Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5302 (City Dress (modified)) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 3850 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/02 5:52 PM
Last Updated:5/6/05 10:20 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Lisa I'm sure this looks great, as a T and as a dress, it's one of those patterns thats simple but elegant and very versatile.
10/9/02 5:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great review! That top looks beautiful. I love the curved hem and that neckline is so flattering. It fits you like a dream!
10/14/02 3:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The top is very cute.
10/14/02 5:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lisa, I love your top. I agree with Andrea - the neckline is lovely and the curved hem is very very pretty. I have to copy your idea of short sleeves! Thanks for the wonderful review.
10/15/02 0:48 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lisa, the top looks very good on you, I bet you'll be making more of these, I would if I were you.
10/15/02 1:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Marita, people will probably think this is the only pattern I've got! :p Now that the weather is cooling off, I think I will try a knit version with long sleeves...
10/15/02 3:11 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lisa, that sounds very good, whatkind of knit were you thinking?
10/15/02 7:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have some rayon/lycra from Fashion Sewing group; very lightweight and soft. That's the most likely choice at this moment!
10/15/02 10:50 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
CatherineN said...
Wonderful review! Full of ideas and helps.
11/17/02 4:07 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Nice tops. My favorite is the 3/4 sleeve version--looks very chic.
12/11/02 11:46 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Wow, Lisa. Great tops. I have this pattern in my stash, and never got around to making it up for some reason. I'm thinking I'll have to pull it out and play with it!
4/29/05 9:31 AM
SouthernStitch said...
This sounds just too cool, and I'd like to try it. When you hand baste, you sit the voile rs up on top of the lining, also rs up? When you sewed the shoulder and side seams, you sewed them then rs together? I'm trying to picture this and having trouble getting the rs to come out on top at the end. Oh well, yours looks great!
4/29/05 11:30 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Yes, Mary, I laid the lining piece on the table, rs up, put the corresponding voile piece right on top of it, also RS up, matched the cut edges and basted it like crazy. I used white rayon embroidery thread...nice and slippery...and first basted it up the center, then from the middle out to the sides and armsceyes, just to hold everything while I basted all around the edges. That way, all the grainlines stayed where they should be. After that, I could treat the lining/fabric pieces just as one piece...the voile side was the RS, the lining side was the WS...and proceed as normal. When I hemmed them, I took a stitch in the turned up allowance, and a stitch through the lining only, so I didn't have any stitches showing on the finished top. Hope that makes sense!
4/29/05 11:54 AM
kathi s said...
Very creative use of your pattern. Love all your tops- your endless combination sounds very stylish !
4/29/05 11:12 PM
ndesimon said...
a zillion thanks for the fitting notes: armhole gaposis is one of bains of my existence: I think I need a copy of the GGH book! I just don't have enough sewing and fitting books, you see...
5/6/05 12:32 PM
Runrover said...
Lisa: I love the look of your tops and the way you've adapted the City Dress. You really have achieved "fantastic" fit with this pattern. Like ndesimon, GGH is another sewing book I'll just have to add to my collection. Thanks for such a detailed and informative review.
5/6/05 12:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Loes Hinse Designs 5107 Bistro Jacket
photo
Review by Tee Jay on 9/14/03
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2006-25 Phoenix Top
photo
Review by brissie71 on 6/29/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2466 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 2466 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book
Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book

Details
Price: $25.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us