SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1004 (Misses' Fitting Shell (sloper))

5 more reviews
Viewed 2118 times 
Reviewed by:Kateo
photo

 
 
About Kateostar
MA USA
Member since: 10/12/03
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/06 10:29 AM
Last Updated:2/26/06 11:28 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Virginya said...
I wonder if it is sensible to make an "after" double to try on as time changes our bodies. I know I have changed in unexpected ways.
9/19/07 0:21 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Thanks for sharing your success story. I just bought this today and I'm both dreading the process and looking forward to the outcome.
7/8/06 3:21 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I just bought one of these for 1.99 and some 1inch check gingham to give it a whirl, thanks for the detailed review!
2/27/06 11:51 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Congratulations! Seeing the fit, and feeling it, is actually most of the battle I think :-).

Now that you've done this, you might consider trying the same process for different brands. I did the same thing in a class, and needed 14 adjustments to get my Vogue sloper to fit. As a lark, I also made a Burda sloper. I needed one adjustment. Guess which brand immediately enriched the Goodwill bins :-)? I just kept the Enormous Miyakes and such no-fit items. Have never looked back or regretted it.
2/27/06 11:42 AM

AnneM said...
Good for you to do all this! I keep meaning to... Congratulations.
2/27/06 9:19 AM
slanden99 said...
Congradulations on your fitting shell! It sure is a learning experience. Looks like you are short like me--mostly just in the arms and legs.
2/26/06 9:58 PM
frame said...
What a great learning process. I also use my patio sliding door to trace patterns. It's like a huge light table. Terrific review. Congratulations on your "fit"!
2/26/06 4:43 PM
Rhoda K said...
I've often wondered about this pattern but have never tried it. I may just give it a go and see what happens, can't hurt. Great review.
2/26/06 12:38 PM
CarolynGM said...
I did this once, and like you, learned a lot from it. I really enjoyed reading your description of your process.
2/26/06 12:28 PM
Peggy L said...
Great review -sounds like you learned a lot.
2/26/06 12:15 PM
Elona said...
Terrific review of the process! And you are right: Having done this will help you a lot with big 4 patterns. When you're contemplating a new garment, and wondering about the ease and style, you'll be able to drop your sloper over the pieces to compare with "yourself." In addition to showing me what alterations I would usually need, the fitting shell has saved me many times from making something totally unsuitable or unflattering, in that it was clear that the design would work only for a different body type--even with a bazillion alterations.
2/26/06 11:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

More Info
Self Drafted Pattern 274515-1000

photo
by: magneticlo...

Review