SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2005-112 (Twist Top)

41 more reviews
Viewed 2048 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/06 9:53 AM
Last Updated:3/12/06 12:03 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
This would also be a fabulous dress with the lace contrast underbust piece.
3/15/06 9:30 AM
Debbie Cook said...

3/15/06 8:33 AM
AnneM said...
Wow, what a fancy looking change the lace makes.
3/13/06 2:28 PM
Jackie M said...
Lovely! I've been thinking of doing this myself, but haven't sat down to figure out how to make the underbust seam in contrast fabric. I can't see your directions -- the link doesn't seem to be working ...
3/13/06 10:04 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful!!! Usually I don't check out Burda reviews because I haven't tried that company yet, but something prompted me to check out your review. Glad I did!
3/13/06 7:34 AM
Cambric Tea said...
Very clever. Very lovely. Well done!
3/12/06 11:40 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I love your new lace version. Very pretty.
3/12/06 8:45 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
That has to be one of the prettiest versions of the twist top, ever! You are so innovative and inspiring. The color is really stunning. Thanks for mentioning the Holman book. It sounds like a terrific book!
3/12/06 6:19 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Phyllis, that's really beautiful! Love that color combination. ;-)
3/12/06 5:49 PM
Fenna said...
The link to the directions for the design change seem not to be working: it points to 'my pictures', and since I'm not logged in as you, well... No pictures to be seen! I'm pretty sure I can mentally picture what you did, but if it's possible to fix the link, I'd love to see your directions.
3/12/06 5:39 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Love it! The lace looks faboo with the knit! -Ann
3/12/06 2:54 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Cute variation with the lace!
3/12/06 2:40 PM
bunz said...
Wowza! Thanks for showing us a great variation.
3/12/06 2:02 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, the lace is a nice touch.
3/12/06 1:22 PM
touran said...
That's a really pretty interpretation of the pattern. Great idea.
3/12/06 1:00 PM
els said...
Great top and color on you.
3/9/06 7:36 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Gorgeous on you. The color and your pants look great together. Did you lose weight?
3/8/06 9:40 PM
Deepika said...
Phyllis, love the top! and of course love the fabric too :)
3/8/06 9:23 PM
MaryBeth said...
The twist top is perfect for you! Beautiful fabric, too. Congrats!
3/8/06 9:18 AM
Lori Sews said...
Such a pretty top! I did buy this issue from Ebay a few months ago--I have got to make a twist top! :)
3/7/06 10:13 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Gorgeous, stunning and fabulous, all in one breath!
3/7/06 2:59 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Marvelous! Hey, I know what you can do with the rest of that fabric: send it to P.O. Box ME, Austin, TX....
3/7/06 2:35 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks for the sleeve drafting information. That is omething I've been wanting to know how to do. Your top looks perfect.
3/7/06 1:54 PM
carolynw said...
Well done - it is beautiful - now you have to get to work using the rest of this fabulous material - this top would look great with either slacks or skirt. This is MY color so I envy you being able to think about using all this beautiful fabric.
3/7/06 1:34 PM
Frogstitcher said...
I'm always happy to see another twist top review. I think I'm one of the very few who hasn't made this up yet. Thanks for your review, your top looks great. I like your ideas on how to change it up.
3/7/06 1:10 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful! I LOVE the color.
3/7/06 12:37 PM
Georgene said...
I want to see what you do with the rest of the 10 yards. This deserves a skirt- swing or trumpet? Is your fabric heavy enough for a pant as well? Just beautiful.
3/7/06 11:52 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
I now have this pattern (I bought the magazine off of Ebay)...your spin-off ideas are on target. Another thought is a twist-top dress. I think I saw that in the latest Kwik-Sew catalog.
3/7/06 11:13 AM
Mufffet said...
Your top looks so well done, and the fit is excellent. Thanks for the explanation of the sleeve and the fitting.
3/7/06 11:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now
Other 2013-2

photo
by: katlew03

Review