SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> MM Prim & Proper Jacket (Miss Moneypenny Prim & Proper)

2 more reviews
Viewed 2673 times 
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo

 
 
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/06 3:04 PM
Last Updated:3/3/06 2:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 50 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Simply beautiful-I LOVE your jacket, and that fabric is *perfect* thanks for such a detailed review-I missed this one, but I will be adding this to my wish list. the styling is wonderful-classic and up to date too.
6/13/06 6:13 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Great jacket, beautiful fabric, great review, great pics. Marita
4/1/06 1:03 AM
MarilynB said...
Somehow, I also missed this review. I have this pattern in my stash and had recently bought a wool tweed with this pattern in mind. Thanks for such a comprehensive review.
3/30/06 6:56 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
How in the world did I miss this one! Lovely, lovely jacket. Very informative review.
3/29/06 4:11 PM
Lalena said...
Your jacket is lovely. I have this pattern and have been waiting for a review, and now I will make it. One question: your collar looks much wider than the one in the pattern drawing--did you alter the pattern at the collar?
3/11/06 9:53 AM
Sew Little Thyme said...
Let me just say that I have been holding my breath waiting to see your pictures. Your jacket is wonderful! That fabric is perfect and the little details just give it that little something extra. Very nicely done! I have this pattern & have been so intimidated to try it, but now with your review I think I might be able to take the plunge! Thank you, thank you!!!!
3/6/06 1:22 PM
PegL said...
Phenomenal jacket! Great review!!
3/5/06 9:47 PM
PVA said...
Wow, where do I start -- well, first thank you so much for this wonderful review! I certainly will print it -- makes a terrific tutorial! I absolutely agree with your advice about muslins. I use them as a sew-along, especially with jackets!. Do it to the muslin first, document it, then onto the garment! Your finishing hand-stitching is awesome!
3/4/06 8:15 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous review for an equally fabulous jacket. LOVE you hand sewing, fantastic detail, "retro" style .....In now ! and the fit is superb. It is printing up, thanks so much !
3/3/06 10:03 PM
twistedangel said...
You guys are great!! ***blushing*** I'm glad you find this review helpful. :-)
3/3/06 9:12 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I sooo wnat this pattern ... but have nowhere to wear it! Lovely print!
3/3/06 8:32 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for the wonderful pictures. I love how your jacket turned out- it is terrific!
3/3/06 8:22 PM
Linda E. said...
great review. great jacket.
3/3/06 7:06 PM
jlg said...
I love your jacket.
3/3/06 6:45 PM
CarolynGM said...
What an adorable jacket. I've avoided HP jacket patterns because of all the trouble other reviewers have had. Your experience is very encouraging. HP should hire you to develop their instructions.
3/3/06 6:43 PM
CarolynD said...
I am so impressed with your approach, your ability! It gives me something to aspire to! The jacket is lovely.
3/3/06 6:38 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You made a delightful jacket. I've been dying to see it. I loved the photos of the inside construction; it's very, very helpful. Thanks.
3/3/06 6:13 PM
mamakooz said...
Great review! Beautiful jacket!
3/3/06 6:10 PM
sewbee73 said...
Thank you for posting your review. This is my favorite HP pattern and I am now inspired to make one. Yours looks beautiful on you.
3/3/06 6:08 PM
dbsewer said...
Very cute jacket and it looks great on you. I haven't tried these patterns yet. I'm currently boycotting pattern makers such as Lois Hinse and HP that cut sleeves only a very thin person or a 12 year old can wear :-). You did a great job with the adjustment. Skillfully done.
3/3/06 5:53 PM
gabrielle said...
Wonderful job, and I really appreciate your cadid and thorough review. Good advice on making muslins, too.
3/3/06 4:28 PM
casken said...
Very helpful review that is greatly appreciated. I'm not sure if I will ever make this but if I do I will definitely read your review thoroughly again.
3/3/06 3:32 PM
twistedangel said...
jemgirlca, I didn't make the shirt. It was an Express shirt from spring '04. Something I should mention if you would like to compare RTW sizes... a hotpatterns size 8 is like an Express size 2.
3/3/06 3:06 PM
jemgirlca said...
Amazing jacket! I wasn't even interested in this pattern, but I am now! Did you make the shirt you are wearing under it? It all makes a really great outfit!! Thanks for the review!
3/3/06 2:47 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
The fit is fantastic, and your notched collar is beyond super-amazing...
3/3/06 2:44 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Stunning!
