SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2005-112 (Twist Top)

41 more reviews
Viewed 2048 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/06 9:53 AM
Last Updated:3/12/06 12:03 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Your top looks so well done, and the fit is excellent. Thanks for the explanation of the sleeve and the fitting.
3/7/06 11:01 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
I now have this pattern (I bought the magazine off of Ebay)...your spin-off ideas are on target. Another thought is a twist-top dress. I think I saw that in the latest Kwik-Sew catalog.
3/7/06 11:13 AM
Georgene said...
I want to see what you do with the rest of the 10 yards. This deserves a skirt- swing or trumpet? Is your fabric heavy enough for a pant as well? Just beautiful.
3/7/06 11:52 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful! I LOVE the color.
3/7/06 12:37 PM
Frogstitcher said...
I'm always happy to see another twist top review. I think I'm one of the very few who hasn't made this up yet. Thanks for your review, your top looks great. I like your ideas on how to change it up.
3/7/06 1:10 PM
carolynw said...
Well done - it is beautiful - now you have to get to work using the rest of this fabulous material - this top would look great with either slacks or skirt. This is MY color so I envy you being able to think about using all this beautiful fabric.
3/7/06 1:34 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks for the sleeve drafting information. That is omething I've been wanting to know how to do. Your top looks perfect.
3/7/06 1:54 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Marvelous! Hey, I know what you can do with the rest of that fabric: send it to P.O. Box ME, Austin, TX....
3/7/06 2:35 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Gorgeous, stunning and fabulous, all in one breath!
3/7/06 2:59 PM
Lori Sews said...
Such a pretty top! I did buy this issue from Ebay a few months ago--I have got to make a twist top! :)
3/7/06 10:13 PM
MaryBeth said...
The twist top is perfect for you! Beautiful fabric, too. Congrats!
3/8/06 9:18 AM
Deepika said...
Phyllis, love the top! and of course love the fabric too :)
3/8/06 9:23 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Gorgeous on you. The color and your pants look great together. Did you lose weight?
3/8/06 9:40 PM
els said...
Great top and color on you.
3/9/06 7:36 PM
touran said...
That's a really pretty interpretation of the pattern. Great idea.
3/12/06 1:00 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, the lace is a nice touch.
3/12/06 1:22 PM
bunz said...
Wowza! Thanks for showing us a great variation.
3/12/06 2:02 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Cute variation with the lace!
3/12/06 2:40 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Love it! The lace looks faboo with the knit! -Ann
3/12/06 2:54 PM
Fenna said...
The link to the directions for the design change seem not to be working: it points to 'my pictures', and since I'm not logged in as you, well... No pictures to be seen! I'm pretty sure I can mentally picture what you did, but if it's possible to fix the link, I'd love to see your directions.
3/12/06 5:39 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Phyllis, that's really beautiful! Love that color combination. ;-)
3/12/06 5:49 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
That has to be one of the prettiest versions of the twist top, ever! You are so innovative and inspiring. The color is really stunning. Thanks for mentioning the Holman book. It sounds like a terrific book!
3/12/06 6:19 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I love your new lace version. Very pretty.
3/12/06 8:45 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Very clever. Very lovely. Well done!
3/12/06 11:40 PM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful!!! Usually I don't check out Burda reviews because I haven't tried that company yet, but something prompted me to check out your review. Glad I did!
3/13/06 7:34 AM
Jackie M said...
Lovely! I've been thinking of doing this myself, but haven't sat down to figure out how to make the underbust seam in contrast fabric. I can't see your directions -- the link doesn't seem to be working ...
3/13/06 10:04 AM
AnneM said...
Wow, what a fancy looking change the lace makes.
3/13/06 2:28 PM
Debbie Cook said...

3/15/06 8:33 AM
Georgene said...
This would also be a fabulous dress with the lace contrast underbust piece.
3/15/06 9:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2281

photo
by: pammysarry

Review
Other 2013-2

photo
by: katlew03

Review
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now