SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Soho Coat (Soho Coat)

6 more reviews
Viewed 2493 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/06 5:30 PM
Last Updated:9/28/11 0:35 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
mssewcrazy: harvesting is a great idea. You will need two things since there is a closure holding inside as well. You could also use ties or leather straps for a different look.
9/29/11 9:42 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Fabulous looking versions of the coat! Do you think you might be able to harvest a metal buckle closure from a belt and recycle it or even hardware from a thrift store coat if all else fails. This coat pattern is so versatile it could change endlessly with the fabric and hardware.
9/29/11 7:02 AM
Barbara V said...
Wow, three versions of this coat for you - each so different. I love this one too and it looks truly rain repellent and with the bonus lining. Super job as always.
9/28/11 2:35 PM
DorothyK said...
This is a great robe- and of course, coat. Everything you make is wonderful.
5/9/10 12:55 PM
sfshaza said...
What a great, snuggly robe!!
5/9/10 0:43 AM
Diane E said...
Somehow I missed this the first time around -- wonderful swaggery coat, indeed (wonderful sentence, too!). Love the first version and really love the robe. So cozy and classy.
5/8/10 10:51 AM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW! Just beautiful. How many shoes do you own? Every outfit you make has the perfect shoe to go with it! Don't think I haven't noticed!
5/8/10 8:30 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful coat...looks lovely on you!
5/8/10 7:14 AM
Kayseri said...
Very snuggly looking - it's great to see a robe that's not the normal style.
5/8/10 1:46 AM
Dale C said...
Ann, I love all those new things you posted, but especially this coat! It's beautiful.
5/7/10 9:22 PM
Barbara V said...
Great fabric and colors and very smart looking on you. Whichever way you wear it, coat or robe, it's sure to keep you warm. I want a cozy robe too.
5/7/10 9:15 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful! THis looks so chic on you, Ann. I love your hair, by the way.
5/7/10 8:25 PM
Susan J. said...
I'm wondering about using this pattern for a bathrobe/house coat.
3/9/08 12:19 PM
MrsCrumpet said...
This is a beautiful coat with nice lines. I think if you were to look on ebay for antique buckles you would find something nice. I have some gorgeous victorian cut steel buckles and shell buckles that would look great with a coat like this!
9/30/06 1:27 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I'm planning on making this coat. I found that the Sewing Workshop website stocks these buckles: http://www.sewingworkshop.com/index.php/action/item/id/75/prevaction/category/previd/3/prevstart/0/
5/21/06 12:05 PM
Ann Smith said...
MarilynB, I didn't like the doggie buckles. They are too heavy plus have a bit of a bend so they don't work well enough. I'm resigned to the plastic ones.
3/11/06 12:46 PM
MarilynB said...
Love your coat, Ann. If you like your doggie buckles when you receive them, please publish the website.
3/10/06 12:13 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thank you all. I love this coat. Leslie, I hope to make this into a raincoat as well.
3/10/06 11:25 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
As usual a beautiful result by Ann. I enjoyed looking through all her projects again. This coat is definitely on my list but I am looking to make it up as a raincoat.
3/10/06 0:01 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. That fabric is perfect for the coat, with a nice sheen. You look lovely, BTW.
2/24/06 8:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very cool coat.
2/23/06 7:33 PM
PhyllisC said...
Wow - great coat! I've been lookiog for a raincoat desgn - this just might do it.
2/23/06 5:58 PM
SewLimited said...
Beautiful result for the infamous boiled wool!
2/23/06 4:23 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wow: you've been a busy sewing lady. This, as usual, looks fantastic on you. Love the color, style and buckles.
2/23/06 9:47 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Lovely. I'm glad you found the buckles you want.
2/23/06 9:22 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Wow! And, clicking through your photo album - you obviously know what your best colors are... no one would ever guess you make your own clothes I bet!au
2/23/06 9:08 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful coat! It looks so classy on you.
2/23/06 8:52 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful !
2/23/06 8:40 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Its gorgeous!
2/23/06 6:37 AM
CarolynD said...
This is a lovely coat. It has a feeling of late teens early twenties styling to my eye, that is one of my favorite times of fashion. Just beautiful!
2/23/06 0:11 AM
QuickFade said...
I love it!!!
2/22/06 11:26 PM
Sewphie said...
Wonderful coat! Have been looking at this pattern -- it'll definitely be on my list now!
2/22/06 9:54 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful
2/22/06 9:48 PM
mClones said...
The coat looks so elegant on you and fun-to-wear at the same time. Beautiful, as usual.
2/22/06 8:50 PM
Lori Sews said...
Just gorgeous!
2/22/06 8:16 PM
Susan R said...
A beautiful coat. I love the buckle closure!
2/22/06 8:00 PM
Pam Z said...
Beautiful coat on you! I am so tempted to try this even though I rarely need to wear a coat either.
2/22/06 7:17 PM
touran said...
How beautiful. I was so unsure about this coat on my figure type, but yours doesn't look at all baggy. It's very good looking.
2/22/06 7:12 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Great coat. I have it on my list to use to sew a raincoat. Glad to see your review.
2/22/06 7:11 PM
cmarie12 said...
I love, love, love the coat! What a great way to use the boiled wool.
2/22/06 6:50 PM
Ann Smith said...
Esmerelda, I had spotted the ones on the SW website but they look exactly like the plastic ones I have. No mention of what they are made of. About lining, I don't see any reason you couldn't line this if you duplicate the pattern pieces. The lining will show at the turnback and hood interior.
2/22/06 6:35 PM
Esmerelda Twinpalms said...
Wow! I've been looking for a coat pattern. This could be it, although I think I'll wait till next winter, now. Do you think it could be lined? Even though I'm in California, I'd like a new lined coat.
2/22/06 6:28 PM
Esmerelda Twinpalms said...
Wow! I've been looking for a coat pattern. This could be it, although I think I'll wait till next winter, now. Do you think it could be lined? Even though I'm in California, I'd like a new lined coat. I just found the slide buckles at the sewing workshop web page http://www.sewingworkshop.com/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=94 Can't tell whether they're plastic or not from the photo.
2/22/06 6:23 PM
bunz said...
Stunning!
2/22/06 5:53 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gorgeous!
2/22/06 5:49 PM
carolynw said...
What a super looking coat - terrific job you did - looks great. I may make this as it is coming on to Spring here in Canada and an unlined coat would be OK. I hate tight fitting coats so this would be ideal.
2/22/06 5:44 PM
blue mooney said...
Great coat, Ann! I admired this pattern when I saw it modeled at etaDallas. I think it's a classic. You made wonderful use of the boiled wool!
2/22/06 5:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Studio Cherie Summer Clutch

photo
by: ggf2005

Review
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

More Info