SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8131 

9 more reviews
Viewed 1565 times 
Reviewed by:seKimberlyso
photo

 
 
About seKimberlysostar
Member since: 5/7/04
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 40
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/06 2:09 PM
Last Updated:2/9/06 2:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
inkstain said...
And to think I have the same measurements and was about to buy this pattern last weekend. I am so grateful you saved me so much grief!
8/29/07 4:21 PM
seKimberlyso said...
Carol: The zipper actually begins much lower than usual- a full inch lower,and ends well below the usual point. Though its big everywhere else, its very tight, uncomfortable where I try to stuff my hips/tummy where the zip ends before the yoke, the sizing error I mentioned. I didn't bother to alter these further to fit; I would have to redraft it totally. No these pants are a pattern mistake. I have no problem fitting in pants, Burda and I like each other. I have made many pants patterns up and not had these problems. I usually cut 10/12 hips, 8 legs and a 12 waist, add some length thats it. I will be doing another Burda review shortly, they fit like a dream.
2/10/06 12:09 PM
CSY said...
Kimberley, Those pants sound like a frustrating experience! Sadly, they look way too big for you. You are literally swimming in them. Do you have a fit buddy? Pants can be really hard to do by yourself. I measure a size 14 and use a 12 even with pants to avoid having to take in excessive amounts. I do have to do some letting out in the waist and hip. The back of the leg and the crotch fit better in a smaller pattern than my measured size. I am wondering if a different starting point would be helpful to you also. Your photo looks like you are a small lady. Were the pockets included in the flat pattern measurements to check pant to yoke fit?? An error like you describe is completely unacceptable in a pattern. I suggest you write to Vogue and ask for your money back. I noticed that the pattern calls for a 7" zipper. This is not an unusal size in a pant. If for some reason you prefer a shorter zipper (for a custom fit) it is ok to cut it off from the top .
2/10/06 11:48 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Holy cow, those are not flattering. Chalk it up to another sewing experience, eh? Thanks for warning us.
2/10/06 11:27 AM
Jane S said...
Kimberley, great review, although I'm so sorry that they didn't work our for you...but sharing your frustration I hope was cathartic for you. I was laughing in total sympathy recalling many "what the heck are they thinking" moments with particular sewing patterns. Than goodness you saved some other great FM fabric from a sad fate..and warned other here. Thanks!
2/10/06 10:07 AM
2muchfabric said...
Thanks for your helpful review!
2/10/06 9:04 AM
Sewliz said...
Even I feel better after that rant! Hancocks is going to wonder why Vogue patterns are selling so poorly during the 75 off sale next week. Put the pants in the Goodwill bin, they could very well be just the thing for someone with the hipless shape. Thanks for a fun review!
2/10/06 8:52 AM
Chris Kelly said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. Sorry for your time and effort on these.
2/10/06 7:44 AM
kathi s said...
Thanks for the warning. I have short legs and have a theory that the shorter the leg, the more you need a boot leg type pant. Wide leg pants make me look like an elephant. I will definately avoid that pattern.
2/9/06 11:51 PM
melgosews said...
The pattern drawings look great :P if there were really a species like that, he, he. You could minimize the pattern to barbie doll size! Do you have a big top in the back of your closet? Well, at least you'll love wearing the fabric if only around the house! More luxurious than sweats, lol. Kimberly, thanks for saving us all a few bucks.
2/9/06 9:09 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, too bad these didn't work out for you! Loved your review though! Thanks for the warning-I agree with Vonnevo, maybe you could at least take them apart and make something good out of it...on the bright side,they do look comfy :o)
2/9/06 9:03 PM
Vonnevo said...
Thanks for the warning. Your review adds to my new mantra "no garment photo, no use". Maybe you can recut them into something else. There might be enough width in the pant legs to make a skirt, with godets from the leftovers.
2/9/06 8:00 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Notice that Vogue does not show any photos of someone actually wearing the pants--there's a warning sign. Burning the pattern with gasoline is certainly warranted (and I'd even give you the match), but it would be more environmentally friendly to hand the pattern over to a family of pet mice to gleefully shred to it to bits (and then pee all over it). Have some chocolate. You deserve it after that nasty ordeal.
2/9/06 5:37 PM
Re Becca said...
I just made another Vogue pattern where the zipper went all the way up through the yoke. It seemed like such a good idea, no buttons! Wrong! I agree with you What are these people thinking.
2/9/06 5:28 PM
Leora said...
They do look comfortable if it is any consolation. Sorry you had a bad experience and hope your next creation is beyond wonderful and cheers you up!
2/9/06 5:21 PM
zeoplum said...
*hugs*
2/9/06 5:14 PM
AnneFromLambourn said...
Kimberley these are truly the pants from Hell :)! Go and make something you know works now, to erase the bad memory
2/9/06 5:09 PM
Nickle said...
Sorry you got burnt on the pattern and using up your lovely FM tweed too. Sounds like they need to take that pattern off the market because if you can't make it look good I'm sure no one can.
2/9/06 3:16 PM
Lori Sews said...
Kimberly, thanks for the great review, and warning us about this pattern. Sorry they didn't work out.
2/9/06 2:50 PM
Kira R said...
Thank you for saving me money. Keep repeating, "my pain keeps others from similar suffering. My pain..." Wish I could have watched the conflagration.
2/9/06 2:33 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Lol, do you feel better now that you got that out? So sorry the pants didn't work out; I know the feeling.
2/9/06 2:28 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Great review Kimberley, thanks! This is one pants pattern I was considering, I love the narrow hip, wide legs, but I wasn't necessarily sure about the wide yoke + fly. I'm probably going to wait for a Burda that comes closer to my ideal, thank you again. (Btw, I think your pants look waaay better than you think they do.)
2/9/06 2:28 PM
LBJ said...
It's amazing but true, some pants are so poorly concieved they can even make someone as thin as you look big. They do look comfortable though. Thanks for a great review!
2/9/06 2:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now