SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8471 (Men's Buttoned/Collared Shirt)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1281 times 
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo

 
 
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/06 4:46 PM
Last Updated:3/8/06 1:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Nice looking shirt! And no, I didn't notice the button boo-boo till you mentioned it, lol. Congrats on finding the perfect shirt for your man!
3/10/06 4:16 PM
Judy Williment said...
Great shirt - definitely a keeper! I've made this pattern approximately 15 times for my DH2B and his twin brother, and they love them. To get the close fit without sacrificing movement, stretch woven fabrics are fantastic. (Incidentally, the first time I made this for DH2B, I accidentally put the buttonholes on the wrong side. He jokingly refers to it as his "blouse", but still wears it!)
3/9/06 7:53 PM
Lori Sews said...
Great shirt. Your view is spectacular!!
3/8/06 9:35 PM
twistedangel said...
No Lorna, I haven't tried it. I'll put it into the queue. I still have a pile of men's patterns to evaluate. :-) Although I'm partial to Burda at this point, I would like to give Jalie and Wild Ginger a shot, too.
3/8/06 8:34 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Have you tried the man's shirt in one of the WOF prior to Christmas? There was a narrow fitted shirt there but I have not tried it yet ...
3/8/06 7:00 PM
Tessa said...
I had to go back and look again to notice the uneven spacing of the buttons. Just make sure you claim it's a special designer look! It's so nice to make something that's appreciated, and looks good. I really don't need another men's shirt pattern, but this would look good on my skinny sons...
3/8/06 3:19 PM
twistedangel said...
Hi ceri, my cats feel the same way. They (literally) spend all day and night up there. that's the life... too bad I don't get to spend many daylight hours at home :-(
3/8/06 2:59 PM
Ceri590 said...
Love the shirt and the view from your balcony (-: I'd set up my sewing machine there so I could be inspired by the view!
3/8/06 2:36 PM
AnneM said...
I have this pattern, so it's good to see the favorable review. David Coffin is the book, I believe.
3/7/06 4:33 PM
Irene Q said...
Let me guess - it buttons the wrong way?? I always have to double-check that one when I make men's shirts! Looking forward to the photo - and many more shirts.
3/7/06 9:55 AM
Patzee said...
Thanks for the review! You mentioned a photo, but I don't see it posted. (pampeliska ...DBF = Darling Boy Friend).
3/7/06 1:26 AM
twistedangel said...
Hi pampeliska, I will look into Cuffin's book! Thank you!
3/6/06 7:04 PM
Pam in Amsterdam said...
DBF means dear brothers fellow? Well, having a small ironing business I see perfect fitted shirts with different details almost every day, lovely! My dream is to make the same i see. Haven't looked for fashion fabric, batist or something like that until now. CHemisiere is the proffession, isn't it? Cuffin's book for men's shirt is a big inspiration for me. Haven't started yet, twistedangel, you give me a great push to start. Burda MWF from aug 03 has shirt, trousers and coat for men in it.
3/6/06 6:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Eagle's View PM/54

photo
by: BADBamaBun...

Review
The City Bag

The City Bag

Buy Now
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now