Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8151 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1622 times 79 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:mamacita
photo
Friend of PR
About mamacitastar
NM USA
Member since: 8/31/05
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/06 11:29 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Turned out gorgeous, so all your work was worth it! Thanks for an informative review.
2/21/06 12:07 PM
Leora said...
Mamacita, that is a good point about the side SA. I wasn't aware that a FBA isn't needed for this style and thank you for that tidbit of advice as I want to make one for a friend. Great review!
2/21/06 12:42 PM
PegL said...
Great looking top! Love the fabric! Lots of good advice in your review!
2/21/06 2:26 PM
frame said...
Your top looks great. The fabric sure is pretty. Great review.
2/21/06 6:58 PM
SewLimited said...
Your top looks perfect!
2/21/06 8:39 PM
Liane M said...
Very pretty.
2/21/06 9:06 PM
cmarie12 said...
Loved your fabric choice for the top! Grat job!
2/21/06 11:06 PM
Lori V said...
Love your top the fabric is gorgeous.
2/21/06 11:58 PM
CarolynD said...
Just lovely, great color for you, and the print is gorgeous.
2/22/06 0:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love the fabric in your photo. A nice fitting top on you.
2/22/06 5:21 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice top. And it never hurts to add another review of a pattern!
2/22/06 8:33 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely top! I'm glad you did a review on this.
2/22/06 9:04 AM
Celeste said...
Love your serger! I'm a Babylock fan also. By the way, I recently got the blindstitch foot for the Babylock serger and recently took the time to fiddle with learning to use it by hemming the bottoms of some t-shirts I bought at the thrift store. My gosh, what beautiful factory-looking hems I was able to get and so very very quickly!! It was so much less work than the twin needle and with no prep like using interfacing or Wonder Tape, just folded over like a blindhem and stitched around!! No funny bumpy hems or anything out of the ordinary. You use the two thread stitch with the blindhem foot and follow suggested settings that come with the Babylock foot. I put invisible thread in the needle and Polyarn in the bottom. Wooly nylon would work, too. The invisible thread on top works with any color fabric of course and the wooly nylon in the looper balances the tension of the invisible nylon on the top. I'm so impressed I don't know if I ever want to hassle with the other way of doing knit hems on a regular machine again! I had read on the sew site of About.com where a lady was raving about doing blind hems on her serger and recommended highly getting a blinchem foot for my serger. Now I am a believer!!!
2/22/06 9:45 AM
mamacita said...
Celeste (I tried to pm you but it did not work!) thank you for this incredible piece of advice. My babylock Imagine Wave is brand brand new in my picture. You can see the instruction book lying by the side of the machine! I had just taken it out of the box, threaded it up and made this top. I am in the middle of finishing a jacket but I could not wait to try out the serger. I have not even looked at the DVD that came with it. I ordered it from a bricks and motar store in the Los Angeles area so I have not had any classes to find out what it can do other than basic serger stuff. I am going to call my dealer and try and get this foot . I have been using a 16 year old three thread serger for 16 years!! I think I have died and gone to serger heaven!! The reviews on this site and aan encouraging PR member helped me to take the plunge. If you could have seen the lumpy bits that this serger sailed over while making this top!! Wow! where has it been all my sewing life!!!!!
2/22/06 10:17 AM
bevaau said...
mamacita, How did you "lighten up the pressure on the foot a bit" on your Pfaff? What model do you have? I have a 7570 and have often wished I could choose the pressure on the foot! Bevaau
2/23/06 4:21 PM
blue eyes said...
I have made View B of this top twice, once using size C and the other using a size D (yes, I have had to puchase 2 different patterns). View B of this pattern does not include 1" SA as stated in pattern. I compared pattern measurements to finished width measurement stated in pattern. On size C, I had to let the SA out to 1/4" and it still fits snug. The second time I made it using size D, I redrew the SA to 1" and basted, and then sewed and nipped in. I had trouble with the neckline stretching on both garments using very different knits.
3/18/06 0:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 5624
photo
Review by Creative L... on 10/13/10
Read Review

McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3529 Jackets
photo
Review by CynthiaSue on 4/30/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us