SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8471 (Men's Buttoned/Collared Shirt)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1279 times 
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo

 
 
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 103 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/06 4:46 PM
Last Updated:3/8/06 1:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam in Amsterdam said...
DBF means dear brothers fellow? Well, having a small ironing business I see perfect fitted shirts with different details almost every day, lovely! My dream is to make the same i see. Haven't looked for fashion fabric, batist or something like that until now. CHemisiere is the proffession, isn't it? Cuffin's book for men's shirt is a big inspiration for me. Haven't started yet, twistedangel, you give me a great push to start. Burda MWF from aug 03 has shirt, trousers and coat for men in it.
3/6/06 6:26 PM
twistedangel said...
Hi pampeliska, I will look into Cuffin's book! Thank you!
3/6/06 7:04 PM
Patzee said...
Thanks for the review! You mentioned a photo, but I don't see it posted. (pampeliska ...DBF = Darling Boy Friend).
3/7/06 1:26 AM
Irene Q said...
Let me guess - it buttons the wrong way?? I always have to double-check that one when I make men's shirts! Looking forward to the photo - and many more shirts.
3/7/06 9:55 AM
AnneM said...
I have this pattern, so it's good to see the favorable review. David Coffin is the book, I believe.
3/7/06 4:33 PM
Ceri590 said...
Love the shirt and the view from your balcony (-: I'd set up my sewing machine there so I could be inspired by the view!
3/8/06 2:36 PM
twistedangel said...
Hi ceri, my cats feel the same way. They (literally) spend all day and night up there. that's the life... too bad I don't get to spend many daylight hours at home :-(
3/8/06 2:59 PM
Tessa said...
I had to go back and look again to notice the uneven spacing of the buttons. Just make sure you claim it's a special designer look! It's so nice to make something that's appreciated, and looks good. I really don't need another men's shirt pattern, but this would look good on my skinny sons...
3/8/06 3:19 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Have you tried the man's shirt in one of the WOF prior to Christmas? There was a narrow fitted shirt there but I have not tried it yet ...
3/8/06 7:00 PM
twistedangel said...
No Lorna, I haven't tried it. I'll put it into the queue. I still have a pile of men's patterns to evaluate. :-) Although I'm partial to Burda at this point, I would like to give Jalie and Wild Ginger a shot, too.
3/8/06 8:34 PM
Lori Sews said...
Great shirt. Your view is spectacular!!
3/8/06 9:35 PM
Judy Williment said...
Great shirt - definitely a keeper! I've made this pattern approximately 15 times for my DH2B and his twin brother, and they love them. To get the close fit without sacrificing movement, stretch woven fabrics are fantastic. (Incidentally, the first time I made this for DH2B, I accidentally put the buttonholes on the wrong side. He jokingly refers to it as his "blouse", but still wears it!)
3/9/06 7:53 PM
Hilary said...
Nice looking shirt! And no, I didn't notice the button boo-boo till you mentioned it, lol. Congrats on finding the perfect shirt for your man!
3/10/06 4:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Past Patterns 002

photo
by: KiwiWendy

Review
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2282

photo
by: blessedtos...

Review