SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> 8th Avenue Skirt 

4 more reviews
Viewed 1472 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/06 4:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very pretty skirt.
2/22/06 5:13 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautifully draped skirt! It looks wonderful with your hibisicus blouse.
2/22/06 5:13 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
It's a lovely combo!
2/22/06 5:34 PM
QuickFade said...
Thank, Ann. I have been wanting to see this made up for a while. Do you think this would look good in a crisp, lightweight fabric with some drape, or do you think it needs a softer, heavier fabric? The pattern illustration almost looks like a chinese brocade. I would probably try it in something inexpensive (polyester) if I thought it would work just to check the look first. Would that type of fabric be too delicate for something like this?
2/22/06 11:43 PM
lilhoney57 said...
Very nice!
2/23/06 9:03 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Another "winner". This is a SW pattern I don't own, but based on your success, it's about to be added to my pattern stash. Looks great with your Hibiscus.
2/23/06 9:32 AM
Irene Q said...
You're version looks much nicer than the pattern illustration!
2/23/06 12:08 PM
Ann Smith said...
PopoAgie, my concern with a poly would be the tendency to ripple or pucker on the topstitched bias. A crisp lightweight fabric like linen should work.
2/23/06 12:33 PM
gracielet said...
Ann, you are my hero! I get to see all of my favorite patterns made up beautifully with beautifully chosen fabric. This skirt is great!
5/27/09 4:11 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Ann thanks for a good review, esp. for keying me into the problem with the closure near the zipper. I have been thinking of ordering this skirt and the Lotus skirt as I like the lines they both have and it is good to see a thorough review- and great to see it made in linen which was my first thought of fibre I might use. Thankyou!
11/1/10 6:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Burda 7495

photo
by: highCsopra...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2010-122

photo
by: Deepika

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now