SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8151 

82 more reviews
Viewed 1629 times 
Reviewed by:mamacita
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mamacitastar
NM USA
Member since: 8/31/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/06 11:29 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Turned out gorgeous, so all your work was worth it! Thanks for an informative review.
2/21/06 12:07 PM
Leora said...
Mamacita, that is a good point about the side SA. I wasn't aware that a FBA isn't needed for this style and thank you for that tidbit of advice as I want to make one for a friend. Great review!
2/21/06 12:42 PM
PegL said...
Great looking top! Love the fabric! Lots of good advice in your review!
2/21/06 2:26 PM
frame said...
Your top looks great. The fabric sure is pretty. Great review.
2/21/06 6:58 PM
SewLimited said...
Your top looks perfect!
2/21/06 8:39 PM
Liane M said...
Very pretty.
2/21/06 9:06 PM
cmarie12 said...
Loved your fabric choice for the top! Grat job!
2/21/06 11:06 PM
Lori V said...
Love your top the fabric is gorgeous.
2/21/06 11:58 PM
CarolynD said...
Just lovely, great color for you, and the print is gorgeous.
2/22/06 0:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love the fabric in your photo. A nice fitting top on you.
2/22/06 5:21 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice top. And it never hurts to add another review of a pattern!
2/22/06 8:33 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely top! I'm glad you did a review on this.
2/22/06 9:04 AM
Celeste said...
Love your serger! I'm a Babylock fan also. By the way, I recently got the blindstitch foot for the Babylock serger and recently took the time to fiddle with learning to use it by hemming the bottoms of some t-shirts I bought at the thrift store. My gosh, what beautiful factory-looking hems I was able to get and so very very quickly!! It was so much less work than the twin needle and with no prep like using interfacing or Wonder Tape, just folded over like a blindhem and stitched around!! No funny bumpy hems or anything out of the ordinary. You use the two thread stitch with the blindhem foot and follow suggested settings that come with the Babylock foot. I put invisible thread in the needle and Polyarn in the bottom. Wooly nylon would work, too. The invisible thread on top works with any color fabric of course and the wooly nylon in the looper balances the tension of the invisible nylon on the top. I'm so impressed I don't know if I ever want to hassle with the other way of doing knit hems on a regular machine again! I had read on the sew site of About.com where a lady was raving about doing blind hems on her serger and recommended highly getting a blinchem foot for my serger. Now I am a believer!!!
2/22/06 9:45 AM
mamacita said...
Celeste (I tried to pm you but it did not work!) thank you for this incredible piece of advice. My babylock Imagine Wave is brand brand new in my picture. You can see the instruction book lying by the side of the machine! I had just taken it out of the box, threaded it up and made this top. I am in the middle of finishing a jacket but I could not wait to try out the serger. I have not even looked at the DVD that came with it. I ordered it from a bricks and motar store in the Los Angeles area so I have not had any classes to find out what it can do other than basic serger stuff. I am going to call my dealer and try and get this foot . I have been using a 16 year old three thread serger for 16 years!! I think I have died and gone to serger heaven!! The reviews on this site and aan encouraging PR member helped me to take the plunge. If you could have seen the lumpy bits that this serger sailed over while making this top!! Wow! where has it been all my sewing life!!!!!
2/22/06 10:17 AM
bevaau said...
mamacita, How did you "lighten up the pressure on the foot a bit" on your Pfaff? What model do you have? I have a 7570 and have often wished I could choose the pressure on the foot! Bevaau
2/23/06 4:21 PM
blue eyes said...
I have made View B of this top twice, once using size C and the other using a size D (yes, I have had to puchase 2 different patterns). View B of this pattern does not include 1" SA as stated in pattern. I compared pattern measurements to finished width measurement stated in pattern. On size C, I had to let the SA out to 1/4" and it still fits snug. The second time I made it using size D, I redrew the SA to 1" and basted, and then sewed and nipped in. I had trouble with the neckline stretching on both garments using very different knits.
3/18/06 0:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Kayla Kennington 721

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now