SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2006-106 

3 more reviews
Viewed 1555 times 
Reviewed by:BillieJean
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BillieJeanstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/13/04
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/06 5:26 PM
Last Updated:3/14/06 6:56 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
I would love to see your picture but it is not opening. I haven't even received my March WOF yet! Now I can see it! It looks so fresh and springlike. Congrats on all your accomplishments today.
3/13/06 5:29 PM
BillieJean said...
Peggy: It's there now. I was having trouble figuring out how to do this.
3/13/06 5:47 PM
jacalhoun said...
I only see a picture of the magazine photo. Congratulations on your red-letter day! //edit// That was weird. I posted the first half of my comment, and when the page reloaded, your picture was there. I swear it wasn't before, because I double-checked to be sure I wasn't missing it. Anyway, it's there now. Nice job!
3/13/06 6:14 PM
Vonnevo said...
Thanks for a great review on this one. Your muslin look great, would like to see a pic of you modelling it. I have this one bookmarked too :)
3/13/06 6:22 PM
BillieJean said...
I was trying to get the mag picture into the pattern info part of this review, but didn't do it right, so had to backtrack. I'm still not able to get the mag pic in.
3/13/06 6:22 PM
tomed said...
Good job on both the top and your first review! I wish I had my March Burda already. The fabric is very pretty in this style.
3/13/06 7:15 PM
licarritc said...
Congratulations! Your top looks great and the review is concise and helpful! I am considering grading this pattern up for my plus size figure and really appreciated the picture of a "real" garment.
3/13/06 8:30 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Wonderful job matching the prints on the front closures! Amazingly fast too I only received this issue last week ... and this is on my to do list as well!
3/13/06 8:33 PM
bunz said...
My to do list also. Looks really pretty.
3/13/06 10:18 PM
barbc said...
Ohh this looks really nice! I was admiring this in the magazine today! Great job! Barb C
3/13/06 10:23 PM
JenniferBee said...
Congratulations on your first review!! I haven't received my March Burda yet but will be looking at this one when it comes. Buttonholes really aren't all that frightening when you get down to it.
3/14/06 1:47 AM
Anne Frances said...
That looks so good - the Burda picture shows it in a print, and yours is just as pretty. I was also thinking about doing it without the sleeve panels and ripple front band, and your picture confirms that it loks really good without them. It could be stunning in silk - do let us see when that's done. And thank you for a most helpful review
3/14/06 6:24 AM
BillieJean said...
Thank you all for your kind words. Lorna, any matching on the front was surely a little bit of serendipity because I certainly didn't try to match.
3/14/06 6:52 AM
Nickle said...
Congrats on your first review. I like the fabric, very Spring looking. Enjoyed your review. It does match up perfectly on the front.
3/14/06 6:57 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a pretty, floaty top for summer. Great first review too!
3/14/06 7:51 AM
Liane M said...
Congratulations on your first review and your success with Burda WOF. Your blouse is very pretty.
3/14/06 7:59 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your blouse, your buttonholes, your picture and your review!
3/14/06 8:14 AM
kmouse said...
Congrats on a lovely muslin. You picked one of my STAR patterns for this issue. I love the shaping and the shoulder seams look like it will help with shoulder and bust fitting.
3/14/06 9:11 AM
beangirl said...
Hmmm... you know, I think I would have had the same thought as you did when I opened my fabric box. But look what you did with it! Just goes to show, design and beautiful workmanship can really make a difference, this is lovely.
3/14/06 9:13 AM
Lori Sews said...
Beautiful shirt. Congrats on the buttonholes andyour first review!
3/14/06 9:28 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Congratulations on all the firsts :-). Love your blouse, I think you should at least try to give it a second chance, this fabric is cute...
3/14/06 9:47 AM
blue mooney said...
And I don't even have this issue yet! Glad to see another BWOF sewer and reviewer. Lovely blouse, and the fabric looks good!
3/14/06 11:15 AM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty! You've done a wonderful job.I will consider making this too when the March issue finally arrives in NZ!
3/14/06 5:34 PM
Leora said...
The very shirt I was checking on for a review. I would probably leave off the ripple detail too. I love your blouse and congrats on the firsts!
3/17/06 0:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Butterick 5814

photo
by: lauramae

Review
New Look 6097

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now