SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> 8th Avenue Skirt 

4 more reviews
Viewed 1529 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 348 (patterns: 345)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 394 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/06 4:52 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
iSewQuiltArt said... (11/1/10 6:16 PM) Reply
Ann thanks for a good review, esp. for keying me into the problem with the closure near the zipper. I have been thinking of ordering this skirt and the Lotus skirt as I like the lines they both have and it is good to see a thorough review- and great to see it made in linen which was my first thought of fibre I might use. Thankyou!
gracielet said... (5/27/09 4:11 AM) Reply
Ann, you are my hero! I get to see all of my favorite patterns made up beautifully with beautifully chosen fabric. This skirt is great!
Ann Smith said... (2/23/06 12:33 PM) Reply
PopoAgie, my concern with a poly would be the tendency to ripple or pucker on the topstitched bias. A crisp lightweight fabric like linen should work.
Irene Q said... (2/23/06 12:08 PM) Reply
You're version looks much nicer than the pattern illustration!
Harriet Rogers said... (2/23/06 9:32 AM) Reply
Another "winner". This is a SW pattern I don't own, but based on your success, it's about to be added to my pattern stash. Looks great with your Hibiscus.
lilhoney57 said... (2/23/06 9:03 AM) Reply
Very nice!
QuickFade said... (2/22/06 11:43 PM) Reply
Thank, Ann. I have been wanting to see this made up for a while. Do you think this would look good in a crisp, lightweight fabric with some drape, or do you think it needs a softer, heavier fabric? The pattern illustration almost looks like a chinese brocade. I would probably try it in something inexpensive (polyester) if I thought it would work just to check the look first. Would that type of fabric be too delicate for something like this?
milwaukee_kelly said... (2/22/06 5:34 PM) Reply
It's a lovely combo!
BeckyC said... (2/22/06 5:13 PM) Reply
Beautifully draped skirt! It looks wonderful with your hibisicus blouse.
Lori V said... (2/22/06 5:13 PM) Reply
Very pretty skirt.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Butterick 6520 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Pattern Details
Fanny Pack or Purse Paper Pattern

Fanny Pack or Purse Paper Pattern

Pattern Details