Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2005-128 (Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1197 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/06 4:30 PM
Last Updated:2/26/06 5:52 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
This is a very nice pattern that would also look good in a drapier fabric. It looks so sleek on you in the silk matka! I'm inclined to agree with you about this color with your tweed jacket though. It seems to compete a little too much with the softer colors in the jacket and top.
2/26/06 5:20 PM
Lilibet said...
The skirt is gorgeous and your jacket is just superb. I agree that they don't work well together though. I like the silhouette of the skirt but in the photo the colour looks too strong and solid. Perhaps a textured fabric, or self pattern or even a very narrow stripe in the colours of the tweed would work?
2/26/06 5:22 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful skirt, not sure about combining with the jacket. Perhaps less contrast would be preferable.
2/26/06 5:29 PM
AndSewOn said...
I don't think I would give up on the jacket and skirt so quickly. What if you used a shell or top that either matched or echoed the colors and intensity of the skirt? That would tie the top and bottom half of the outfit together. Also, it would give you some options for wearing the jacket. Love the skirt, and how slimming the jacket and skirt are.
2/26/06 5:45 PM
Jan B. said...
Your sewing is just super! I, too, love the skirt and love the jacket--together though--not so much. I agree there's too much contrast. As talented as you are, you'll find the solution.
2/26/06 5:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice looking skirt. I think you are right about the colors not working quite right together. Oh well, what's a girl to do! Make a jacket to go with this skirt and and another skirt to go with the other jacket.!
2/26/06 6:08 PM
bunz said...
The skirt IS beautiful. I'm wondering what the outfit would look like w a burgundy top. You're right, the blue in the jacket is the predominant color. From the pic, you can't even see any burgundy in it.
2/26/06 7:00 PM
drsue said...
Really pretty skirt. kind of similar to a vogue skirt I've made. it's possible your skirt will work with the jacket with a shell that's more the burgundy color. BTW, that jacket is just wonderful too.
2/26/06 7:46 PM
Laurasews said...
Just beautiful. I have to pull this skirt pattern out and look at it. You are a beautiful seamstress. Very flattering - all of the pieces.
2/26/06 9:48 PM
danglette said...
Nice work! Maybe if you put burgundy buttons on the jacket it will balance better with the skirt. Also, a burgundy top under the jacket or a scarf with burgundy in it will balance the outfit
2/27/06 4:34 AM
Nickle said...
Great looking skirt. I also think a different shell would bring the two together. Love your jacket too.
2/27/06 6:41 AM
slanden99 said...
Very nice skirt
2/27/06 10:43 AM
Nancy K said...
I love this skirt. It is very flattering.
4/3/06 5:46 PM
regine said...
Very beautiful skirt, well made, congratulations.
4/30/06 12:55 PM
Cristina_TC said...
WONDERFULL, and the jacket is lovable too! Great choice of colours and fabrics, thanks for the review, I'd like to make a skirt like this but I haven't the magazine :p I'll try to copy, it's too much beautiful, compliments!
9/11/07 8:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 7608 Misses' Jeans
photo
Review by Renren on 6/30/13
Read Review

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3463
photo
Review by Sue Parrot... on 5/8/13
Read Review

Vogue 8355 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8355 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us