3/3/06 2:43 PM
Nickle said...
I also was waiting for the pic. Its beautiful, just love the fabric.
3/3/06 2:37 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Oh, that jacket is a cutiepie! I love your handsewing detail, it makes it so personal. And your review is fantastic. You're a very good instructor. (:
3/3/06 2:37 PM
beangirl said...
totally beautiful jacket!!!
3/3/06 2:26 PM
drsue said...
I was waiting to see this! Lovely job. Looks like the fabric was just waiting for this jacket.
3/3/06 2:21 PM
moushka said...
Angel - Awesome review! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with this project, and adding the construction details. Very, very helpful. Looking forward to the pictures.
3/3/06 10:22 AM
xela said...
Fabulous review! I can't wait to see the pictures of your jacket. Your review has saved me hours AND I LOVE your attitude. Thanks
3/2/06 6:32 PM
AnneM said...
I keep waiting for that picture... :) I love this style. Thanks for the great review. I'll have to take a while to digest it! And then I'll have to decide if I'm ready for this pattern or not.
3/2/06 4:19 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
This is one of the best HP reviews I have read in a while! Very informative and please post when you have the photos added as we all want to re-read with the photos, I am sure!
3/2/06 2:48 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Your review was superb. You would make an excellent instructor....Wish you had video-taped!
3/2/06 11:52 AM
April K said...
Thank you, thank you for your advice on approaching a Hot Patterns jacket. I have been avoiding the pattern in my stash, but your review gives me the push I need to open it up again and give it a shot.
3/2/06 10:09 AM
licarritc said...
Unbelievably fabulous review! funny (read it at work and almost got in trouble I was laughing so hard!) I have this pattern and have been intimidated by it -now armed with the printed version of your review I think I can tackle it! Thank you so much!
3/2/06 9:24 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks for your really well written review. I appreciate your sharing your knowledge in this forum.
3/2/06 8:32 AM
Chris Kelly said...
Thanks for the review! I'm looking forward to seeing the pics!
3/2/06 6:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Looking forward to the photos. Very informative and helpful review.
3/2/06 4:59 AM
kwpanthermom said...
Thank you for the wonderful review. I, too, like your grandmother's approach to making a muslin. I rarely make muslins, and in fact am a little astounded at how many people here on PR do make them on a regular basis! I was just taught to measure, think, believe that "numbers don't lie," and "make it work."
3/1/06 11:42 PM
Jill Giard said...
Excellent review. Thanks! Can't wait to see the photos
3/1/06 8:17 PM
shard said...
thank you so much for taking the time to document the details! i can't wait to see the photos.
3/1/06 7:49 PM
Nickle said...
Really enjoyed your very informative review. Looking forward to the pics. I also liked your muslin advise.
3/1/06 6:45 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks so much for a very thorough and practical review! I am in the process of making one of the Miss Moneypenny tops right now. I can hardly wait to see your pictures of this luscous jacket!
3/1/06 6:44 PM
Ingiepops said...
Thanks for completing such a thorough and balanced review. I shall certainly be refering to this to make my version of this jacket for our upcoming winter. Can't wait to see the photos; sounds fab!
3/1/06 6:16 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Thank you for a wonderful review. I can't wait to see the jacket!
3/1/06 5:17 PM
jemgirlca said...
Great review! I can't wait to see your pictures!
3/1/06 4:53 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I found this review helpful even though I will never make this jacket. Especially your muslin advice. Cannot wait to see your photos!
3/1/06 4:19 PM
Georgene said...
Great review, 'fair and balanced'. I am looking forward to seeing your pictures. I love your grandmother's approach to fitting in the muslin. If you trace the seams, and cut 'big' for seam allowances where you can forsee problems, you should be able to correct everything in the muslin and carry it back to the pattern.
3/1/06 4:10 PM
Peggy L said...
I love your attitude!! Great review with lots of details. Can't wait to see your pictures. I think the sleeve fitting is pretty common for Hot Patterns - seems like a lot of people have to make the sleeves larger.
3/1/06 3:15 PM
Ahuva said...
Wow! what a comprehensive description of the process this definitely will help me in my quest to finally sew up one of my Hotpatterns patterns
3/1/06 3:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Other 0000

photo
by: ChrisS

Review
Simplicity 4946

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

More Info
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info