Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1013 (Plain & Simple Shirtdress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 5057 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/17/06 8:48 PM
Last Updated:3/13/06 11:31 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Beautiful dress. Looks like all the muslins paid off.
2/17/06 8:56 PM
zeoplum said...
Very fun and funky look. I know it's an updated 70's look but I think the fabric you've chosen gives it even more of a young & fresh look without being too youthful.
2/17/06 9:08 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Phyllis, that turned out just beautifully! -Ann
2/17/06 9:13 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great dress -- I love the retro look to it and your fabric too. I might have to order this one as I do love shirtdresses.
2/17/06 9:16 PM
Cambric Tea said...
I love shirtwaists too! Thank you for reviewing this, it's one of the styles I was interested in. I am so looking forward to a pic of you in it. I think your dress is really great.
2/17/06 9:28 PM
Nickle said...
Boy this brings back memories. Your dress is gorgeous, love the fabric. looking forward to your pic with it on.
2/17/06 9:30 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Love everything about it: the style, the fabric you used, and after multiple muslins I'm sure I'd love the fit, too. I adore the way the petals on the big flower line up across the CF to make a big S at the waistline. Completely intentional, I'm sure!! Well done, Phyllis.
2/17/06 9:36 PM
elizajo said...
You did a great job of matching fabric to the 70's style. Cute new shoes or boots are called for as a reward for all of your work with muslins!
2/17/06 9:41 PM
Leora said...
What a gorgeous dress and belt combo. Three muslins equals a lot of patience in my book. Beautiful work!
2/17/06 10:48 PM
MaryBeth said...
It's so you! Great fun dress, Phyllis. Nicely written, succinct review.
2/17/06 10:56 PM
beangirl said...
excellent review, Phyllis! And I love love love that fabric. Great project.
2/18/06 0:34 AM
Lori V said...
Very cool.
2/18/06 0:47 AM
Deb Fox said...
Just gorgeous! I know these patterns are a lot of work, but aren't the results just fabulous? I wil definitely have to add this to my collection. I can also see this being turned into a really cute blouse for spring!
2/18/06 6:53 AM
MarilynB said...
Great dress, Phyllis. Thanks for reviewing this pattern.
2/18/06 7:45 AM
Lori Sews said...
Beautiful dress, great review.
2/18/06 9:32 AM
AnneM said...
Definitely a good combination of fabric and style. Great belt, also.
2/18/06 9:36 AM
Tiner W said...
What a groovin' dress! I love it.
2/18/06 9:36 AM
CarolynD said...
Terrific stylish dress.
2/18/06 11:21 AM
Englebert said...
Phyllis, love your dress!! After reading your review, I *had* to order the pattern... :)
2/18/06 11:22 AM
SansSouci572 said...
Wow!!! I LOVE it! If I saw this for sale some place, I would buy it!
2/18/06 11:24 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
What a fabulous dress! I am so inspired by you!
2/18/06 11:25 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Love it! Reminds me of something the 60's TV character, "Carol Brady" would wear. And I mean that as a big compliment. As a kid in the 60s, I guess I 'imprinted' positively on Mrs. Brady because she looked like the cool mom everyone wanted to have.
2/18/06 1:02 PM
Georgene said...
If I were you I would be cutting this in about 6 different fabrics right this minute. Great beginning, and a real workhorse of a pattern for you now. You can do so many different looks with this base - add pockets, do contrast fabrics, do a denim jacket version. Add lace and heirloom techniques. Sleeveless, shortsleeve, band collar, no collar, cardigan v-neck front. You go girl!
2/18/06 5:07 PM
els said...
An everlasting dress design, which you can make up in so many fabrics that they all seem to be different from eachother.Like you have a great basic design to play with.
2/18/06 8:06 PM
BeckyC said...
Cute retro dress.
2/20/06 9:39 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Love it!
3/13/06 11:47 AM
jemgirlca said...
I don't know how I missed your review the first time, but I did see your dress on hotpatterns website. It looks fantastic! Your fabric choice was great. I can't believe it's a cordoroy. Great review!!
3/13/06 12:13 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I swear I had that dress in 1975 and it looks just as fresh today. I only wish I still had the same figure from 1975. (sigh)
3/13/06 12:25 PM
Gigi Louis said...
How did I miss this review?! You look positively groovy in this dress - what a great fit!
3/13/06 1:03 PM
Cambric Tea said...
I'm so glad that you updated with a picture, you look adorable. My husband was hanging around and saw the original review. "Cute dress" he said. Now if you only knew what high praise that is coming from him. (; In his language that translates as, "bangin'awesomeamazingwicked cute dress!
3/13/06 2:03 PM
PVA said...
I too missed this review the 1st time up. I'm so glad I didn't miss it this time! I consider the 50s, 60s & 70s MY era when it comes to patterns. (MINE I say, all MINE!) Thank you so much for bringing it up again with your photo, this is awesome on you. I must have it! I must! I have always LOVED shirtwaist dresses! June Cleaver I'm not, but I just don't care, I gotta have it! Thank you so much for this review! (I can't believe it's corduroy!) (I love paisley!) (muttering off into the wilderness. . . . )
3/13/06 7:17 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Love it!!! Love the shoes, love the belt, love the hair. Love your pulled together look.
3/13/06 7:47 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
duplicate deleted
3/13/06 7:48 PM
Lori Sews said...
Looks great on you!! Love it!!
3/14/06 9:42 AM
SarahWeb said...
Looks like you did a fantastic job of fitting. I love the style and the fabric. It looks great on you!
3/14/06 10:44 PM
moushka said...
You look so stylish! I'm with Georgene on the usefulness of this pattern. The fit is great after all your hard work, and the print is so fashionable. The dress will look different with every fabric. Stunning!
4/30/06 7:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Butterick 4686 6 sew easy
photo
Review by alimmay on 11/12/12
Read Review

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8655
photo
Review by Blooms on 4/15/10
Read Review

Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4201 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )
Butterick 4201 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us