Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Lazy Girl Designs: 107 (Towne Purse) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1760 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:BeckyC
photo
Friend of PR
About BeckyCstar
MN USA
Member since: 5/8/04
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/06 10:26 AM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $8.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $8.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I have made this purse over 30 times, both for myself and others, and in many variations as to size, length of straps, etc. I like your method of dealing with the ends of the zipper. That is the only things I really do not like about this bag. If you do machine embroidery, it makes a nice touch on the outside pocket. I also use my embroidery machine to embroider people's names on the inside lining, just above the pockets. People really love these bags and I do too. Forgot to say that it is also very easy to make this bag in a larger size. Since you are only dealing with rectangles, you can make it wider, taller, etc. with no problem. Wonderful pattern, and wonderfully adaptive!
2/23/06 11:18 AM
pbrenneraz said...
A very fun looking purse! I made a skirt last summer out of a flamingo embroidered linen from Joann's - if you get tired of this purse, I know where it could find a good home :-)
2/23/06 5:30 PM
Princess Jenny said...
I love it!!!! The fabrics you chose make you want to smile--they're just so vibrant and happy! :) I love your stippling--it looks so beautiful--especially with the varigated thread. Its the little touches you gave it that make it extra special and lovely. Jen
2/24/06 8:13 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Such a cute purse, Becky, I love the fabrics you've chosen inside and out. All the pockets really make this purse a winner!
2/24/06 9:36 AM
PattyGee said...
Thank you, Becky for the review! I love the purse, the fabric is so fun and the inside is perfect. I always have trouble seeing what is in my purse and the brightness of the fabric for the lining of your purse is perfect for searching in your handbag. Your sewing is exquisite ! Thank you for the tips on the handles, I will make mine longer and also add an outer pocket like you suggested.
2/25/06 8:25 PM
sunlie said...
This review was very helpful. Changing the zipper ends to the insides sounds much better than on the outsides.
6/7/06 10:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8094
photo
Review by Fran G on 8/28/05
Read Review

McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878
photo
Review by momsurfing on 5/19/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us