SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7949 (Gloves)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1268 times 
Reviewed by:juliette2
photo

 
 
About juliette2star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/18/03
Reviews written: 60
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/06 0:44 AM
Last Updated:1/28/07 8:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
joyoussprite said...
I love this pattern! I thought they looked challenging, and haven't gotten up the courage to try them yet, but I'm so happy that you did and told the rest of us about them. I usually find that my second attempt at anything new is a vast improvement.
2/23/06 0:50 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Uh-oh, you're an advanced sewist and had trouble! I have this pattern, but it sounds like it will linger in the stash. Ironic that it fits you but it's so troublesome. But the second time around it will be easier to sew. Why not spend an afternoon and make a few, at least one or two pairs will turn out? ...and just to make sure, you didn't have to adjust the finger length for your long fingers?
2/23/06 2:02 AM
juliette2 said...
That's right, the fingers were long enough for me. I consider myself "advanced" but not "expert" -- there's always something new to learn in sewing. I was a bit daunted by the pattern but decided to try it anyway. After all, the world won't end if my gloves don't turn out well! Go ahead, try it! They really were fun as well as frustrating!
2/23/06 2:37 AM
slanden99 said...
Despite the challenge, I'd rather make mine fit me that spend hours at the stores trying to find some with short enough fingers.
2/24/06 2:09 PM
BeckyC said...
Great looking gloves! I love how long the cuff is -- seems like RTW glove cuffs are never long enough for me. Even though they're challenging to make, you have a pair of gloves that fit your hands! Congratulations!
1/28/07 10:06 AM
Marji said...
How impressive! They look great in the pic. Great review too, thanks for including it.
1/28/07 11:52 AM
fuzzygalore said...
What a good idea... I have thin hands that are as long as large men's, you see the problem :-). I generally stick with stretch, or endure fingers that twist randomly because they aren't really touching me. This could be the solution... Thanks for the inspiration, and congratulations on your great results!
1/28/07 12:49 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - these look fabulous. I am so impressed. I wouldn't even attempt to make a pair like these.
1/28/07 1:02 PM
LiZ said...
Fabulous gloves.
1/28/07 3:37 PM
KiwiWendy said...
I have short & broad hands (size L), so now I know I'll need to shorten the fingers a smidge, cos I've had this pattern for ages and am finally going to get around to making them.
1/28/07 4:58 PM
AnnieInNYC said...
Your gloves are spectacular! Thanks so much for the review. I never would have thought of making gloves, but would love to give it a try, especially to eliminate that annoying space that sometimes occurs with RTW gloves between the glove and end of sleeve.
1/28/07 10:23 PM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks SO MUCH Juliette - this is the same pattern I'm using that I posted about. Your gloves look beautiful and I don't think SEWISTS would notice any small imperfection. THANKS!
9/2/07 9:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now