Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 1812 (Misses) thumbsup - Type:Sleepwear    printable version
Viewed 1836 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Holly
photo
About Hollystar
CA USA
Member since: 7/31/02
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/02 1:49 AM
Last Updated:11/27/02 4:03 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Loungewear    Sleepwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
You are brave to take on buttonholes as a beginner! I have not done that yet. Congratulations on your new sewing machine. I also started out on an old machine (my mother's, which I borrowed.) After struggling with it through a few projects, I went & bought a Kenmore too. It's a nice basic machine and I've never had a problem with it. But I do plan to save up for one with a one-step buttonholer.
10/4/02 2:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Your gown is so pretty!
10/4/02 3:59 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Holly, I love this pattern and the look of your gown! You are so right that it speaks to a more romantic era. Great job!
10/4/02 4:04 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This is a beautiful nightgown. I've always liked that white cotton romantic look, but it looks awfully silly on me for some reason. I guess I'm too much the tomboy...
10/4/02 5:29 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Holly, your nightgown is lovely, and I'd never guess that you are a beginner. Nice work! An idea for your next one: if you don't like 1/4" seams, lay out your pattern with a little bit of room around each piece and cut 1/4" from the edge of the pattern piece. It's easy to do "by eye", and you'll have 1/2" seams to work with. Hmmm - I'll bet those French seams were plenty tricky to do with only 1/4" to work with....
10/4/02 8:45 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a beautiful gown!
10/4/02 8:46 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Your nightgown is lovely, no one would ever know you are a beginner. Don't be fooled by the age of your machine, it's a gem. I have an old 1211 and these are quality machines!
10/4/02 9:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Holly! what a pretty nightgown! Love it. Bet, I have a kenmore too and it works great!
10/4/02 9:47 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, Holly, this is beautiful. Thanks for your wonderful review and sharing your beautiful work. I'd sure like to trade in my horrible old flannel pj/tee combos for something beautiful like this!
10/4/02 12:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
You are all so kind and I see what people mean when they feel so welcome here! I guess I'm not strictly a beginner. Used to sew home dec stuff, and teepee for my son years ago. Don't know why I never got around to garments until now, but it's a different ball game! I do treasure my Pfaff, but the poor dear needs servicing and I needed a bit more of a machine. I'll get around to fixing it up and then I'll have two machines. BTW, I chose the Kenmore from your review, Deepika. Oh yea, those french seams...I cheated a bit on the seam allowance. ;) Never could have done that on 1/4". Thanks for all the good advice and encouragement. Now I'm off to do bigger and better things!
10/4/02 1:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Beautiful gown! You should be proud of yourself. You tackled a lot with this project. :)
10/4/02 2:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
After seeing the finished project photo I am even more impressed. And you know, I agree the rosebud snaps look better than buttons would have anyway. You turned a potential obstacle into an opportunity for creativity.
10/4/02 11:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
You did a terrific job! The nightgown looks very professional. This is one of my favorite styles and I'll definitely have to pick up this pattern.
10/5/02 0:41 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I agree with Linda P about not giving up on your old Pfaff - might be worth taking it in for servicing; could be some minor glitch. Re the 1/4" seams; I think you'll grow to prefer them. You actually get much more control than you do with wider s.a.'s. This is great for curves such as neck edges. You can always add 1" *in case" seam allowances at the side seams to ensure a good fit.
10/5/02 1:00 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Holly, way to go. Your gown is beautiful!
10/5/02 11:37 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for all the compliments! I have been wearing this gown every night since it was finished, so it looks like I better make another one before I wear it to rags. I am actually wearing it right now - with my morning coffee. DH thinks it's very sexy (and we all know how important that is). I've been working with 1/4" seams and curves on the new Kenmore and am getting more comfortable with them. It's a much smoother running machine. Please don't get me wrong - I love my Pfaff! I just couldn't afford to buy a new machine and get the Pfaff serviced too, so one step at a time.
10/5/02 4:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Nan said...
Holly, This is just a lovely gown and sure doesn't look like it was made by a beginner! And how great that it was your incentive for a new machine!
11/29/02 8:09 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Holly, you make beautiful things, this nightgown is a shining example of it, and a beginner, hard to believe!!:-)
11/30/02 4:20 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great job Holly! Nice to see this pattern was such a success! I remember you emailed me about it when I lived in SD. Nice to see how it came to fruition. You go, Girl!
1/12/03 9:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by ArtAttack on 8/6/12
Read Review

Loes Hinse Tango Skirt
Loes Hinse Tango Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Enid Gilchrist Enid Gilchrist
photo
Review by sarahjk on 9/23/13
Read Review

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us