here. Think I could talk you into reviewing #119 from 08/2005?
2/8/06 3:15 PM
SewLimited said...
What a classic blouse, I love the higher collar rise.
2/8/06 3:44 PM
CarolynD said...
How beautiful and elegant, I wish I had that level of skill. Very nice. I love the embroiderey.
2/8/06 3:57 PM
Lisette said...
Your blouses are exquisite. I'm planning on making this pattern so thanks for the review.
2/8/06 4:30 PM
Lori V said...
Just beautiful. I too lurk at SW and have often admired your creations. The embroidery is just exquisite
2/8/06 5:02 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely classic blouse.
2/8/06 5:26 PM
Sewliz said...
How very lovely, I like your version of the blouse. You are so stylish, I am inspired!
2/8/06 5:28 PM
Lynngray said...
WOW, just beautiful. Your workmanship is wonderful also
2/8/06 6:38 PM
CarolynGM said...
I enjoyed your slide show so much that I watched it twice. You have excellent taste and superb skills. I look forward to many more of your reviews.
2/8/06 7:45 PM
touran said...
Ann - what fabulous work you do. I also took advantage of your yahoo photo diaries. I hope you won't be offended if I 'borrow' a handful of your wonderful details.
2/8/06 8:11 PM
MaryBeth said...
Very nice blouses, Ann. Your mention of the pattern's 2 piece sleeves and placket in one seam got my interest. But I just love looking at your embroidery and fine sewing. Thanks!
2/8/06 8:26 PM
Riordan said...
Truly lovely blouses with impeccable workmanship. A joy to see your artistry--more, please!
2/8/06 9:06 PM
Leora said...
Welcome to PR. Your embroidery is fresh and inspiring. Beautiful!
2/8/06 11:23 PM
Amelie said...
Such beautiful blouses! The skirt and pants worn in the photos are also wonderful.
2/9/06 1:56 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Ann, Welcome to Pattern Review. Beautiful work, as always. VickiM
2/9/06 3:40 AM
Chris Kelly said...
Just seen the pictures...beautiful!!! Thank you for the review.
2/9/06 7:20 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful work! Thank you for sharing your lovely creations.
2/9/06 7:30 AM
Jane S said...
Gorgeous blouse, beautiful work and design. Thanks for sharing and your insights into the patten...that collar would make me hesitate as well.
2/9/06 9:59 AM
LindaP said...
Ann, your blouse is absolutely exquisite! Oh, if we could only reach out and touch that fabric, it sounds lovely. I too enjoyed all your pictures and loved your flared skirt on slide 5, did you make it also? And if so, is it a Burda pattern.
2/9/06 10:10 AM
Ann Rowley said...
LindaP The skirt is Burds 8407. It's a really flattering and popular style and almost always gets a comment. And thanks to you all for your lovely comments on my work.
2/9/06 11:12 AM
Susan obsessive sewing said...
Hi Anne, i love the blouses too, and alwyas enjoy your input on the pfaff yahoo group. Can I ask what interfacing you used for the shirt collar?
2/9/06 12:37 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Ann, I have seen the photos and they are lovely! I was looking at your links and the first link you posted is for a US yahoo photo site, while your others are UK sites. Could this be the problem there?
2/9/06 2:41 PM
eauinaz said...
you did a beautiful job. The machine embrodiery was lovely.
2/9/06 4:49 PM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
2/9/06 6:42 PM
martinanne said...
Very beautiful! I'm looking forward to seeing more from you!
2/10/06 9:51 AM
LindaP said...
Thanks Ann, you made me "need" the skirt pattern (and an embroidery machine). I'll just settle for the pattern today.
2/10/06 11:49 AM
BSYMPLS said...
Absolutely gorgeous work! Enjoyed the slide show.
2/11/06 12:41 PM
valerie sews said...
Ann Thank you for sharing your professional quality work with us. I've just discovered you and I'm now a fan! Welcome to PR.
2/23/06 5:56 PM
danglette said...
Very smart. Everyone's wardrobe needs a couple of blouses like this, they are so versatile and work with almost anything because of the touch of class they provide. Unfortunately my blouses are RTWs and the sleeves are too short, so I plan to make this pattern up - I could do with one for every day of the week... Ann, your work is an inspiration!
4/6/06 4:34 AM
danglette said...
I would also love to know how to do a FBA, my limited knowledge tells me it'd probably work well with this pattern because of the darts, is that correct?
4/6/06 4:37 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Gorgeous! Maybe some day I'll get bored with shirt making- I'm still trying to hone my skills to your level. Thanks for sharing!
4/26/06 6:58 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Inspiring gorgeous blouse!
4/26/06 8:10 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Jaw dropping... please sew & review more! You are fantastic. The embroidery is outta sight. I love yellow on you--so pretty.
4/26/06 12:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 5956
photo
Review by valerie se... on 1/30/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1005
photo
Review by twistedang... on 10/23/09
Read Review

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6007 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 6007 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3363 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3363 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us