Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2449 (Trench Coat) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 8191 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/06 8:44 AM
Last Updated:2/10/06 10:44 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynD said...
What a gorgeous coat. I love the shorter length and I love the raspberry color. It is so hard to find overcoats in brighter colors. You did a fatastic job and I admire your ambition to make a coat with so much detail. It totally looks like a designer coat.
2/10/06 10:24 PM
Mirza said...
Wonderful job! Love the color! What a cheerful coat to wear during those dreary months!
2/10/06 10:39 PM
Pam Z said...
This trench was a challenge and it looks great on you!
2/10/06 10:58 PM
sew2little said...
A linded coat is such a challenge, and despite the problems you had, your coat is really great looking!
2/10/06 11:03 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Awsome looking trench coat...I just love it and the color also! Thanks for the review, I may have to get this pattern.
2/10/06 11:35 PM
kwpanthermom said...
Your coat is wonderful! The color is striking and it looks very well made. What a challenging undertaking, and you did a great job!
2/10/06 11:50 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous coat.
2/11/06 0:04 AM
PegL said...
You did a great job on a challenging project! Love the color and the fits looks very nice!
2/11/06 0:49 AM
Nickle said...
Great looking trench coat, love the color. You did a beautiful job. Looks nice on you.
2/11/06 2:34 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous! Have you discovered the sewing notions in the 100 Yen shops?
2/11/06 2:47 AM
sjm said...
Your coat is wonderful. The colour is a refreshing change from the grey, taupe and black that everyone wears here!
2/11/06 4:14 AM
carolynD43 said...
Wow, that looks great! I think you need to upgrade your experience rating after making this.
2/11/06 5:35 AM
BjP said...
This is one gorgeous coat! Love it. I admire you for taking on such a detailed coat, but the result is fabulous.
2/11/06 9:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
You are no beginner! This coat is a very challenging pattern, and it looks like it turned out wonderfully.
2/11/06 10:12 AM
Tiner W said...
It's a beautiful coat--very inspiring!
2/11/06 11:06 AM
drsue said...
Just excellent! I don't think it's fair to call yourself a beginner if you can put this together so well.
2/11/06 11:12 AM
Vivienne said...
Holy moly! This is what I aspire to.
2/11/06 11:18 AM
SansSouci572 said...
There is a trench coat in the new Luckymagazine that looks just like yours!
2/11/06 11:26 AM
luvzdogz said...
Thank you for making this - I have had my eye on this pattern and you have given me some great tips on different parts of the coat - now I know what to watch out for! The color is very beautiful and I think it looks great on you.
2/11/06 11:40 AM
Kay Y said...
I made this pattern and I KNOW it is not a beginner project - great job! It looks really wonderful.
2/11/06 1:12 PM
Lori Sews said...
Julesberry, fabulous trench. I admire that you tackle complicated projects. Very inspiring!
2/11/06 3:53 PM
KitnRose said...
Oooh, I want one! Lovely, lovely, lovely. I'm very impressed that you both attempted this and totally succeeded!
2/11/06 5:27 PM
julesberry said...
Thank you for all the kind comments. Happily, the photos don't really show all the "approximations" in the details of the coat. ;-) Hopefully the rest or the world will only look from a similar distance. I am a beginner - this is only the 7th thing I have made. I made this coat because I don't have a spring/autumn coat, and all the designer clothes in Japan are only for people with very flat chests, so no way I would have found a Trench Coat to fit - at least not without a lot of strife. Then I happened to find suitable but cheap fabric so didn't mind making a multitude of mistakes (see my blog for details). Nothing like neccessity to drive one on. Perhaps I should say I am a "patternreview.com Assisted Beginner"?! Becuase the instructions are so good in this pattern, all you need is time, patternreview.com, and a willing fabric, and I think anyone can do it.
2/11/06 6:36 PM
suncentaur said...
It looks great! I think you should update your status from beginner. That is not beginners work! What was the method for easing the sleeve you talked about?
2/12/06 3:03 PM
Kira R said...
Alright, you convinced me to try it. Have had this pattern in the stash for a while. Loved the photos ... enjoy your coat.
2/13/06 2:36 AM
pterion said...
Wow! It may taken a long time, but so worth it! I love this coat.
2/13/06 12:52 PM
Hilary said...
i missed this review before-your coat looks *wonderful*! Great job!
4/12/06 8:59 AM
jjc said...
looks really nice. think i may try this one
2/21/08 6:47 PM
gattidog said...
I like the length you made this coat. How do you think it would make up without a lining?
3/18/08 9:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by cindy-lou on 8/2/07
Read Review

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1084 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Violet Els... on 4/15/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2396 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2396 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us