SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1407 (Barcelona dress)

28 more reviews
Viewed 1683 times 
Reviewed by:sew2little
photo

 
 
About sew2littlestar
CA USA
Member since: 1/12/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/06 0:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
selvage said...
Great results, with and without the obi. I wouldn't have thought of that solution, but it works. I don't think the dress looks matronly on you, btw; I think it's more of a bohemian look, so you might try dressing it down a little, with a longer necklace (a la the pattern photo) or an informal beaded necklace, and some sling-backs or maryjanes.
2/13/08 11:43 PM
drsue said...
I love that shawl with the dress!
2/11/06 11:38 AM
sew2little said...
Thanks, everyone! Johsews--what a good idea for a little tie at the waist. A warning--I'm not sure the waist wrap would work in a fabric where the waist seam does show, as during the day as I wore it, the seam did creep up as I moved around. So the seam might show above the wrap in a less densely patterned fabric.
2/10/06 10:59 PM
MaryBeth said...
Ahhhh, great review!
2/10/06 7:35 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I think that your dress looks really nice without the belt. Ofcourse a picture is different than real life. JW
2/10/06 5:29 PM
ryan's mom said...
Although this isn't your fave dress, I do think it looks so beautiful on you in the photo. My first impression was, "Wow! That's pretty."
2/10/06 5:00 PM
nheh said...
Good save! Despite major fiddling around with it, I cannot get this dress to look good on me. As you say: too matronly. I will try a sash at the waist and see what I think. The colors are beautiful on you, and the shape is good with the belt. Very pretty.
2/10/06 2:41 PM
CarolynGM said...
Looks wonderful with the shawl belt. Nice print too.
2/10/06 1:13 PM
Johsews said...
Looks beautiful, and makes me want to run up and make a long-sleeved one too! I've put very narrow bias ties at the sides to pull the waist in on my short-sleeved ones- you might want to try that if you don't want to always use the "obi".
2/10/06 12:44 PM
Lavender Rose said...
The tie at the waist. makes a huge difference. It looks great! I haven't liked the other versions I have seen of this pattern but this one really changes my mind. Thank you for posting.
2/10/06 11:31 AM
Tarawebster said...
Beautiful dress! While I can see how the fabric would obscure the main design detail of the dress, that asymetrical waistline, it's pretty fabric and the colors look great on you. Yet another gorgeous variation on one of my favorite dress patterns.
2/10/06 10:34 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, nice save with the belt.
2/10/06 9:53 AM
Frogstitcher said...
What a very lovely dress. I can see why you would want to cinch it in, you do have a wonderful figure to show off. Great job.
2/10/06 9:51 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Lovely - especially on you! You must have been 'in tune' to your colors way back then....you are a 'picture'. Don't be so hard on yourself! Tell your hubby we said so...
2/10/06 9:10 AM
BeckyC said...
Your dress turned out very pretty in your fabric. I like the dress on you with or without the 'obi' belt. It looks great!
2/10/06 8:38 AM
Lori Sews said...
Thanks for the review. It's a very pretty dress. I love it with the wrap tied as a belt.
2/10/06 8:30 AM
zeoplum said...
I like the wrap and I'm a big fan of the Barcelona Dress. In fact, it's on my Wish List now. By the way, I like the dress on you without the wrap too.
2/10/06 8:18 AM
Chris Kelly said...
I really like this dress on you. I like the fabric, very stylish. Thanks for the review.
2/10/06 7:27 AM
Nickle said...
I think it looks very nice on you, I like it with the shawl tie, more figure flattering. I like the touch of trim you added.
2/10/06 6:42 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love your review. You have made the dress look quite different and the shawl makes it more interesting and more flattery on you. Great save.
2/10/06 5:11 AM
leigh7911 said...
How very pretty! And, great shoes =)
2/10/06 0:27 AM
KitnRose said...
Ooooh! I love -- and honestly I'm not much a fan of the barcelona dress. It just feels too mature and grown up for still-shopping-in-juniors me. But the floral pattern plus that obi belt just makes the entire dress very hip and designer-ish. Great job!
2/10/06 0:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

McCall's 6041

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Other Gertie\'s Book:

photo
by: carolineG

Review