SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 104 (The Perfect T-Shirt)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1733 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/06 5:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Have added a photo (back view) am new to PR and not too sure of how to get front view on as well - but will keep trying. No picture of the velour top and it's best not to ask - enough to say it is not a fault of the pattern but of a sewer who decided to take a real short cut to finish the top!! I am truly pleased with the results from this pattern but unfortunately the photos just do not do justice to the finished product. Guess you gals will just have to try it for yourself and see how well it works out!!
2/14/06 6:24 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Thank you for anwering my (and Mini's) questions. My DH ordered the t-shirt and tank for me and I got them today - Surprise! Maybe I'll be next to review this pattern. I'm looking forward to your photos.
2/13/06 12:58 PM
carolynw said...
Will post photo of the first velour top and another in a few days. Pamela's webb site is www.pamelaspatterns.com. Regarding the question as to the size I used for the velour top - this will better answer if you know in standard patterns I use a size 16 with some adjustment for the waist (tummy)!! Pamela refers to the shaping at the sides as an "essesence of waist" - it is not a hugely shaped side just enough to give you that nice hint of a shape.
2/11/06 9:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I saw this in Threads. Glad to see your review. If you get a chance please post a photo. Also does she have a website?
2/11/06 7:49 AM
PegL said...
Thanks for the review and the additional info in the comments! I too am waiting for this pattern to arrive in my mail and am now eager to give it a try!
2/11/06 0:56 AM
carolynw said...
Sherril and Mini: I made mine in Large but as said I will adjust the pattern depending on the weight of the fabric. I do not like clinging stuff as my figure does not lend itself to that! As it a pattern for T shirts knits are the fabric you would normally use. The sides are shaped slightly. I did not use the bust dart as I am rather flat chested and do not need that. Length was fine for me - pattern shows where to lenghten or shorten so you can do what you feel is best for you. The hemline curves at the sides which is usually flattering to all figure types. Templates were for the V neck and the deeper curved neckline - picture of the actual pattern is posted so you can see all the options. As far as ease - I traced the large size after reading Pamela's directions - it is a bit loose but as said I do not like tight fitting tops - adjusting down - if necessary would be relatively easy as you are dealing with only two seams so start with a larger size than you think you need and go from there. I too have other T shirt patterns but fidn this one the best yet.
2/10/06 11:05 PM
Mini said...
I wondered what height this pattern is drafted for, what the recommended fabrics are, and how much ease the shirt is designed to have. (as well as all of Sherrill's questions). I have a Simplicity tee that seems perfect, but maybe there is something extra about this one???
2/10/06 8:05 PM
Sherril Miller said...
What size did you make? Did you need to do the bust dart? Did you like the length or was it too long/short? What are the different kinds of necklines included? Are the sideseams shaped or straight? Can you post a pic? Can you tell I'm on the fence about this one and want more info before spending the $$$$.
2/10/06 7:56 PM
Penny Carlson said...
Mine is on its way too, along with the tank and the one for altering purchased Tshirts, and I can't wait!
2/10/06 7:24 PM
CycleGal said...
I just cut out some fabric and am going to work on this very pattern tonight! thanks for the great review.
2/10/06 7:22 PM
Elona said...
Good to hear a nice review about this pattern! Mine is in the mail, and I hope to be able to start working with it soon.
2/10/06 5:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now