SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 139 (Vietnamese Ao Dai)

Viewed 1283 times 
Reviewed by:Alam
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Alam
TX USA
Member since: 6/22/05
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/06 0:14 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
leigh7911 said...
Sounds very nice! Any chance of a picture?
2/19/06 1:44 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a great first review. The elbow dart will make the sleeve fall better on the body, which will definetly look better with brocade than the supple fabric usually used in ao dais. You must turn heads in your creation!
2/19/06 8:33 AM
MaryBeth said...
I wish I could see it! I love the ao dai but have never worn one. About the sleeve...what would be interesting is exactly how the Vietnamese ao dai sleeve pattern shape and grainline are different from the Folkwear pattern piece. Maybe after some time you will be able to take a look and show us, too. It's certainly not a necessary piece of information needed in this review, just a patterndrafting POI (point of info) for me. Thanks for this review and I hope you keep posting your work :).
2/19/06 2:28 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Thanks for the review. I was surfing the folkwear site the other day and came across this pattern and liked it. I would love to see yours made up!
2/19/06 6:20 PM
AnneM said...
The folkware patterns have some really interesting designs. Congrats on your outfit.
2/20/06 8:25 AM
maamool said...
I spent a good part of my day measuring, cutting, and sewing. Too large in the bustline, too small around the back. Around the neck was too big, and I can't move my arms. The shoulder seam needs to be adjusted quite a bit. I'm going to set it aside. Sigh! Thanks.
4/1/10 6:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Other Newborn Fitted Diaper

photo
by: Terri A

Review