Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Soho Coat (Soho Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2471 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/06 5:30 PM
Last Updated:9/28/11 0:35 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
blue mooney said...
Great coat, Ann! I admired this pattern when I saw it modeled at etaDallas. I think it's a classic. You made wonderful use of the boiled wool!
2/22/06 5:39 PM
carolynw said...
What a super looking coat - terrific job you did - looks great. I may make this as it is coming on to Spring here in Canada and an unlined coat would be OK. I hate tight fitting coats so this would be ideal.
2/22/06 5:44 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gorgeous!
2/22/06 5:49 PM
bunz said...
Stunning!
2/22/06 5:53 PM
Esmerelda Twinpalms said...
Wow! I've been looking for a coat pattern. This could be it, although I think I'll wait till next winter, now. Do you think it could be lined? Even though I'm in California, I'd like a new lined coat. I just found the slide buckles at the sewing workshop web page http://www.sewingworkshop.com/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=94 Can't tell whether they're plastic or not from the photo.
2/22/06 6:23 PM
Esmerelda Twinpalms said...
Wow! I've been looking for a coat pattern. This could be it, although I think I'll wait till next winter, now. Do you think it could be lined? Even though I'm in California, I'd like a new lined coat.
2/22/06 6:28 PM
Ann Smith said...
Esmerelda, I had spotted the ones on the SW website but they look exactly like the plastic ones I have. No mention of what they are made of. About lining, I don't see any reason you couldn't line this if you duplicate the pattern pieces. The lining will show at the turnback and hood interior.
2/22/06 6:35 PM
cmarie12 said...
I love, love, love the coat! What a great way to use the boiled wool.
2/22/06 6:50 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Great coat. I have it on my list to use to sew a raincoat. Glad to see your review.
2/22/06 7:11 PM
touran said...
How beautiful. I was so unsure about this coat on my figure type, but yours doesn't look at all baggy. It's very good looking.
2/22/06 7:12 PM
Pam Z said...
Beautiful coat on you! I am so tempted to try this even though I rarely need to wear a coat either.
2/22/06 7:17 PM
Susan R said...
A beautiful coat. I love the buckle closure!
2/22/06 8:00 PM
Lori Sews said...
Just gorgeous!
2/22/06 8:16 PM
mClones said...
The coat looks so elegant on you and fun-to-wear at the same time. Beautiful, as usual.
2/22/06 8:50 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful
2/22/06 9:48 PM
Sewphie said...
Wonderful coat! Have been looking at this pattern -- it'll definitely be on my list now!
2/22/06 9:54 PM
QuickFade said...
I love it!!!
2/22/06 11:26 PM
CarolynD said...
This is a lovely coat. It has a feeling of late teens early twenties styling to my eye, that is one of my favorite times of fashion. Just beautiful!
2/23/06 0:11 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Its gorgeous!
2/23/06 6:37 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful !
2/23/06 8:40 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful coat! It looks so classy on you.
2/23/06 8:52 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Wow! And, clicking through your photo album - you obviously know what your best colors are... no one would ever guess you make your own clothes I bet!au
2/23/06 9:08 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Lovely. I'm glad you found the buckles you want.
2/23/06 9:22 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wow: you've been a busy sewing lady. This, as usual, looks fantastic on you. Love the color, style and buckles.
2/23/06 9:47 AM
SewLimited said...
Beautiful result for the infamous boiled wool!
2/23/06 4:23 PM
PhyllisC said...
Wow - great coat! I've been lookiog for a raincoat desgn - this just might do it.
2/23/06 5:58 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very cool coat.
2/23/06 7:33 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. That fabric is perfect for the coat, with a nice sheen. You look lovely, BTW.
2/24/06 8:24 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
As usual a beautiful result by Ann. I enjoyed looking through all her projects again. This coat is definitely on my list but I am looking to make it up as a raincoat.
3/10/06 0:01 AM
Ann Smith said...
Thank you all. I love this coat. Leslie, I hope to make this into a raincoat as well.
3/10/06 11:25 AM
MarilynB said...
Love your coat, Ann. If you like your doggie buckles when you receive them, please publish the website.
3/10/06 12:13 PM
Ann Smith said...
MarilynB, I didn't like the doggie buckles. They are too heavy plus have a bit of a bend so they don't work well enough. I'm resigned to the plastic ones.
3/11/06 12:46 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I'm planning on making this coat. I found that the Sewing Workshop website stocks these buckles: http://www.sewingworkshop.com/index.php/action/item/id/75/prevaction/category/previd/3/prevstart/0/
5/21/06 12:05 PM
MrsCrumpet said...
This is a beautiful coat with nice lines. I think if you were to look on ebay for antique buckles you would find something nice. I have some gorgeous victorian cut steel buckles and shell buckles that would look great with a coat like this!
9/30/06 1:27 PM
Susan J. said...
I'm wondering about using this pattern for a bathrobe/house coat.
3/9/08 12:19 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful! THis looks so chic on you, Ann. I love your hair, by the way.
5/7/10 8:25 PM
Barbara V said...
Great fabric and colors and very smart looking on you. Whichever way you wear it, coat or robe, it's sure to keep you warm. I want a cozy robe too.
5/7/10 9:15 PM
Dale C said...
Ann, I love all those new things you posted, but especially this coat! It's beautiful.
5/7/10 9:22 PM
Kayseri said...
Very snuggly looking - it's great to see a robe that's not the normal style.
5/8/10 1:46 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful coat...looks lovely on you!
5/8/10 7:14 AM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW! Just beautiful. How many shoes do you own? Every outfit you make has the perfect shoe to go with it! Don't think I haven't noticed!
5/8/10 8:30 AM
Diane E said...
Somehow I missed this the first time around -- wonderful swaggery coat, indeed (wonderful sentence, too!). Love the first version and really love the robe. So cozy and classy.
5/8/10 10:51 AM
sfshaza said...
What a great, snuggly robe!!
5/9/10 0:43 AM
DorothyK said...
This is a great robe- and of course, coat. Everything you make is wonderful.
5/9/10 12:55 PM
Barbara V said...
Wow, three versions of this coat for you - each so different. I love this one too and it looks truly rain repellent and with the bonus lining. Super job as always.
9/28/11 2:35 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Fabulous looking versions of the coat! Do you think you might be able to harvest a metal buckle closure from a belt and recycle it or even hardware from a thrift store coat if all else fails. This coat pattern is so versatile it could change endlessly with the fabric and hardware.
9/29/11 7:02 AM
Ann Smith said...
mssewcrazy: harvesting is a great idea. You will need two things since there is a closure holding inside as well. You could also use ties or leather straps for a different look.
9/29/11 9:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 2455
photo
Review by SeamsFabul... on 8/30/10
Read Review

Butterick 6016 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 6016 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5895
photo
Review by mimi g. on 5/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us