SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> 8th Avenue Skirt 

4 more reviews
Viewed 1513 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 348 (patterns: 345)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 393 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/06 4:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
iSewQuiltArt said... (11/1/10 6:16 PM) Reply
Ann thanks for a good review, esp. for keying me into the problem with the closure near the zipper. I have been thinking of ordering this skirt and the Lotus skirt as I like the lines they both have and it is good to see a thorough review- and great to see it made in linen which was my first thought of fibre I might use. Thankyou!
gracielet said... (5/27/09 4:11 AM) Reply
Ann, you are my hero! I get to see all of my favorite patterns made up beautifully with beautifully chosen fabric. This skirt is great!
Ann Smith said... (2/23/06 12:33 PM) Reply
PopoAgie, my concern with a poly would be the tendency to ripple or pucker on the topstitched bias. A crisp lightweight fabric like linen should work.
Irene Q said... (2/23/06 12:08 PM) Reply
You're version looks much nicer than the pattern illustration!
Harriet Rogers said... (2/23/06 9:32 AM) Reply
Another "winner". This is a SW pattern I don't own, but based on your success, it's about to be added to my pattern stash. Looks great with your Hibiscus.
lilhoney57 said... (2/23/06 9:03 AM) Reply
Very nice!
QuickFade said... (2/22/06 11:43 PM) Reply
Thank, Ann. I have been wanting to see this made up for a while. Do you think this would look good in a crisp, lightweight fabric with some drape, or do you think it needs a softer, heavier fabric? The pattern illustration almost looks like a chinese brocade. I would probably try it in something inexpensive (polyester) if I thought it would work just to check the look first. Would that type of fabric be too delicate for something like this?
milwaukee_kelly said... (2/22/06 5:34 PM) Reply
It's a lovely combo!
BeckyC said... (2/22/06 5:13 PM) Reply
Beautifully draped skirt! It looks wonderful with your hibisicus blouse.
Lori V said... (2/22/06 5:13 PM) Reply
Very pretty skirt.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details