Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7949 (Gloves) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1260 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:juliette2
photo
About juliette2star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/18/03
Reviews written: 60
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/06 0:44 AM
Last Updated:1/28/07 8:12 AM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
joyoussprite said...
I love this pattern! I thought they looked challenging, and haven't gotten up the courage to try them yet, but I'm so happy that you did and told the rest of us about them. I usually find that my second attempt at anything new is a vast improvement.
2/23/06 0:50 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Uh-oh, you're an advanced sewist and had trouble! I have this pattern, but it sounds like it will linger in the stash. Ironic that it fits you but it's so troublesome. But the second time around it will be easier to sew. Why not spend an afternoon and make a few, at least one or two pairs will turn out? ...and just to make sure, you didn't have to adjust the finger length for your long fingers?
2/23/06 2:02 AM
juliette2 said...
That's right, the fingers were long enough for me. I consider myself "advanced" but not "expert" -- there's always something new to learn in sewing. I was a bit daunted by the pattern but decided to try it anyway. After all, the world won't end if my gloves don't turn out well! Go ahead, try it! They really were fun as well as frustrating!
2/23/06 2:37 AM
slanden99 said...
Despite the challenge, I'd rather make mine fit me that spend hours at the stores trying to find some with short enough fingers.
2/24/06 2:09 PM
BeckyC said...
Great looking gloves! I love how long the cuff is -- seems like RTW glove cuffs are never long enough for me. Even though they're challenging to make, you have a pair of gloves that fit your hands! Congratulations!
1/28/07 10:06 AM
Marji said...
How impressive! They look great in the pic. Great review too, thanks for including it.
1/28/07 11:52 AM
fuzzygalore said...
What a good idea... I have thin hands that are as long as large men's, you see the problem :-). I generally stick with stretch, or endure fingers that twist randomly because they aren't really touching me. This could be the solution... Thanks for the inspiration, and congratulations on your great results!
1/28/07 12:49 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - these look fabulous. I am so impressed. I wouldn't even attempt to make a pair like these.
1/28/07 1:02 PM
LiZ said...
Fabulous gloves.
1/28/07 3:37 PM
KiwiWendy said...
I have short & broad hands (size L), so now I know I'll need to shorten the fingers a smidge, cos I've had this pattern for ages and am finally going to get around to making them.
1/28/07 4:58 PM
AnnieInNYC said...
Your gloves are spectacular! Thanks so much for the review. I never would have thought of making gloves, but would love to give it a try, especially to eliminate that annoying space that sometimes occurs with RTW gloves between the glove and end of sleeve.
1/28/07 10:23 PM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks SO MUCH Juliette - this is the same pattern I'm using that I posted about. Your gloves look beautiful and I don't think SEWISTS would notice any small imperfection. THANKS!
9/2/07 9:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2004-12
photo
Review by 21wale on 1/6/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4136
photo
Review by DianaVodo on 4/20/11
Read Review

McCalls 6065 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6065 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4927 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 4927 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us