SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1013 (Plain & Simple Shirtdress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 5072 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/17/06 8:48 PM
Last Updated:3/13/06 11:31 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Beautiful dress. Looks like all the muslins paid off.
2/17/06 8:56 PM
zeoplum said...
Very fun and funky look. I know it's an updated 70's look but I think the fabric you've chosen gives it even more of a young & fresh look without being too youthful.
2/17/06 9:08 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Phyllis, that turned out just beautifully! -Ann
2/17/06 9:13 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great dress -- I love the retro look to it and your fabric too. I might have to order this one as I do love shirtdresses.
2/17/06 9:16 PM
Cambric Tea said...
I love shirtwaists too! Thank you for reviewing this, it's one of the styles I was interested in. I am so looking forward to a pic of you in it. I think your dress is really great.
2/17/06 9:28 PM
Nickle said...
Boy this brings back memories. Your dress is gorgeous, love the fabric. looking forward to your pic with it on.
2/17/06 9:30 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Love everything about it: the style, the fabric you used, and after multiple muslins I'm sure I'd love the fit, too. I adore the way the petals on the big flower line up across the CF to make a big S at the waistline. Completely intentional, I'm sure!! Well done, Phyllis.
2/17/06 9:36 PM
elizajo said...
You did a great job of matching fabric to the 70's style. Cute new shoes or boots are called for as a reward for all of your work with muslins!
2/17/06 9:41 PM
Leora said...
What a gorgeous dress and belt combo. Three muslins equals a lot of patience in my book. Beautiful work!
2/17/06 10:48 PM
MaryBeth said...
It's so you! Great fun dress, Phyllis. Nicely written, succinct review.
2/17/06 10:56 PM
beangirl said...
excellent review, Phyllis! And I love love love that fabric. Great project.
2/18/06 0:34 AM
Lori V said...
Very cool.
2/18/06 0:47 AM
Deb Fox said...
Just gorgeous! I know these patterns are a lot of work, but aren't the results just fabulous? I wil definitely have to add this to my collection. I can also see this being turned into a really cute blouse for spring!
2/18/06 6:53 AM
MarilynB said...
Great dress, Phyllis. Thanks for reviewing this pattern.
2/18/06 7:45 AM
Lori Sews said...
Beautiful dress, great review.
2/18/06 9:32 AM
AnneM said...
Definitely a good combination of fabric and style. Great belt, also.
2/18/06 9:36 AM
Tiner W said...
What a groovin' dress! I love it.
2/18/06 9:36 AM
CarolynD said...
Terrific stylish dress.
2/18/06 11:21 AM
Englebert said...
Phyllis, love your dress!! After reading your review, I *had* to order the pattern... :)
2/18/06 11:22 AM
SansSouci572 said...
Wow!!! I LOVE it! If I saw this for sale some place, I would buy it!
2/18/06 11:24 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
What a fabulous dress! I am so inspired by you!
2/18/06 11:25 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Love it! Reminds me of something the 60's TV character, "Carol Brady" would wear. And I mean that as a big compliment. As a kid in the 60s, I guess I 'imprinted' positively on Mrs. Brady because she looked like the cool mom everyone wanted to have.
2/18/06 1:02 PM
Georgene said...
If I were you I would be cutting this in about 6 different fabrics right this minute. Great beginning, and a real workhorse of a pattern for you now. You can do so many different looks with this base - add pockets, do contrast fabrics, do a denim jacket version. Add lace and heirloom techniques. Sleeveless, shortsleeve, band collar, no collar, cardigan v-neck front. You go girl!
2/18/06 5:07 PM
els said...
An everlasting dress design, which you can make up in so many fabrics that they all seem to be different from eachother.Like you have a great basic design to play with.
2/18/06 8:06 PM
BeckyC said...
Cute retro dress.
2/20/06 9:39 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Love it!
3/13/06 11:47 AM
jemgirlca said...
I don't know how I missed your review the first time, but I did see your dress on hotpatterns website. It looks fantastic! Your fabric choice was great. I can't believe it's a cordoroy. Great review!!
3/13/06 12:13 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I swear I had that dress in 1975 and it looks just as fresh today. I only wish I still had the same figure from 1975. (sigh)
3/13/06 12:25 PM
Gigi Louis said...
How did I miss this review?! You look positively groovy in this dress - what a great fit!
3/13/06 1:03 PM
Cambric Tea said...
I'm so glad that you updated with a picture, you look adorable. My husband was hanging around and saw the original review. "Cute dress" he said. Now if you only knew what high praise that is coming from him. (; In his language that translates as, "bangin'awesomeamazingwicked cute dress!
3/13/06 2:03 PM
PVA said...
I too missed this review the 1st time up. I'm so glad I didn't miss it this time! I consider the 50s, 60s & 70s MY era when it comes to patterns. (MINE I say, all MINE!) Thank you so much for bringing it up again with your photo, this is awesome on you. I must have it! I must! I have always LOVED shirtwaist dresses! June Cleaver I'm not, but I just don't care, I gotta have it! Thank you so much for this review! (I can't believe it's corduroy!) (I love paisley!) (muttering off into the wilderness. . . . )
3/13/06 7:17 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Love it!!! Love the shoes, love the belt, love the hair. Love your pulled together look.
3/13/06 7:47 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
duplicate deleted
3/13/06 7:48 PM
Lori Sews said...
Looks great on you!! Love it!!
3/14/06 9:42 AM
SarahWeb said...
Looks like you did a fantastic job of fitting. I love the style and the fabric. It looks great on you!
3/14/06 10:44 PM
moushka said...
You look so stylish! I'm with Georgene on the usefulness of this pattern. The fit is great after all your hard work, and the print is so fashionable. The dress will look different with every fabric. Stunning!
4/30/06 7:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now