Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 104 (The Perfect T-Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1729 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/06 5:23 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Good to hear a nice review about this pattern! Mine is in the mail, and I hope to be able to start working with it soon.
2/10/06 5:35 PM
CycleGal said...
I just cut out some fabric and am going to work on this very pattern tonight! thanks for the great review.
2/10/06 7:22 PM
Penny Carlson said...
Mine is on its way too, along with the tank and the one for altering purchased Tshirts, and I can't wait!
2/10/06 7:24 PM
Sherril Miller said...
What size did you make? Did you need to do the bust dart? Did you like the length or was it too long/short? What are the different kinds of necklines included? Are the sideseams shaped or straight? Can you post a pic? Can you tell I'm on the fence about this one and want more info before spending the $$$$.
2/10/06 7:56 PM
Mini said...
I wondered what height this pattern is drafted for, what the recommended fabrics are, and how much ease the shirt is designed to have. (as well as all of Sherrill's questions). I have a Simplicity tee that seems perfect, but maybe there is something extra about this one???
2/10/06 8:05 PM
carolynw said...
Sherril and Mini: I made mine in Large but as said I will adjust the pattern depending on the weight of the fabric. I do not like clinging stuff as my figure does not lend itself to that! As it a pattern for T shirts knits are the fabric you would normally use. The sides are shaped slightly. I did not use the bust dart as I am rather flat chested and do not need that. Length was fine for me - pattern shows where to lenghten or shorten so you can do what you feel is best for you. The hemline curves at the sides which is usually flattering to all figure types. Templates were for the V neck and the deeper curved neckline - picture of the actual pattern is posted so you can see all the options. As far as ease - I traced the large size after reading Pamela's directions - it is a bit loose but as said I do not like tight fitting tops - adjusting down - if necessary would be relatively easy as you are dealing with only two seams so start with a larger size than you think you need and go from there. I too have other T shirt patterns but fidn this one the best yet.
2/10/06 11:05 PM
PegL said...
Thanks for the review and the additional info in the comments! I too am waiting for this pattern to arrive in my mail and am now eager to give it a try!
2/11/06 0:56 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I saw this in Threads. Glad to see your review. If you get a chance please post a photo. Also does she have a website?
2/11/06 7:49 AM
carolynw said...
Will post photo of the first velour top and another in a few days. Pamela's webb site is www.pamelaspatterns.com. Regarding the question as to the size I used for the velour top - this will better answer if you know in standard patterns I use a size 16 with some adjustment for the waist (tummy)!! Pamela refers to the shaping at the sides as an "essesence of waist" - it is not a hugely shaped side just enough to give you that nice hint of a shape.
2/11/06 9:14 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Thank you for anwering my (and Mini's) questions. My DH ordered the t-shirt and tank for me and I got them today - Surprise! Maybe I'll be next to review this pattern. I'm looking forward to your photos.
2/13/06 12:58 PM
carolynw said...
Have added a photo (back view) am new to PR and not too sure of how to get front view on as well - but will keep trying. No picture of the velour top and it's best not to ask - enough to say it is not a fault of the pattern but of a sewer who decided to take a real short cut to finish the top!! I am truly pleased with the results from this pattern but unfortunately the photos just do not do justice to the finished product. Guess you gals will just have to try it for yourself and see how well it works out!!
2/14/06 6:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Simplicity 3887
photo
Review by angie.a on 6/14/08
Read Review

Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)
Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1073 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 10/8/11
Read Review

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6191 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6191 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6843 Pattern
New Look 6843 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us