SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2449 (Trench Coat)

7 more reviews
Viewed 8199 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/06 8:44 AM
Last Updated:2/10/06 10:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynD said...
What a gorgeous coat. I love the shorter length and I love the raspberry color. It is so hard to find overcoats in brighter colors. You did a fatastic job and I admire your ambition to make a coat with so much detail. It totally looks like a designer coat.
2/10/06 10:24 PM
Mirza said...
Wonderful job! Love the color! What a cheerful coat to wear during those dreary months!
2/10/06 10:39 PM
Pam Z said...
This trench was a challenge and it looks great on you!
2/10/06 10:58 PM
sew2little said...
A linded coat is such a challenge, and despite the problems you had, your coat is really great looking!
2/10/06 11:03 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Awsome looking trench coat...I just love it and the color also! Thanks for the review, I may have to get this pattern.
2/10/06 11:35 PM
kwpanthermom said...
Your coat is wonderful! The color is striking and it looks very well made. What a challenging undertaking, and you did a great job!
2/10/06 11:50 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous coat.
2/11/06 0:04 AM
PegL said...
You did a great job on a challenging project! Love the color and the fits looks very nice!
2/11/06 0:49 AM
Nickle said...
Great looking trench coat, love the color. You did a beautiful job. Looks nice on you.
2/11/06 2:34 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous! Have you discovered the sewing notions in the 100 Yen shops?
2/11/06 2:47 AM
sjm said...
Your coat is wonderful. The colour is a refreshing change from the grey, taupe and black that everyone wears here!
2/11/06 4:14 AM
carolynD43 said...
Wow, that looks great! I think you need to upgrade your experience rating after making this.
2/11/06 5:35 AM
BjP said...
This is one gorgeous coat! Love it. I admire you for taking on such a detailed coat, but the result is fabulous.
2/11/06 9:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
You are no beginner! This coat is a very challenging pattern, and it looks like it turned out wonderfully.
2/11/06 10:12 AM
Tiner W said...
It's a beautiful coat--very inspiring!
2/11/06 11:06 AM
drsue said...
Just excellent! I don't think it's fair to call yourself a beginner if you can put this together so well.
2/11/06 11:12 AM
Vivienne said...
Holy moly! This is what I aspire to.
2/11/06 11:18 AM
SansSouci572 said...
There is a trench coat in the new Luckymagazine that looks just like yours!
2/11/06 11:26 AM
luvzdogz said...
Thank you for making this - I have had my eye on this pattern and you have given me some great tips on different parts of the coat - now I know what to watch out for! The color is very beautiful and I think it looks great on you.
2/11/06 11:40 AM
Kay Y said...
I made this pattern and I KNOW it is not a beginner project - great job! It looks really wonderful.
2/11/06 1:12 PM
Lori Sews said...
Julesberry, fabulous trench. I admire that you tackle complicated projects. Very inspiring!
2/11/06 3:53 PM
KitnRose said...
Oooh, I want one! Lovely, lovely, lovely. I'm very impressed that you both attempted this and totally succeeded!
2/11/06 5:27 PM
julesberry said...
Thank you for all the kind comments. Happily, the photos don't really show all the "approximations" in the details of the coat. ;-) Hopefully the rest or the world will only look from a similar distance. I am a beginner - this is only the 7th thing I have made. I made this coat because I don't have a spring/autumn coat, and all the designer clothes in Japan are only for people with very flat chests, so no way I would have found a Trench Coat to fit - at least not without a lot of strife. Then I happened to find suitable but cheap fabric so didn't mind making a multitude of mistakes (see my blog for details). Nothing like neccessity to drive one on. Perhaps I should say I am a "patternreview.com Assisted Beginner"?! Becuase the instructions are so good in this pattern, all you need is time, patternreview.com, and a willing fabric, and I think anyone can do it.
2/11/06 6:36 PM
suncentaur said...
It looks great! I think you should update your status from beginner. That is not beginners work! What was the method for easing the sleeve you talked about?
2/12/06 3:03 PM
Kira R said...
Alright, you convinced me to try it. Have had this pattern in the stash for a while. Loved the photos ... enjoy your coat.
2/13/06 2:36 AM
pterion said...
Wow! It may taken a long time, but so worth it! I love this coat.
2/13/06 12:52 PM
Hilary said...
i missed this review before-your coat looks *wonderful*! Great job!
4/12/06 8:59 AM
jjc said...
looks really nice. think i may try this one
2/21/08 6:47 PM
gattidog said...
I like the length you made this coat. How do you think it would make up without a lining?
3/18/08 9:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 2802

photo
by: jennycat

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now