SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Soho Coat (Soho Coat)

6 more reviews
Viewed 2480 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 384 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/06 5:30 PM
Last Updated:9/28/11 0:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
blue mooney said...
Great coat, Ann! I admired this pattern when I saw it modeled at etaDallas. I think it's a classic. You made wonderful use of the boiled wool!
2/22/06 5:39 PM
carolynw said...
What a super looking coat - terrific job you did - looks great. I may make this as it is coming on to Spring here in Canada and an unlined coat would be OK. I hate tight fitting coats so this would be ideal.
2/22/06 5:44 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gorgeous!
2/22/06 5:49 PM
bunz said...
Stunning!
2/22/06 5:53 PM
Esmerelda Twinpalms said...
Wow! I've been looking for a coat pattern. This could be it, although I think I'll wait till next winter, now. Do you think it could be lined? Even though I'm in California, I'd like a new lined coat. I just found the slide buckles at the sewing workshop web page http://www.sewingworkshop.com/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=94 Can't tell whether they're plastic or not from the photo.
2/22/06 6:23 PM
Esmerelda Twinpalms said...
Wow! I've been looking for a coat pattern. This could be it, although I think I'll wait till next winter, now. Do you think it could be lined? Even though I'm in California, I'd like a new lined coat.
2/22/06 6:28 PM
Ann Smith said...
Esmerelda, I had spotted the ones on the SW website but they look exactly like the plastic ones I have. No mention of what they are made of. About lining, I don't see any reason you couldn't line this if you duplicate the pattern pieces. The lining will show at the turnback and hood interior.
2/22/06 6:35 PM
cmarie12 said...
I love, love, love the coat! What a great way to use the boiled wool.
2/22/06 6:50 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Great coat. I have it on my list to use to sew a raincoat. Glad to see your review.
2/22/06 7:11 PM
touran said...
How beautiful. I was so unsure about this coat on my figure type, but yours doesn't look at all baggy. It's very good looking.
2/22/06 7:12 PM
Pam Z said...
Beautiful coat on you! I am so tempted to try this even though I rarely need to wear a coat either.
2/22/06 7:17 PM
Susan R said...
A beautiful coat. I love the buckle closure!
2/22/06 8:00 PM
Lori Sews said...
Just gorgeous!
2/22/06 8:16 PM
mClones said...
The coat looks so elegant on you and fun-to-wear at the same time. Beautiful, as usual.
2/22/06 8:50 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful
2/22/06 9:48 PM
Sewphie said...
Wonderful coat! Have been looking at this pattern -- it'll definitely be on my list now!
2/22/06 9:54 PM
QuickFade said...
I love it!!!
2/22/06 11:26 PM
CarolynD said...
This is a lovely coat. It has a feeling of late teens early twenties styling to my eye, that is one of my favorite times of fashion. Just beautiful!
2/23/06 0:11 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Its gorgeous!
2/23/06 6:37 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful !
2/23/06 8:40 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful coat! It looks so classy on you.
2/23/06 8:52 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Wow! And, clicking through your photo album - you obviously know what your best colors are... no one would ever guess you make your own clothes I bet!au
2/23/06 9:08 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Lovely. I'm glad you found the buckles you want.
2/23/06 9:22 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wow: you've been a busy sewing lady. This, as usual, looks fantastic on you. Love the color, style and buckles.
2/23/06 9:47 AM
SewLimited said...
Beautiful result for the infamous boiled wool!
2/23/06 4:23 PM
PhyllisC said...
Wow - great coat! I've been lookiog for a raincoat desgn - this just might do it.
2/23/06 5:58 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very cool coat.
2/23/06 7:33 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. That fabric is perfect for the coat, with a nice sheen. You look lovely, BTW.
2/24/06 8:24 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
As usual a beautiful result by Ann. I enjoyed looking through all her projects again. This coat is definitely on my list but I am looking to make it up as a raincoat.
3/10/06 0:01 AM
Ann Smith said...
Thank you all. I love this coat. Leslie, I hope to make this into a raincoat as well.
3/10/06 11:25 AM
MarilynB said...
Love your coat, Ann. If you like your doggie buckles when you receive them, please publish the website.
3/10/06 12:13 PM
Ann Smith said...
MarilynB, I didn't like the doggie buckles. They are too heavy plus have a bit of a bend so they don't work well enough. I'm resigned to the plastic ones.
3/11/06 12:46 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I'm planning on making this coat. I found that the Sewing Workshop website stocks these buckles: http://www.sewingworkshop.com/index.php/action/item/id/75/prevaction/category/previd/3/prevstart/0/
5/21/06 12:05 PM
MrsCrumpet said...
This is a beautiful coat with nice lines. I think if you were to look on ebay for antique buckles you would find something nice. I have some gorgeous victorian cut steel buckles and shell buckles that would look great with a coat like this!
9/30/06 1:27 PM
Susan J. said...
I'm wondering about using this pattern for a bathrobe/house coat.
3/9/08 12:19 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful! THis looks so chic on you, Ann. I love your hair, by the way.
5/7/10 8:25 PM
Barbara V said...
Great fabric and colors and very smart looking on you. Whichever way you wear it, coat or robe, it's sure to keep you warm. I want a cozy robe too.
5/7/10 9:15 PM
Dale C said...
Ann, I love all those new things you posted, but especially this coat! It's beautiful.
5/7/10 9:22 PM
Kayseri said...
Very snuggly looking - it's great to see a robe that's not the normal style.
5/8/10 1:46 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful coat...looks lovely on you!
5/8/10 7:14 AM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW! Just beautiful. How many shoes do you own? Every outfit you make has the perfect shoe to go with it! Don't think I haven't noticed!
5/8/10 8:30 AM
Diane E said...
Somehow I missed this the first time around -- wonderful swaggery coat, indeed (wonderful sentence, too!). Love the first version and really love the robe. So cozy and classy.
5/8/10 10:51 AM
sfshaza said...
What a great, snuggly robe!!
5/9/10 0:43 AM
DorothyK said...
This is a great robe- and of course, coat. Everything you make is wonderful.
5/9/10 12:55 PM
Barbara V said...
Wow, three versions of this coat for you - each so different. I love this one too and it looks truly rain repellent and with the bonus lining. Super job as always.
9/28/11 2:35 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Fabulous looking versions of the coat! Do you think you might be able to harvest a metal buckle closure from a belt and recycle it or even hardware from a thrift store coat if all else fails. This coat pattern is so versatile it could change endlessly with the fabric and hardware.
9/29/11 7:02 AM
Ann Smith said...
mssewcrazy: harvesting is a great idea. You will need two things since there is a closure holding inside as well. You could also use ties or leather straps for a different look.
9/29/11 9:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Butterick 6775

photo
by: Cation Des...

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8663

photo
by: fern1knits

Review