SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5302 (City Dress (modified))

6 more reviews
Viewed 3864 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/02 5:52 PM
Last Updated:5/6/05 10:20 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Lisa I'm sure this looks great, as a T and as a dress, it's one of those patterns thats simple but elegant and very versatile.
10/9/02 5:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great review! That top looks beautiful. I love the curved hem and that neckline is so flattering. It fits you like a dream!
10/14/02 3:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The top is very cute.
10/14/02 5:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lisa, I love your top. I agree with Andrea - the neckline is lovely and the curved hem is very very pretty. I have to copy your idea of short sleeves! Thanks for the wonderful review.
10/15/02 0:48 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lisa, the top looks very good on you, I bet you'll be making more of these, I would if I were you.
10/15/02 1:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Marita, people will probably think this is the only pattern I've got! :p Now that the weather is cooling off, I think I will try a knit version with long sleeves...
10/15/02 3:11 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lisa, that sounds very good, whatkind of knit were you thinking?
10/15/02 7:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have some rayon/lycra from Fashion Sewing group; very lightweight and soft. That's the most likely choice at this moment!
10/15/02 10:50 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
CatherineN said...
Wonderful review! Full of ideas and helps.
11/17/02 4:07 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Nice tops. My favorite is the 3/4 sleeve version--looks very chic.
12/11/02 11:46 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Wow, Lisa. Great tops. I have this pattern in my stash, and never got around to making it up for some reason. I'm thinking I'll have to pull it out and play with it!
4/29/05 9:31 AM
SouthernStitch said...
This sounds just too cool, and I'd like to try it. When you hand baste, you sit the voile rs up on top of the lining, also rs up? When you sewed the shoulder and side seams, you sewed them then rs together? I'm trying to picture this and having trouble getting the rs to come out on top at the end. Oh well, yours looks great!
4/29/05 11:30 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Yes, Mary, I laid the lining piece on the table, rs up, put the corresponding voile piece right on top of it, also RS up, matched the cut edges and basted it like crazy. I used white rayon embroidery thread...nice and slippery...and first basted it up the center, then from the middle out to the sides and armsceyes, just to hold everything while I basted all around the edges. That way, all the grainlines stayed where they should be. After that, I could treat the lining/fabric pieces just as one piece...the voile side was the RS, the lining side was the WS...and proceed as normal. When I hemmed them, I took a stitch in the turned up allowance, and a stitch through the lining only, so I didn't have any stitches showing on the finished top. Hope that makes sense!
4/29/05 11:54 AM
kathi s said...
Very creative use of your pattern. Love all your tops- your endless combination sounds very stylish !
4/29/05 11:12 PM
ndesimon said...
a zillion thanks for the fitting notes: armhole gaposis is one of bains of my existence: I think I need a copy of the GGH book! I just don't have enough sewing and fitting books, you see...
5/6/05 12:32 PM
Runrover said...
Lisa: I love the look of your tops and the way you've adapted the City Dress. You really have achieved "fantastic" fit with this pattern. Like ndesimon, GGH is another sewing book I'll just have to add to my collection. Thanks for such a detailed and informative review.
5/6/05 12:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

McCall's 2718

photo
by: mimi g.

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now