Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8134 (Dressing Gown) - Type:Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 1873 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Cambric Tea
photo
About Cambric Teastarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/19/03
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 75 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/06 11:00 PM
Last Updated:3/12/06 11:04 PM


See other patterns in this category: Loungewear    Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
luvzdogz said...
This is SO cute! I want it!
3/12/06 11:07 PM
Celeste said...
I love your reviews. The pictures are awesome, the clothes exquisite and your text is fun to read! Bravo!!
3/12/06 11:08 PM
MaryBeth said...
Beautiful! Such a good way to smoooooth on in to Spring/summer sewing.
3/12/06 11:09 PM
pmorris1274 said...
What a beautiful ensemble you made. I love your choice of print and fabric. It looks very comfortable, and I love the Asian flair. Great Job!!!
3/12/06 11:43 PM
touran said...
Absolutely gorgeous.
3/12/06 11:56 PM
Vivienne said...
Hubba hubba. This certainly puts my ole fleece bathrobe to shame.
3/13/06 0:05 AM
Mariko said...
Looks great, Cambric Tea! The style looks very much like Japanese kimono. You may know it already, but www.intfab.com has truly authentic asian(I know their Japanese ones are so) fabrics for this pattern. Their $9/yds range fabrics may be suitable for this style drape-wise while $14/yds range could be too substantial, just FYI.
3/13/06 0:17 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Fabulous. Thanks for the description of the french drapery seam, too!
3/13/06 0:19 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful dressing gown. Very elegant. Thanks for the info on French Seams. We always appreciate this kind of assistance.
3/13/06 0:54 AM
Diane E said...
Absolutely fabulous!
3/13/06 1:06 AM
starchildmom said...
Gorgeous! I have to get this pattern!
3/13/06 1:12 AM
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous (as usual) Cambric Tea :))
3/13/06 4:39 AM
Ceri590 said...
I love how you model your outfits (-: Yet another success!
3/13/06 7:33 AM
kwpanthermom said...
This is SO pretty! And thank you so much for the lesson on the French drapery seam, it looks like an easy and elegant lingerie seam finish.
3/13/06 8:00 AM
PhyllisC said...
Love the Japonaise look - very early 1920's! Good choice for this contest.
3/13/06 8:11 AM
BeckyC said...
This is gorgeous on you! And looks like so much fun to wear. Thanks for the pictures of the french drapery seam.
3/13/06 8:19 AM
Stacy Sews said...
So pretty! I love the fabric choice for this pattern too!
3/13/06 8:29 AM
cmarie12 said...
Wow! What a cute robe and a great use of the silk bundle fabric. Thanks for sharing the seam technique and for providing pictures. And as always your husband has provided a great photograph!
3/13/06 9:03 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice robe! And yes, your little series of pictures makes a lot of sense.
3/13/06 9:33 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Just beautiful! I really like this! You do such nice work! And I have 2 questions...1. why was the silk difficult to press? because of the stretch? and 2. Which "ditch" are you stitching in? I'm not following how this is different from a regular french seam. Please forgive me here because I often can't follow directions! In any case, would you recommend this book? I have the Claire Schaeffer's Couture Sewing - but I could stand a few "short cuts"!
3/13/06 10:14 AM
PVA said...
Lovely, as always! It's a wonderful pattern & you've made the most of it! Thanks for the tip about the "French Drapery Seam".
3/13/06 10:44 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Sumptuous, glorious color. I'm impressed you know what kind of sleeves they are (I thought, "kimono.")
3/13/06 10:57 AM
Cambric Tea said...
Thank you so much everyone! I very much appreciate your comments! Go Sew Girl: Yes it was the lycra in the silk that gave it "tooth" making the large pattern pieces a breeze to cut out, but would not take a press. Steam or heat would just make it burble so I did my best with no steam and a low iron and edgestitching where needed. Drapery seam: The ditch that you are stitching is the well of the first seam. You are overlapping one side over the 1/4 seam allowance and you will see the well that you will sew along. The main thing that makes it different from a regular french seam is that the cut edge doesn't face in the direction of your final seam, it faces inwards, so you don't have the random silk fuzzies on the outside of your garment. It eliminates that risk because you have folded over them. I do recommend the book, it is cheap used, and it is a good reference to have. It shows more than one way to do the same thing, like the fool proof organza patch method of welt pockets, as well as the traditional. Basic layout, basic line drawings. It's not a coffee table tome, but I paid about a buck and a half for mine. Not bad at all! hth!
3/13/06 11:03 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Aha - now I get it! Thanks for all the info and now I'll look for this book too.
3/13/06 11:08 AM
Pam in Amsterdam said...
A kind of geisha gown, I like it! Very japanese, convenient for a tea party.
3/13/06 11:12 AM
twistedangel said...
Oh, how pretty! It looks great on you!!
3/13/06 1:37 PM
Hilary said...
You must feel so elegant and pampered in this, it is *gorgeous* on you! The fabric is perfect for this, thanks for the details!
3/13/06 4:07 PM
Rubby said...
Very cool. I love your work!
3/13/06 4:12 PM
Fenna said...
Gorgeous. The photo is really lovely too, shows off the garment very well.
3/13/06 6:12 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
WOW ! So very elegant. Love the fabric and style of sleeves. Beautiful as usual. Thanks for new way to do French seams too.
3/13/06 11:21 PM
Tailypo said...
So pretty! And I love the semaphore comment. Another winner, CT.
3/13/06 11:41 PM
priscilla said...
Bought this pattern after reading your review. Your robe turned out beautifully.
9/24/06 6:20 PM
Athene said...
The robe looks beautiful on you. Your size appears to be very similar to mine so I like looking at the beautiful items you have made as I am a newer sewer and find your advice very helpful. Thank you.
12/21/06 3:36 PM
Athene said...
sorry double post
12/21/06 3:46 PM
Athene said...
sorry double post.
12/21/06 3:57 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, this is spectacular. And thanks for the great little French drapery seam lesson.
6/4/09 11:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

StyleArc Janet Jacket Janet Jacket
photo
Review by clothingen... on 2/4/14
Read Review

McCalls 6726 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6726 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1732 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1732 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-109 Pea Coat
photo
Review by myraminx on 7/30/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us