SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2005-128 (Skirt)

Viewed 1199 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 185
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 174
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/06 4:30 PM
Last Updated:2/26/06 5:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
This is a very nice pattern that would also look good in a drapier fabric. It looks so sleek on you in the silk matka! I'm inclined to agree with you about this color with your tweed jacket though. It seems to compete a little too much with the softer colors in the jacket and top.
2/26/06 5:20 PM
Lilibet said...
The skirt is gorgeous and your jacket is just superb. I agree that they don't work well together though. I like the silhouette of the skirt but in the photo the colour looks too strong and solid. Perhaps a textured fabric, or self pattern or even a very narrow stripe in the colours of the tweed would work?
2/26/06 5:22 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful skirt, not sure about combining with the jacket. Perhaps less contrast would be preferable.
2/26/06 5:29 PM
AndSewOn said...
I don't think I would give up on the jacket and skirt so quickly. What if you used a shell or top that either matched or echoed the colors and intensity of the skirt? That would tie the top and bottom half of the outfit together. Also, it would give you some options for wearing the jacket. Love the skirt, and how slimming the jacket and skirt are.
2/26/06 5:45 PM
Jan B. said...
Your sewing is just super! I, too, love the skirt and love the jacket--together though--not so much. I agree there's too much contrast. As talented as you are, you'll find the solution.
2/26/06 5:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice looking skirt. I think you are right about the colors not working quite right together. Oh well, what's a girl to do! Make a jacket to go with this skirt and and another skirt to go with the other jacket.!
2/26/06 6:08 PM
bunz said...
The skirt IS beautiful. I'm wondering what the outfit would look like w a burgundy top. You're right, the blue in the jacket is the predominant color. From the pic, you can't even see any burgundy in it.
2/26/06 7:00 PM
drsue said...
Really pretty skirt. kind of similar to a vogue skirt I've made. it's possible your skirt will work with the jacket with a shell that's more the burgundy color. BTW, that jacket is just wonderful too.
2/26/06 7:46 PM
Laurasews said...
Just beautiful. I have to pull this skirt pattern out and look at it. You are a beautiful seamstress. Very flattering - all of the pieces.
2/26/06 9:48 PM
danglette said...
Nice work! Maybe if you put burgundy buttons on the jacket it will balance better with the skirt. Also, a burgundy top under the jacket or a scarf with burgundy in it will balance the outfit
2/27/06 4:34 AM
Nickle said...
Great looking skirt. I also think a different shell would bring the two together. Love your jacket too.
2/27/06 6:41 AM
slanden99 said...
Very nice skirt
2/27/06 10:43 AM
Nancy K said...
I love this skirt. It is very flattering.
4/3/06 5:46 PM
regine said...
Very beautiful skirt, well made, congratulations.
4/30/06 12:55 PM
Cristina_TC said...
WONDERFULL, and the jacket is lovable too! Great choice of colours and fabrics, thanks for the review, I'd like to make a skirt like this but I haven't the magazine :p I'll try to copy, it's too much beautiful, compliments!
9/11/07 8:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 4609

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity 3961

photo
by: Renren

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now